How Much Mucous is enough Mucous?

Do you ever wonder how a head the size of a bowling ball can produce buckets and buckets of mucous?

buckets1.jpg

I do.

Its a mystery of the universe I guess. Combine the gallons of mucous with coughing until hurling begins, a big crop of cold sores and ‘women troubles’ and you will gather that I am a very sick mother hen.

And miserable.

Moan.

Cussing doesn’t make it go away any faster but it offers deep emotional cleansing.

Join me. I’ll feel better.

Shit.

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

42 Responses to How Much Mucous is enough Mucous?

  1. Icy says:

    You poor humans.

  2. Kyahgirl says:

    Icy-you are always compassionate. Woof!

  3. grannyp says:

    Ouch. My (sailor) grandfather’s remedy for anything like this was: hang a boot on the boot on the bottom of the bed, take bottle of rum, drink till you see two boots, then sleep. In the morning – no cold, mucus, etc etc. He didn’t say how you cured the headache. Anyway I’m sending you a virtual honey, whisky, lemon, hope you feel better soon.

  4. Mike says:

    And here’s some home made chicken soup to go with grannyp’s virtual honey, whiskey, lemon. We’ll have you whistling a new tune in no time. Feel better soon! ;0)

  5. quilldancer says:

    Oh dear. I just left that state. No time is a good time for a visit. Kleenex?

  6. pia says:

    So sorry–I’m trying to stave off bronchitis–ginger tea, pineapple, ginger, a few other things and much sleep usually helps me

  7. The Adopted Grandparents says:

    Old natural cure for colds, sinus, etc. is to take 1 tablespoon of warm honey mixed with 1/4 teaspoon of cinnimon 3 times a day. Doesn’t taste bad and if it helps you all the better.

  8. logoâ„¢ says:

    Poor motherhen
    I’m so sorry. The Things are both illen and I feel like cussing too,
    dammit!

  9. jan says:

    Have you tried chicken soup and Jack Daniels? I have it on good authority that this combinations cures everything,

    A few years ago I went to the doctor for whatever I had. Whatever he gave me seemed to encourage the bad viruses so i stay with my grandmother’s remedies.

  10. Mom says:

    another remedy worked for me Hot water drinks some with lemon and honey ,(Robtiussin extra strenght . chest congeston) and plenty of REST.

  11. Kyahgirl says:

    grannyp-that’s an interesting concept…drink til you see two boots! I get a hangover pretty easy so I’ll just have to take you up on the honey and lemon 🙂

    Mike-thanks for the soup.

    Quilly-thanks, I’ve gone through several boxes 🙂

    Pia-never thought of ginger and pineapple. that sounds tasty.

    Adopted grandparent-honey and cinnamon…yum

    logo-thank you for cussing with me…you’re the only one 🙂

    jan-Mike just left me some chicken soup…all I need is Jack Daniels. Will Rye whiskey do?

    Mom-hi Mom. thanks to you we have lemons in our fridge so I guess I’ll have to try it. The REST part is pretty tough. Spent last night tending to a vomiting daughter and doing extra laundry. Today I have to steam clean her carpet. Thank goodness for my Bissell!

  12. neva says:

    i’m tellin’ ya, take Elderberry Extract and Zicam, and you’ll be back to normal in a jif. or at least in a couple of days (those things work for me every time, i swear.)

    feel better. oh, and Rabbit, Rabbit! xox

  13. The Phoenix says:

    I hope you feel better soon.

    Be careful with those cold sores. That’s still Herpes.

  14. CindyS says:

    Gah. I’m of the old school – take nothing and it’ll leave sooner. Unless it’s an infection, then you’re screwed 😉 (I had a sinus infection two years ago and I never go to the doctor for colds so I went 15 days before I finally crawled into the doctors with tears streaming down my face. I had no clue sinus infections existed and within two days the mucous began to back off – took two rounds of anti-biotics to kill it though)

    Hope you are all better!

    CindyS

  15. Joan says:

    sorry you have this I’m cussing a big one for you.I have often (most usually in the throws of it though) have stated in amazment of the amount of endless mucous that the human head can manufactur.No sooner have you horcked ,hacked , explosiveky sneezed your head clear than you feel it running out again.My fullest sympathy to you. As Quilldancer says I have just left that state and don’t wish it on anyone especially you or yours.Hope you and Nicole are feeling better really soon. I’ll drink a hot lemon for you too love

  16. Lammy says:

    That’s a lot of snot saved up. The hard part of the trick is to stuff it into a toothpaste tube.

  17. weirsdo says:

    I am so sorry!
    About the mucus: I do not know, but I know people who have found out.

  18. Kyahgirl says:

    neva-my holistic connection! thanks for the tip. xoxo

    phoenix-thanks. Yeah, herpes suck. It seem to transmorgrify with age. No longer just get one coldsore on my lip but clusters of them that really hurt.

    Cindy-I had quite a few sinus infections in the past 5 years. I know what you’re talking about.

    Joan-thanks honey 🙂

    Lammy-you’re downright diabolical, you know?

    weirsdo-thanks for the link. that was funny. (and gross!)

  19. quilldancer says:

    I am still waiting for my sinuses to finish draining. How about you?

  20. Kyahgirl says:

    quilly-mine have slowed down but my lungs are still in heavy production! I hope you heal up soon.

  21. Fred says:

    Sounds like a typical day around here, too. 🙂

    Hope you’re feeling better.

  22. Mutha says:

    K-Girl — I’ve got the same thing. Okay no hurling, but the cold sores, buckets, yes.

    I have three new flashes on “Tell Me A Story, Mutha”

    Hope you’ll stop by when you are able to crawl to the computer — and let me know what you think.

    *sniff*
    *cough*

  23. Awwwww….. I hope you get better soon. Being sick sucks. Maybe a couple of poodle licks would help.

  24. the amoeba says:

    Hi. Happy retirement. You wished to do what?

    Remarkable how many of your correspondents are prescribing things with whiskey in them …

    Hope you return to form soon.

  25. Doug says:

    Perfidy!

    Hope you feel better.

  26. ariel says:

    good girl, you spit, I’ve never learnt how to do that and I just swallow and swallow and swallow. keep spitting, it does good to you, and when you are very tired and feel like you hardly have the strenght to breath even, sit still and I rub menth oil on your back. better already, can you feel?

  27. Monika says:

    There is no better time for a foot massage, some chocolate and a good book, a warm blanket and peace!

  28. Monika says:

    Oh and feel better, it eventually goes away!

  29. Meow says:

    You’d think that with all the snifing, blowing, sneezing, coughing that all the mucous would get out … nope !!
    Hope you feel better soon.
    Stay warm, take care, Meow

  30. zydeco fish says:

    I’ve often wondered if this mucous could be put to good use. There must be something useful we can do with it. Get well soon.

  31. garfer says:

    I am immune to all afflictions.

    It’s great having a Keith Richards constitution.

    I should have died years ago.

  32. G says:

    See I am such a weakling in the stomach department, the words “buckets of mucous” makes me cringe and look away, but I didn’t leave no, I did not. First I had to come wish you a speedy recovery and now I’m running for the exit. Amazing that I’m a mom (somehow I only have the stomach for my kids’ illnesses). Really, feel better soon.

  33. IDV says:

    Ha Ha! An excuse to swear! Shit! Damn! Bugger! Poo!

    Actually, I must’ve known you were ill, that’s why I’ve stayed away so long. Yes… That’s it. Anyway, I hope you’re churning out less mucus now.

    Get well soon!

  34. shayna says:

    ICK! Hope you feel better!!! 🙂

  35. TSDUFF says:

    I wish you a speedy recovery – this is the most horrible malady known to man (or woman) kind. Hugs and more hugs – feel better soon. It is funny to see all the different remedies and suggestions here for you… – hope one or the other helps 😀

  36. ap3 says:

    So sorry to hear you’re sick! That sounds pretty miserable. Get well soon! XOXOX

  37. micki says:

    If you aren’t better yet — please, get better. If you are better, I hope you’re taking full advantage of “retirement.” wow — the vast expanse of time opening before you!! yes! xo

  38. ames says:

    Hey sweetie, just wanted to stop by and say hello. Also miss you!! Hope all is well.

  39. Kyahgirl says:

    Hey you guys, thanks for all the good wishes and remedies. I am finally feeling better and have stopped the wild coughing fits. What a terrible cold.

    I’m a lousy patient too. 🙂

  40. ariel says:

    good news, I’m glad the cough is over!!

  41. TSDUFF says:

    I had to use you as an example on my blog a few days ago… great example of “sick” 🙂

    Hope you are better now.

  42. Tickersoid says:

    I love the helmet picture.

Leave a Reply

