Becky Homecky

“Becky Homecky”. The first time I heard that name it elicited a snicker. While out walking our dogs, my girlfriend Nancy had just been describing how she had spent her day doing baking. As neither one of us is particularly domesticated or talented in the domestic arts, we both thought this was hilarious.

Sure, I took Home Ec in high school. Learned how to burn a few things in the kitchen and make a simple garment. That’s about it. I am saddled with my Mother’s ‘kitchen antipathy’ gene so the cooking never appealed to me but I do recall the real pleasure I took in sewing up a simple shift.

Becky Homecky comes to mind when I contemplate what the heck to talk about on my blog. I know, I know, I haven’t even gotten around to describing all the fun and interesting things I did this past summer but that will have to wait.

No, I haven’t suddenly taken up an interest in cooking but I have been inspired to redecorate our somewhat shabby and undecorated house! Shabby is not really the right word because it really is a nice house, a simple bungalow, built 14 years ago by my husband and his father. The interior was painted off-white, throughout and in 14 years it has never been painted again. Needless to say, its looking a bit wan and pockmarked. When we were both working full time, it was impossible to get around to this type of project and we didn’t feel the urgency when there were little kids running around banging toys in to the walls (to say nothing of trying to run off with or ingest whatever tools and equipment you had with you!)

I recently painted the hallway and the main bathroom. The painting of each was only a one day job. Preparing the walls was a big, big job. I don’t know if you can see it on this picture of the corner in the hallway, but I used about a gallon of polyfilla and sanded and buffed that thing about 10 times. The gouges and dings in this wall were major. Days worth of repairs.hallcornerbefore

Anyway, here is how it looks after. I haven’t done the trim yet

hallcornerafter

So, last week I painted Grant’s bedroom, it was pretty bad before too. The drywall screws on the window wall all seemed to pop out and needed to be fixed. Also, there was a lot of damage to the drywall when we removed some stickers that were way too sticky!!

I forgot to take a ‘before’ picture of his room but here it after I’ve fixed the drywall and started cutting in. The colour looks really dark compared to the off-white but now that its done, it doesn’t seem so dark.

grantswindowbefore

So Grant’s room is light green with dark green trim and a selection of Transformer art which hasn’t been put up yet.

renovations

I haven’t got his room back together yet but will soon. I ran into a snag putting up the curtains and need to do some fiddling with that.

Nicole loved his room colour so much that she convinced me to do hers the same. My decorating challenge is to get a completely different look with the same colour of walls.

I picked up fabric yesterday and she is absolutely determined (she got he mulish gene from me) to have this cream and burgundy wall border that she loves. Should be fun. I’ll let you know how I do.

nicolescurtainsbefore

Fabric and a roll of black-out lining for Nicole’s curtains.

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Becky Homecky

  1. jan says:

    Woops, I thought for a minute I was on Martha Stewart’s website.

  2. Doug says:

    Very cool. What do you charge to do mine?

  3. Kyahgirl says:

    Hey Doug, that is complicated. Let’s see, I could give you a deal since you’re a friend, then if Willie was to pitch in, I could shave a bit more off. I won’t even bother to consider Walela, she’d probably just want to lay there and watch with the disdainful expression befitting “Queen of all she surveys”. I will give you a firm price when I’m done at my house….about 10 years ought to do it ๐Ÿ™‚
    (Did I mention I’m really slow?)

  4. Meow says:

    Wow, you’ve done a great job. Hope I can do the same … we’e been living in our house almost 20 years, and haven’t yet repainted (other than Chicky’s room, before she was born … she’s 13 now !!) Time to get it done, methinks !!
    Hope you have a wonderful week.
    Take care, Meow

  5. grannyp says:

    THIS exhausts me! What a job!

  6. Beth says:

    I hate painting, only because of all the stuff that has to happen BEFORE painting even gets started! But WOW what a difference it can make. Love the hallway color.

  7. Kyahgirl says:

    Meow-maybe I’ve inspired you??? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi Granny-exhaustion comes in many forms eh?

    Beth-it does make a huge difference doesn’t it? Its truly amazing and very rewarding!

  8. weirsdo says:

    Very impressive. Completely beyond me.

  9. Tickersoid says:

    Unusually, I prefer the preparation to the actual painting.

    Great job. I’m still in a bedroom decorated in pink and yellow for two small girls. I’ve been here 5 years and still haven’t decorated the bedrooms.

  10. ariel says:

    I am very impressed with your work!!! I’ve been here before to read and look at the pictures but didn’t have the time to comment. I share your enthusiams for painting. Sadly, the most boring part, the preparing of the walls, is the longest part of the job.

    Have a wonderful time and keep posting pictures!

  11. Mom says:

    you’re coming to do my place, right? Right?

  12. Nancy Poppe says:

    Dear Laura,
    You must have thought that I was not reading your blog, but I have been (secretly..) in the meantime. I would have thought you would have all the time in the world now you’re not working any longer full-time, but when I read all this I take back my words ๐Ÿ˜‰
    I hope you enjoy being a full-time mom. I hope you realize that you have been priviliged to have been able to make that choice. Enjoy it!!
    Lots of hugs from Terneuzen…..

  13. Kyahgirl says:

    Hey Weirsdo-that’s exactly the same thought I have when read about some of the stuff you get up to!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Tickers-you are a strange man. I can somehow see you in the pink and yellow bedroom too. Even with poofy little poodles!!

    Ariel-we are fellow artists. Just wait til I put my sewing lessons to good use. There will be no stopping me!

    Mom-I’m here now right? And I just put up your curtains!

    Nancy-I am so very happy to see you here. I have been wondering about you and how things are in the Netherlands. I am enjoying my new ‘career’ and have no regrets. I am very lucky to have had that choice, too true. take care and big hugs back!

  14. tsduff says:

    Okay, I feel like Rip Van Winkle, or something in that order… somehow I’ve gone to sleep and awoken in a different bloggy spot. Where on earth did Caspydoodles come from? (My dog Tobin is known around here as Arfydoodles) Nice to see you back after a million years with that cloud “art” on display… Now I need to catch up!

  15. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi Terry, I know its hard to believe but I do post a new one now and then ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m not sure how Casper became “Caspydoodle” but he now answers to ‘Doodle’ as well as his real name!

  16. Jenn says:

    So…when are you coming to do my place? The spare bedroom will be difficult as the ceiling is 11′ up but I think you can figure that out.

    Love the colour of the hallway.

  17. G says:

    Very impressive indeed! Good for you. I’m feeling slightly lazy as I read this.

    Good news – The Lampshade Family has a doggie. His picture is on my blog (a few posts down). Come meet him when you’re done painting ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hope all is well. ~ G

  18. Kyahgirl says:

    Jenn-after Doug’s place…..long time. But I know you’re really, really patient ๐Ÿ™‚

    G-that is GREAT news! Congratulations.

Leave a Reply

