March and April….the untold story :-)

I know have not posted much in the last few months but I HAVE indeed been busy doing interesting things. Here are a couple of highlights.

March-Pond Hockey

Every year, in the town of Lac La Biche, the Rotary club clears off eight hockey rinks on the lake and they hold a tournament. Our kids’ team participated. Luckily, for most of the day it was sunny and only about -10 with no wind. Still, it meant standing around outside all day and it looked like the kids were going to keep winning their games so we’d be there right until the bitter end. Unfortunately, just before the final game, a vicious wind came up and gave us a wind chill of about -30. The kids were valiant and brave and persevered, even though both teams had to keep changing ends every 10 minutes to even up the odds. Our team won the game and got the trophy. It was worth every bit of discomfort to see the unmitigated joy on the faces of those children. My batteries had run down so I didn’t get a picture at the end but I got some earlier. In the picture below, the boy going for the puck is my son and the girl on the right hand side, with the upside down hockey stick, is my daughter.

grantsbreakaway.jpg

March – Lobsterlela arrives

For those of you who follow the Ex-Pansi Files, now known as Stuffed Animal Planet, you will know that many members of the disbanded Naked Gymnastics for Jesus (NG4J) dance troupe have found new homes with various bloggers. Lobsterlela came to kyahgirl’s home to start a new life in Canada. Unfortunately, she had a bit of climate shock and we couldn’t get her to show her face for a long, long time. In fact, Lobsterlela arrived in February but remained in a catatonic state for close to two months. All the other Barbies and assorted dolls pranced around naked in hopes of making her feel at home but she just shuddered and muttered something about ‘Northern Insanity’. Luckily, she found a friend in Ivana, the Russian bodybuilder and Ivana lent her the warm coat and hat she brought from Siberia. In March, there was a very warm day when the drip, drip, drip of melting snow could be heard and the sun felt lovely on the skin. Ivana coaxed Lobsterlela outside, dressed in her borrowed finery. I think that is so chic, the way she balances the fur hat on her lobster tail hair.

ivanaandlobstersnow.jpg

Ken, the only male doll in the group had some kind of nervous breakdown when Lobsterlela arrived and hasn’t been seen since. Years of servicing being the sole male companion to the many and varied dolls in the toybox have taken their toll on him.

March- Los Angeles Perfume Party

I posted earlier about my trip to visit with Doug and Monika in March. I didn’t mention too much about the Saturday afternoon perfume party. Here is a picture of me and three fragrant friends at Luckyscent Scent Bar. We look happy don’ t we? High on fumes I think πŸ™‚

ffatluckyscent.jpg

April 13- Mom’s 90th Birthday

On Ron’s set of days off we took a mad dash for the coast and visited my Mom and sisters and other assorted relatives on Vancouver Island. In case you’re wondering, this is a long, long drive and I don’t recommend it be done in such a rush unless you have something really, really momentous to celebrate. Well we did! My Mom celebrated her 90th birthday. It was so good to spend a bit of time with the family. Here is Mom now:

mombday.jpg

And of course, we went through some very beautiful parts of the country, especially the Rockies:

rockies.jpg

Kyahgirl’s Birthday

When we got back from the coast it was my birthday. My son asked to take a picture of me and the birthday cake. I had to laugh to see what was important to him…just the crappy candles we found in the cupboard. I’m not even in it!!

Nicole took a candid shot of me later that day. I think she must have been lying on the floor!

laurabday.jpglauravianicole.jpg

Getting older but still a lot like this kid inside:

mecubs.jpg

All Sewed up:

I took some sewing lessons in March and April with the intent to make draperies for all the window in our house. In the meantime I’ve made some flannel pjs for the kids and learned how to use my serger. The level of domesticity is shocking!

Finally, the dirt bike:

Its almost time to get that baby out of the garage! Yay!

grantbike.jpg

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to March and April….the untold story :-)

  1. jan says:

    What a great life you have been living!!!

    Er…did you complete a 12 step blogging program?

  2. ariel says:

    holy shit, woman, you’re striking…

    and I’m so impressed you can tell your children in a group all dressed the same!

    good to hear Lobsterlela found friends and fur in her new place. now they can hire Rambo to go after Ken and bring him back…

    high in fume, eh? if it is only one afternoon, you’d better bring the wildest out of it!

    Happy Belated Birthday to both hot chicks! and also to the kid in odd socks. πŸ™‚

    I just knew Spring arrived…

  3. ariel says:

    oh and I LOVED it: “I know have not posted much in the last few months but I HAVE indeed been busy doing interesting things.”

  4. Doug says:

    I had no idea, when we left you at Luckyscents it was with the James Gang.

  5. Kyahgirl says:

    jan-I think a 12 blogging program could be a big hit, so many people struggle with the balance thing….I can just hear it now “hi, my name is Jan and I’m a blogger. I came to bloggers anonymous because my life if unmanageable and I can’t stop blogging”

    ariel-thanks πŸ™‚ you’re generous! You know that kid in the funny socks? she’s still lurks in side me. I think I swiped my brother’s scout uniform for that photo and was feeling pretty special.

    ariel-again! well, I have been getting a lot of flack from the locals you know. Snide comments like: ‘have you forgotten you have a blog?, have you decided to quit blogging?, is your computer broken?’

    doug-I knew if I told you the James gang was there you guys wouldn’t have felt safe leaving me πŸ™‚

  6. M&J says:

    Well, you could knock me down with a feather – 2 posts in the same month!

    Glad to see your back with us again.

    T&P

  7. Miz BoheMia says:

    YAY! You are back! Dios mio you have been busy! I don’t know where to start! Well, first and foremost, happy belated birthday! Hope it was faboo!

    And keep them posts (and pics) coming!

    Besos from a fellow blogger who was MIA for a bit… glad to have you back.

  8. Wow. You’ve been busy. I loved the story about Lobsterela. I’ve followed the Pansi Files, but wasn’t able to score a barbie. Probably because Baxter would have loved to chew it up into little tiny plastic pieces.

  9. Meow says:

    Wow, you sure have been busy.
    I love the photo of you … what a stunner you are.
    Happy (belated) birthday … hope it was a good one.
    Your mum is beautiful, glad you were able to celebrate her birthday with her.
    Enjoy your week.
    Take care, Meow

  10. Happy belated birthday, Laura. Love the photos – especially the ‘candid’ – you have such pretty blue eyes!

  11. Kyahgirl says:

    M&J-its nice to see you guys. I hope I haven’t shocked you too badly πŸ˜‰

    Miz B-thanks for the birthday wishes. I’m glad you’re back too

    Schnoodlepooh- I seem to recall Baxter drooling over the dolls. i can see how they got a bit nervous

    Meow-thanks πŸ™‚

    FF-thanks! The blue eyes comes from dear mom.

  12. EdenEising says:

    enjoyed reading about your kids playing hockey. I grew up in Pennsylvania and we all loved hockey, though our season wasn’t as long as yours. those pucks though are wicked when they hit you — yikes!

  13. IDV says:

    Wow! I want hair like Lobsterlela’s – It’s fantastic!

    Oh, and a belated happy birthday!

  14. shayna says:

    My, My, My… you have been one busy woman! πŸ™‚ Happy Belated B-Day…

  15. Arabella says:

    Great photos. I especially like the one of South Park at the beginning. Runs for cover…….OW! too late.

  16. Mike says:

    You ARE busy, thanx for catching us up on all your activities! The “fumes” picture was a hoot. And I’ve got to tell you there’s nothing old about that birthday picture. You are lookin’ good, lady. BTW, Happy Birthday. πŸ˜‰

  17. neva says:

    well, you have been a busy gal, haven’t you? and a Birthday, to boot? oy….

    as always, i lovelovelove seeing pictures of you, and, of course, your wonderful family (yes, my dear, you are completely gorgeous!) glad to know you had a great and Happy Birthday (thirty-seventeen, was it?) — also happy to see your mom, and hope she’s doing well.

    sorry to get here so darn late — when you get to be my age, you’ll see how difficult it is to do anything, let alone keep up with busy friends! πŸ˜‰ xox

  18. ariel says:

    just wanted to toss a hi and and a ho your way. πŸ˜€

  19. Doug says:

    How about May. You gonna tell that story?

  20. Kyahgirl says:

    edeneisling-hi again….I didn’t know they played hockey in PA but now that I think of it…I guess you guys get winter too πŸ™‚ about the pucks, the kids are very well padded!

    IDV- Lobsterlela has very interesting hair alright.

    Shayna-Just you wait til your two guys are dong sports, then the fun begins πŸ™‚

    arabella-thanks for the laugh, I didn’t think about SouthPark but now that I look at it through your eyes, yeah, it could be SouthPark!

    Mike-thanks, you are kind. And yes, the perfume party was way beyond fun!

    Neva-you are welcome at my door any time. And speaking of being late…look at me, hardly even attending to my guests!

    Ariel-thanks! tossing a wave back πŸ™‚ Luckily you’re smart enough to e-mail me so you, at least, know I’m alive. I like that ♥

    Doug-I might be coerced into talking about May πŸ™‚ You just have to give me a chance to get off the Merry-go-round!

  21. Old Mule says:

    Happy Birthday! 40’s are the new…teens?

    That photo from the Rockies is so beautiful.

  22. Arabella says:

    I’m actually quite relieved you found my comment humorous (as intended!). Had one of those “woops” moments after I pressed publish.

  23. ariel says:

    Kyah, I have to warn you, someone seems to comment on the blogs under your name! do you know anything about it??

    πŸ˜›

  24. Doug says:

    Hope springs eternal but summers impatiently.

  25. Minka says:

    That is a lot of stuff going on in your life. Wow.

    You Mom is beautiful, even at the age of 90!

    Sewing lessons online..drapes and PJs….I´d say you need to get out more, but it seems you manage to squeeze that in between too!

    Glad teh snow is melting, spring has arrived and teh dirt bike is ready to embrace mud πŸ™‚

    Oh and a belated Happy birthday, of course!

  26. weirsdo says:

    Glad to see you’re back posting. Thanks for the update on Lobsterlela. She looks divine. Don’t worry about the sadness; she likes it.
    Happy Birthday.

  27. Kyahgirl says:

    Old MUle-thanks for the birthday wishes. The 40s are definitely not as ‘old’ as I thought they’d be. πŸ™‚

    Arabella-I’m not that easy to offend. No worries. I’ve had lots of those ‘whoops’ moments too.

    Ariel-thanks for the tip. I think some crazy impersonator is wandering the blogosphere.

    Minka-thanks πŸ™‚

    Weirsdo-I’m relieved to hear that. I can live with Lobsterlela’s angst as long as she’s happy that way.

Leave a Reply

