Progress report and a bit of a weather report too.

We’re having one of our delightful cold snaps. Monday, I kept the kids home from school but yesterday we ventured out. I’ve never seen the temperature indicator on my Explorer get this low:

minuss40.jpg The poor thing gets confused apparently at -40 so it alternates with another meaningful message in case I’m not prepared:

ice.jpg

Anyway, I’ve completed the new duvet cover:

duvetcover.jpg

and am working on the tailored bedskirt:

bedskirtinprogress.jpg

….drapes will be next then its on to painting!

This entry was posted in More about me, Other Interests. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Progress report and a bit of a weather report too.

  1. ariel says:

    -48C??? If you don’t go to Siberia, Siberia goes to you… Children must have been happy.

    The new materials fits the ice so nicely. Very elegant!

  2. ariel says:

    “Ne” means “no” in Hungarian. “Can I go out, dear temperature indocator?” *analyzing* “Ice. No!”

  3. kyahgirl says:

    That’s so funny about ‘ne’. Thanks for the lesson in Hungarian Ariel! Ne!Ne!Ne! But it was only -40, not -48. Much warmer than you were thinking :=)

  4. Our weather is pretty disgusting this week huh, kyah? Stay warm.

  5. ariel says:

    Only -40. That’s more like it. I went jogging if anyone looks for me.

  6. kyahgirl says:

    Jenn-you got that right! Today is only -25, big improvement!

    Ariel-don’t forget the spikes on your shoes 🙂

  7. IDV says:

    I have a fabulous idea! Why don’t you pop over to sunny Britland and revel in our 6 – 8 degrees. It’ll be like a tropical paradise. Almost.

    Plus, I could do with some new curtains, too…

  8. Walela says:

    Time to switch to Kelvin.

  9. Walela says:

    Oh and rrrrrrrrrrabbit rrrrrrrrrrabbit

  10. kyahgirl says:

    IDV-I’ll be right there. If you were any kind of friend/witch you’d send me a really fast broom!

    Walela-you know, Kelvin would be a good option. I think we’d be at about 233 degrees!! woohoo.

  11. margaret says:

    Hi ,Thats very cool weather you have there.
    I just set up my new wireless network,it took me all morning and half the afternoon and serveral phone calls to get it done.Now I have to see if it works upstairs.

  12. kyahgirl says:

    Margaret-I’m proud of you! Hope it works out. I have one here and really enjoy the ease of access.

  13. Tickersoid says:

    Most people here have no concept of just how cold -40 is.

    I’ve been ‘doing up’ the front room for 8 months now. Almost finished.

  14. G says:

    That’s almost criminal, it’s so cold!!! Lovely project to bring some warmth to the nest though.

  15. Terry says:

    tibbar tibbar – and I’ve never been in temps below
    minus 3 F… WOW!~ I’m such a wimp.

  16. kyahgirl says:

    Hey Tickers, you’re right about the temperature. Unfortunately, its still pretty darn chilly.

    G-yes, we’re definitely not spending much time outside the nest. Although, I’ve had to go on several expeditions to ‘small town Alberta’ for hockey games.

    Terry-I don’t think you’re a wimp. Kind of smart actually. What kind of person lives in this crazy place?

  17. Penguin says:

    yep…I stayed indoors two days this february… due to friggin’ cold weather. Under a blanket in your bedroom with a good book is a nice place to be!

Leave a Reply

