Can’t keep up to the kids or the flowers!

This posting once a week is for the birds. I’ve already missed out on telling you the late breaking news about the kids.

Grant graduated from kindergarten last week. The kids were so cute. Most rushed up to get their diploma and rushed away. Standing against the wall all I could hear was the muffled oaths of parents who had missed getting a picture. One little guy had the idea of ‘enjoying the limelight’ and walked slowly towards the teacher, pausing every few moments to grin at the audience. 

The kindergarten teacher laughed and said ‘and we practiced two times!’ I got this fleeting shot of Grant, running away with the goods. After receiving their diplomas the kids sang us a song in French, their favorite, Petite Poisson. It was a hit.

grantgrad.jpg

Summer in Alberta is a burst of growth and life between long months of cool/cold weather and brown vegetation. When things start growing they go crazy.

I like to grow roses, and there are some very hardy varieties of rose that do well here. There is a whole line of roses named after famous explorers. I have an Alexander MacKenzie rose growing in the front of the house and its just starting to burst forth. It will be loaded with flowers for the next month.

rose.jpg

That’s a Wiegela beside it.

Nicole finished grade 1 today and I went to the school in the afternoon but they didn’t really have a grad. I have one picture of her with her teacher and they both look so hot and fed up that I won’t post it. It was about 30C here today and the elementary section of the school doesn’t have air conditioning!

Another funny thing that happened recently a certain 5 old boy has discovered grooming and mirrors.  What a goofball. He is working on perfecting his gel/spike look. Tonight I just about wrung his neck waiting for him to come and have his bedtime snack. He was that absorbed in the bathroom.  Oy!

gspikes.jpg
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Can’t keep up to the kids or the flowers!

  1. Jenna Howard says:

    Isn’t this weather insane? They’re calling for thunderstorms tonight because of the heat…looks out sliding door – nary a cloud in the sky. hm.

    Cute on the graduation from kindergarten. How come I didn’t get that? Harrumph.

    Whooo I am finally first somewhere!

  2. Kyahgirl says:

    Yay! Jenna is first!!! Wait til Monika finds out 🙂

  3. Anna says:

    I am so melting. Last night I acually hosed myself down and sat outside in the breeze. Too hot for me. Nice roses. I can’t grow them I always manage to kill them. Sigh.

  4. Mom says:

    Thanks for the new blog on the kids and flowers it was much cooler here to day we were able to turn off the fans by evening Mary was overto read the blog and the emails . We loved the oneon Kyah Mary had such great memories of the summer she spent with you Love Mom

  5. Meow says:

    Congratulations on the graduations … yay, holidays then on to another year level.
    Have a wonderful week.
    Take care, Meow

  6. neva says:

    soooo adorable! gosh… this just brings the memories flooding back! (how i yearn for those days!)

    by the way, it’s lovely to see another post this week! how you can write AND work on all those mastheads for the snark park is beyond me. i’m lucky to get logged in on any given day! i’m guessing you’re enjoying that sexy new computer, right?

    love these pictures!! (those flowers are gorgeous) xox

  7. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi Anna-isn’t it funny? when its cold and miserable here we complain and when it gets warm finally, we complain 🙂
    Don’t give up on roses. Its a matter of getting the right variety.

    Mom-I’m glad you saw this one. I was thinking of you when I posted it! ♥

    Meow-thanks, I’ve be popping over to Australia right away.

    Neva-Hi buddy. Everyone says that you know…how they miss the little kid times. We’re trying to enjoy each day. And the new computer? Haven’t hardly done anything yet…

  8. weirsdo says:

    Congratulations on the graduates. Cute cute cute.

  9. Whinger says:

    But that hair looks darn good.

  10. Tabby Rabbit says:

    That’s realy cool that some roses are named after explorers – any other varities aside the Alexander MacKenzie that you’ve been tempted by?

    All boys seem to go through a gel experimentation phase – my brother did when he was little. He’s grown out of it now (that he is twnety five)…

  11. Jamie Dawn says:

    He’s a very handsome little guy. It’s good that he is into grooming and hygiene. My 16 year old son is too. I much prefer that to having a kid who refuses to shower or comb his hair. Luckily, both my kids take the time to shower and spruce themselves up.
    Congrats to both your kids on completion of the school year. I hope they thoroughly enjoy the summer.

  12. frankengirl says:

    Blossoming flowers and children! How beautiful! (Too bad about the heat, tho.)

  13. Monika says:

    Monika is number 13. I call it lucky!

    Wonderful boy in the last pic. Just amazing facial expressions. Georgeous!
    I am about to hea dout and leave this ice-cube.
    Just came by to say hi and wish you a wonderful summer.
    bye for now!

  14. Fred says:

    Let’s not give up on the weekly postings just yet. Hang in there!

    Congrats to Grant. It’s one of many graduations to come.

  15. logoâ„¢ says:

    Ohhhhh, but it was worth it!
    Look at that face,
    Look at the hair,
    heart breaker in the making!
    What a precious lil graduate you have there, serious “aaaw” factor.
    Like the roses, hate the heat.
    Glad you put another one up sis, I need my kyahgirl fix!

  16. g says:

    Ooh, he is adorable! You can just tell he is so proud of his spruced up self – he’s shining!

    Thanks for sharing all of the beautiful things that grow at Kyah’s place 🙂

    And nice chatting with you today – you have a lovely voice.

  17. Kyahgirl says:

    weirsdo-thanks! I’ll tell him you think he’s cute 🙂

    whinger-the picture doesn’t really do it justice but yeah, its darn good.

    Tabby Rabbit-I have some Rugosa roses and a couple of other ones I can’t remember the names of. This one in front is my only explorer.

    JD-next thing I know my son will be a teenager. We made need yet another bathroom!

    Monika-you take care my little penguin. Have fun in Germany and I’ll see you in a month or so at Doug’s place 🙂

    Fred-I might be compelled to do a few more posts! I can hardly contain myself but I’ll try to be more disciplined like you.

    Logo-thanks buddy, you are too kind.

    g-that’s sweet. I enjoyed chatting with you too.

    Frankengirl-thanks. I’m not going to complain about the heat, just try to store it up for winter.

  18. Vina says:

    hey you!

    can you guess who i am?

    heh

  19. ariel says:

    both kids and flowers grow nicely under your hands.

    (I have never heard the words ‘kindergarten’ and ‘diploma’ in the same sentence before, it took me some time to get myself together again.:))

  20. Great looking pics, kids and flower, too!!

  21. FirstNations says:

    for some reason my roses are over the freakin top this year too, no thanks to me. yours look fantastic!
    i was hoping you would decide to post more often, chicky. we like you and we do worry so when we don’t hear the latest.
    XOfn

    lil’ style man is a cutie patootie!

  22. Joel says:

    Great post & pics…as Neva said…these are the golden years of parenting. As they get older it gets oh so complicated, frustrating, maddening, yada, yada, yada…and yet wonderful on some level, I’m sure…we’re searching for that level and I’m sure we’ll find it sooner or later (he says with tongue in cheek so as not to totally freak out kyahgirl).

  23. Margaret says:

    Glad to see you posting early,I missed my regular dose of alberta life.

  24. what a cute kid. He’s gonna be a heartbreaker.

  25. Joan says:

    I have to agree with Jamie Dawn , much better to have a kid who likes to spruce up than one into the grunge factor. Of course if I’m in the lineup for the bathroom I might change my story.Better get your DH working on that new bathroom 🙂 He looks great as do your roses take care in the heat, love to all

  26. Miz BoheMia says:

    HAPPY CANADA DAY!

    Congrats on your son’s graduation! We already went with that with both kids… my daughter graduated from kindergarten and our son from preschool.

    As for the weather, we are a little higher up and looking to going into the 40s this month! NOOOOO!!!! I shudder to think of what August will bring!

    Have a great weekend!

  27. actonbell says:

    Congratulations to the kids! Important landmarks, those. Especially the discovery of mirrors and grooming:)

    Have a nice time at the wedding, and a great weekend!
    Oh, Happy Canada Day

  28. Monika says:

    Just wishing you a big HI from Germany!!!!
    Have a lovely start of July! and rabbit rabbit of course! 🙂

  29. Doug says:

    That’s an early start on the gel. I’m still learning combing.

  30. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi Vina-can’t guess yet but I’ll keep working on it 🙂
    thanks for the challenge, you know I love a mystery.

    Ariel-I know, its a funny concept. The whole graduating thing is interesting. 🙂

    thanks Mike.

    FN-well, Its not thrilling but I seem to have more to say than can be done in one post a week.

    Hi Joan, thanks. yeah, hopefully there won’t be a slob phase.

    Thanks Miz B-I’d die in that kind of heat! don’t know how you stand it.

    Actonbell-we had a great time at the wedding and the Canada Day celebrations.

    Monika!! so happy to see you. Hope you’re enjoying Germany my little penguin. 🙂

    Joel-you guys have already freaked me out! too late! 🙂

    Margaret-glad I could help you out!

    Schnoodlepooh-thanks, you’re probably right, assuming I don’t wring his neck before he gets old enough.

    Barngoddess- I’ll let him know.

    Doug-I’m sure he’d be happy to coach you 🙂

Leave a comment