Oh of course….there’s still hockey!

Its been awhile since you’ve seen the fine hockey players in my house…here they are:

nicolehockeygranthockey

Everyone is always asking me what I do with my time. Well, when I’m not painting, decorating, running the kids here and there or reading a book, I’m driving to every dinky little town in Central Alberta for hockey games. We’ve got a lot of little communities with a whole lot of pride. In fact, a ridiculous number of towns claim a wide variety of the “World’s biggest” items. Here are three towns that are in the league we play with.

There’s Andrew, which boasts the world’s biggest Mallard duck:

andrewmallard2

Mundare, with the world’s biggest sausage ring:

mundaresausage

Smoky Lake, home of the world’s biggest pumpkins!

smokylakepumpkinpark.jpgSmokyLakePumpkinPark

Luckily we’re not driving out to see the worlds biggest Pysanka….yet. Its just a matter of time. 🙂

vegrevilleegg

This entry was posted in Adventures in Parenting, More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Oh of course….there’s still hockey!

  1. Brian says:

    Hi Kyah, it’s been a long time since I visited last. Thanks for the ‘largest’ photos, there are interesting. Hope your holiday season is pleasant and the hockey teams are successful.

  2. Kyahgirl says:

    Brian-nice to see you again! Happy thanksgiving. 🙂

  3. ariel says:

    If you have the biggest, does it matter if it is a sausage ring or an excavator?

    Lovely hockey players!

  4. Terry says:

    I love sausage but tell me, does that one have preservatives?

    LOL Ariel!

    Those sweeties are some cute hockey players!

  5. Kyahgirl says:

    Ariel-you always ask such challenging questions!! Around here, I think the biggest sausage is definitely the most desirable.

    Terry-I think that one is preserved with two by fours and nails 🙂

    I agree about the hockey players of course!

  6. neva says:

    World’s… LARGEST… Sausage Ring? aieee! also, hahaha. okay, NOW i’ve heard and/or seen everything! 😉

    that said, i’m VERY HAPPY to see this new and happy post, and lovelovelove the pics of your beautiful Hockey Players! (sounds like you’re really enjoying your “time off”, girlfriend — i kind of thought you would, needless to say i’m very relieved to know you are!) xox

  7. Miz BoheMia says:

    So, um, are you saying that Canadians like things big?

    BAD BoheMia, BAD, BAD BoheMia!

  8. G says:

    Some impressive hockey players! I’m just poking about and catching up. I see you’re keeping quite busy with work around the house. Good for you – it looks great!

    Take care Kyah and thanks for your visits.

  9. Kyahgirl says:

    Neva! Hi buddy, so nice to see you 🙂 I hope that gigantic sausage ring doesn’t offend your vegetarian soul. And yes, I am really enjoying my career change!

    Miz B-you got it. And, you’re NOT bad, you’re just fine as you are!

    G-thanks so much. I’m happy that you dropped by.

  10. Margaret says:

    great looking hockey players

  11. Aim says:

    Hey

    You have such adorable kids!!

    Wow must visit your town if everything there is BIG lol

  12. Minka says:

    wow they look like collector’s items card, those two kids!

    I have been introduced to many “World’s greatest…biggest…longest” during my short stay in the US.
    None of this compares to Iceland’s penis mall though, I feel 🙂

  13. Doug says:

    It’s not the size of the sausage but the curve of the ring, I’ve been told.

    I like the fact that Mundane has the world’s largest something. I also like the fact that this particular form of madness doesn’t stop at the northern border.

  14. Terry says:

    doug oh man, that guy cracks me up. And I have to agree with Monika.. the Penis Museum in Husavik is really a world wonder.

    Laura – hope all is well with you and yours.

  15. Jenn says:

    I totally forgot we have the biggest sausage….ring.

    And to answer Miz B’s question…yes. 😉

    Your hockey players are adorable kyah.

  16. Meow says:

    Hey there, hope you are all well.
    Just dropping by to say HI, and to wish you and your family a very Merry Christmas, and a safe and Happy New Year.
    Hope to drop by more often next year.
    Take care, Meow

  17. Kyahgirl says:

    Margaret-aren’t you glad you’re related?

    Aim-you must come and visit. Not only is everything BIG but people are so friendly…they want to shwo you their big things.

    Minka-I have to agree, Iceland takes the cake!

    Doug- I haven’t heard that particular home truth but that doesn’t mean its not true.

    Terry-I forgot you’ve been to Iceland. Nice to Monika’s story corroborated. Penguins can’t always be trusted.

    Jenn- glad I could help you remember the good stuff 🙂

    Meow- Thank you Meow. Have a happy holiday. I heard on the news last night that Australia is having a drought. Hope you guys aren’t effected too badly.

  18. mig says:

    My word that’s some seriously big stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

