Been to Visit the Queen

The Ice Queen that is:

monikawaving1.jpg

In a shocking display of ‘blog neglect’ I haven’t posted here for almost two months. But that doesn’t mean I haven’t been doing anything interesting!

Last month, I got to go on a long awaited trip to California to meet two of my dearest blogging buddies as well as friends from the MUA fragrance board. Most of the the people who visit here also know Monika aka ‘Teh Penguin’, The Ice Queen, and Doug, from Waking Ambrose.

Doug met Monika and I at LAX on Friday afternoon and kindly hosted us as well as chauferred us around for the weekend. Don’t let on that I told you, but he’s not quite the crab pot that he makes himself out to be. Shhhhh!

On Saturday morning we went for a hike with Doug’s dad and the infamous doggy duo, Willie and Walela. Here is a photo of us. Some people are so shy!!

bloggerfeet.jpg

We couldn’t get the dogs to put their feet in the shot but they were there, believe me.

I spent a really fun afternoon at the Luckyscent Scent bar, sniffing rare perfumes and visiting with some of the perfumista pals I’ve made on line. Later that day, Doug, Monika, and I met up with Doug’s sister and her toddler for dinner. Sunday was taken up with visiting Disneyland,

dscn2119.JPG

the location of the above photo of Monika with her castle in the background. Notice how the babies have all lined up in their strollers to pay homage to their queen? And rightly so. Not many people can get away with walking around in a Tiara and looking perfectly natural but teh penguin pulled it off beautifully.

People who don’t blog have a hard time grasping how we bloggers come to know each other well enough to want to travel around the world and meet each other. I have never been disappointed yet when I’ve met the people in person that I’ve come to know through their blogs. Doug and Monika are no exception. There is something very satifying in knowing a person has true friends scattered about the world.

I want to blog about my recent trip to Victoria to visit the other queen, my Mom, but have messed up the photos so will wait til another day (no, no, it won’t be two months!)

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Been to Visit the Queen

  1. Vicus Scurra says:

    Yes, we were beginning to get concerned.
    “Never been disappointed yet”? Wait ’til you come to England, sweetie.

  2. ariel says:

    ah, you still remember your log in password? 😛

    I’m so glad to see a new post from you! sounds you had a wonderful weekend in CA.

  3. Doug says:

    I am so a crab. I was just in an unusually good mood because Willie was begging for Monika’s food and Walela was chasing you in your cat suit. I hardly ever get to finish my own meals in peace.

  4. Doug says:

    Plus, I have to say the company was first rate.

  5. logoâ„¢ says:

    YAY
    Glad you had a good time
    and lovely to see you around these here parts.
    MWAH!

  6. Kyahgirl says:

    Vicus-thank you. unlike some friends down under I don’t intend to disappear forever. oh, and just you wait, if I ever get to your little island, I’ll be knocking on your door!

    ariel-my, aren’t you the sarcastic little wench!
    I DID have a great time in CA and I will try to post a little more often….hate you have you fretting 🙂

    Doug-I’ll never mention it again of course, it will be our little secret and everyone else is sure to forget what I said. I too thought the company was first rate!

    Logo-maybe next time I’ll land a bit further north and see my twin. 🙂

  7. Monika says:

    Hey, that´s me and my castle.

    *takes a deep breath: “IT´s a small world after all…it´s a small world after all!”*

    I had to, the moment demanded it!

    Kyahgirl, you were wonderful company, a hoot to be around and a greta wine-drinkign body.
    I will neve rbe able to think of Peter Pan and Disneyland without your image popping up.
    I had such a wonderful time, may a laugh and on occasion even some food 🙂

    Eyore greets me every morning;)

    Thank you!

  8. Arabella says:

    Glad to hear you’ve been enjoying adventures.
    Those massed buggies look rather threatening – an image from Hitchcock’s ‘The Birds’ sprang to mind!

  9. Kyahgirl says:

    Monika-I feel the same. In fact, you are everything a person could ever hope for in a queen and a penguin. I believe you are a new breed, the Empress Penguin! Every time I look at my kids’ Disney cups I think of you and Eeyore 🙂

    Arabella-the whole baby part of Disneyland was like that, very, very frightening!! 🙂

  10. Doug says:

    Monika, I missed the Peter Pan ride but whenever I think of Peter Pan I’ll remember Laura’s appraisal of him on the way in. Too funny!

  11. Kyahgirl says:

    Doug, am I the ONLY person that thinks Peter Pan was a little shit? There must be something wrong with me eh?
    I must say, our ride through the night sky was pretty cool though. I’m glad we didn’t miss it.

  12. al says:

    Lots of stuff to smell in NYC, Kyah.

    And, some if it’s perfume.

  13. ames says:

    Yay!! I’m so glad you’re back and can’t wait for more pictures. 😛

  14. Doug says:

    I doubt it, but you may be the first person I ever heard say it out loud. That it happened in the middle of Main Street, U.S.A. between a confectioner and a cinema playing Steamboat Willie with Cinderella’s castle rising majestically before us just made it better. I admire your courage and aspire to your edginess.

  15. G says:

    I was becoming concerned that they’d done something with you in California. Pfew. Well sounds like the funfest just followed The Penguin west – I recognize that little royal wave of hers (quite natural really).

    It is really special meeting up with blogger buddies, glad you made the pilgrimage.

  16. Kyahgirl says:

    al-I long to sample NYC’s perfume selection again. Some day it will happen and you can bet your guiding skills will be called upon!

    ames-thanks 🙂 its nice to see you again.

    doug-you truly humble me. coming from the great curmudgeon, that is a big compliment

    G-I’m glad too. I wish you could have been there but I guess it will have to wait until my next trip out east!
    🙂

  17. ariel says:

    Peter Pan was a little shit?

    Kyahgirl, if you weren’t married, I’d ask for your hand now!

  18. neva says:

    as difficult as it was to send teh Penguin on her way (to California) it was nice to know she was going out there to be in such good company. you and i have only been able to “meet” via the phone — but i know how lovely and fun you are, and i can only imagine the good times you all had out there!

    that said, i’ll co-sign Al & G’s statement, and say next time you MUST find your way back to NYC! “The Al Tour” alone would make the trip worthwhile! (G and i will be happy to stand in the background and giggle, which is the thing we seem to do best!)

    sounds to me like Peter Pan wasn’t the only “little shit” in Disneyland… *looks at Doug* 😉 xox

  19. Kyahgirl says:

    Ariel-you made me chuckle, first thing in the morning. I think we’re on the same wavelength! ♥

    Neva-I’m so glad you came by. I would dearly love to come back to the east coast. You can be sure that I’ll be looking you guys up eventually. You just need to give me a couple of years :-).
    Standing in the background and giggling sounds like a fun thing to do. I could help you guys with that.
    Doug was a perfect angel and his Dad earned a halo that day too. We had fun trailing after an excited penguin with a crown.

  20. The Phoenix says:

    Queen of the strollers!!!!

  21. zydeco fish says:

    You’d be disappointed if you ever met me 😉

  22. jan says:

    Welcome back to Bloggerville. Traveling in the real world can rev up the batteries.

  23. Kyahgirl says:

    Phoenix-you got it right! 🙂

    Zydeco – now I find that hard to believe. 🙂

    jan-thanks so much. my batteries are revved but it doesn’t mean I’ll be posting an more! I’m bad.

  24. Margaret says:

    happy birthday ! So glad to see you back.
    what did you do to celabrate your special day?

  25. Kyahgirl says:

    Margaret-thanks! I took the kids to school then Ron and I spent the day together, he was on his transition to night shift. I bought new glasses at Costco! How exciting is that? I had a lovely day. Doesn’t take much to make me happy 🙂

  26. Margaret says:

    Spending the day with those you love and who love you is the best of days and the happiest of days. love Margaret

  27. justine says:

    what a great blogging story! nice shoes 🙂

Leave a Reply

