Perception

There are so many things I thought about posting since my last one but never seem to be sitting in this chair long enough. I have, however, been sitting in some other chairs and had strange insight into perception after doing it.

A few weeks ago I was cutting the grass at our place. I know, I know, it doesn’t seem that long ago I was griping about the endless snow. Well, in typical Alberta fashion we skipped spring altogether and just moved on to summer so the lawn has been growing fast and furious.

Anyway, we have a pretty big lawn, about 2 acres. Some time ago we bought ourselves a big lawn tractor because it used to take 6 hours on the little John Deere. With the Kubota it takes about 1 and a half. A big improvement. One thing I hadn’t perceived by looking at the lawn was what a mess the big trucks made last fall when they filled in the hole. I just about jiggled right out of the seat going over all the ruts. Anyway, I just finished cutting the grass with the big tractor and hopped on the little one do around the trees. I though, ‘Oh my god, the steering is broken on this thing’ . I could hardly turn the wheel. Then I remembered that the Kubota has power assisted steering and the John Deere just has ‘arm strong’ steering. After finishing the lawn I went to town to pick up the kids and was driving down the road thinking there must be something wrong with my car. It felt so smooth, I thought there had to be something wrong. Then I realized that I was just noticing the difference between a vehicle with a decent suspension riding down an asphalt road compared to riding a tractor on grass.

I kinda sound like I’m turing into a country bumpkin don’t I?   Ha, well, the real kyahgirl begins to surface 🙂

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Perception

  1. Terry says:

    I remember a picture you put up once of your “lawn”… makes me long to live somewhere like that. Riding the tractor sounds awesome! I miss your old pretty field of yellow flowers – but this will do. Glad you are still reachable 😀

  2. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi Terry, I think the canola field is back now 🙂

  3. jan says:

    It’s all relative, I guess. To a donkey rider, a buckboard is a flying carpet.

  4. Doug says:

    Doesn’t take you long to go native, does it? Did the Canadians sound funny after your three days in LA?

  5. Terry says:

    ahhh – the flowers are back !

  6. ariel says:

    I love it when you’re bragging, I sure do. 😛

  7. Kyahgirl says:

    Jan-you’re right of course. Not that I’ve ever ridden a magic carpet but I’ll take your word for it.

    Doug-you know, Canadians sound a lot like Californians anyway. Except Canadians complain alot more about the price of produce and the lack of a decent country radio station.

    terry-just for you!

    Ariel- 🙂

Leave a Reply

