Goodbye at last

No, no, no. I’m not saying goodbye to you guys πŸ™‚

Last week I had a chance to finally say goodbye to my former colleagues at Dow. Because I was leaving in December and there are a lot of people away during that month, we decided to have a luncheon in January to get together and say goodbye. I’m glad we did that. In 20 years here, I’ve made a lot of friends. I’m very lucky. Also, its good that many of them live around here and I will still be able to see them.
Most of the people I’ve worked with on site came to have lunch with us and then they gave me some gifts and one of my co-workers read out a lovely letter from my former boss (who obviously couldn’t be there since he lives in the Netherlands). I got a nice bracelet from the group as well as a gift certificate to the book store. That’s enough to make a girl swoon πŸ™‚

Actually, in December, quite a few of my closest colleagues got together with me to celebrate and shower me with gifts too so I’ve been well and truly pampered.
The predominant question I’ve gotten lately is ‘how is it?’ (‘it’ being retirement)
Honestly? I still feel like I’m a long vacation. And with two kids at home, its a bit of a stretch to call it retirement πŸ™‚

I think it will take a while for things to sink in. I’ve been busy taking care of the kids and the family as well as getting going on the exercise program. Casper has been beside himself with joy to have someone home with him all the time. We’ve all been eating better since I have time to make nicer meals than when we were all rushing around like maniacs. Ron is still the superior cook in our household but he’s been working extra lately so hasn’t been around. At least that’s his story.
I have such a big list of things to work on that I will be busy and not blogging any more than I was. I know a couple of people have told me they thought they’d see more posts coming but I don’t think I’ll get back to more than one a week. That seems to be a good balance for me.

First priority is to get a lot more knowledgeable about investing and get our finances in order. Then I seriously have to get after the painting of the house. That is a job that’s been waiting three years for completion!

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Goodbye at last

  1. jan says:

    When I stopped working full time I seemed to be busier than ever. Funny how that works.

  2. Doug says:

    I think an important thing to do with change is enjoy the change itself. Who gave you a bookstore gift certificate? That’s like buying a junky a vial of horse.

  3. zydeco fish says:

    I really look forward to retirement. Sadly, I have quite a few years to go, unless I win a lottery.

  4. Mom says:

    Thank all your friends for their good wishes when I was ill slowly recouvering I need to be more patien. your retirement sounded great and your friends comment right on the mark, what a bunch of bookworms we are .

  5. tsduff says:

    I’m so happy for you – wow, a dream come true to retire! I too won’t be in a financial position to do that for a LOOOOONNNNGGGG time – okay, realistically NEVER LOL, but I’m glad somebody made it! Hope you will keep popping in every so often to share what’s happening – I’ve grown quite fond of you πŸ™‚

  6. quilldancer says:

    Dang — I thought retirement meant a chance to slow down. Better to keep working. Retirement sounds exhausting.

  7. Kyahgirl says:

    jan-you’d be amazed at how many people say that. People wonder how they ever had time to work!

    doug-I do enjoy the process. And yes, you’re absolutely right about the gift cert….the addict is very happy! πŸ™‚

    Zydeco-I actually look at this as another career, not retirement. That has to wait.

    Mom-so nice to see you here again ♥

    Terry-I’ve grown quite fond of you too! I won’t be disappearing.

    Quilly-I think a busy, engaged person is going to be busy and engaged whether they’re working or retired. You’ll probably have 50 blogs when you’re done work! πŸ™‚

  8. neva says:

    here’s hoping you settle in to something you truly love — something that brings great amounts of joy into your life. you deserve it my friend, and, because you are the capable, creative and oh-so-lovely person you are, i believe it will be yours for the asking/taking. for now, stay well/keep busy/BE HAPPY! πŸ™‚ xox

  9. The Phoenix says:

    Happy retirement! Sounds like you’ll be more busy now.

  10. The Adopted Grandparents says:

    You have to remember to take things easy. Your have-to-do list wasn’t made up in a month and that same list doesn’t have to be completed in a month. Delegate some time for yourself. The jobs needing attention will still be there but after a while you realize that some of them are no longer “that” urgent. We speak from experience.
    Great to see that real Grandmother S. is on the road to recovery.

  11. Meow says:

    After I finished full time work 14 years ago, I found that my time was busier than it was whilst working. I discovered that I was more organised when I was working full time, as I only had limited time to do other stuff. Now, I am so disorganised, as I am of the mentality that if I don’t do it today, I can do it tomorrow. Bad news !!!
    Enjoy your time.
    Take care, Meow

  12. Mailyn says:

    Wow! You are retired? Was it early retirement? Either way it’s way better than working. You can be in your PJs all day long if you’d like!

    Not that I’m doing that now. Well, not every day anyways. πŸ˜›

  13. surly girl says:

    happy retirement! i so wish i didn’t have to work – i would definitely be in my jarmies all day!

  14. ariel says:

    with MY reading skills that is the perfect tempo of posting, dear girl. house painting is fun!

  15. Kyahgirl says:

    Neva-thanks girlfriend. Right now I AM settled into something I love. who knows what the future holds?

    Phoenix- I think it would be more technically correct to call it ‘stay-at-home-mom-ment’ rather than ‘retire-ment’ πŸ™‚

    Adopted Grandparents-good advice! I’ll take it from two who know πŸ™‚

    Meow- I can really see how that can happen!

    Mailyn- well…see my answer to the Phoenix. I’m am actually too young to really retire and there may be another career or two in my future so….thanks though. No lounging in PJs all day for me though.

    Surly girl-thanks. I don’t actually mind working but am enjoying the chance to be with my family more.

  16. Fuckkit says:

    Man, I can’t wait for them to lower the retirement age. Somewhere around 27 will suffice.

  17. Monika says:

    Once a week?
    I´ll take it!

    Now…good luck with all the sorting of finances and re-painting. And just enjoy it.
    I am still too young to know what retirement is like, but I am sure entertaining stuff could be done in it πŸ˜‰

    Good luck with it all and don´t become a stranger πŸ™‚

  18. Margaret says:

    I have been not employed for 6 years now and my to do list is still very long .

    I can no longer multitask so everything takes longer to do,besides there is always tomorrow.
    With youngsters at home that probally won’t happen as much for you because they will keep things happening.

    I am really happy to hear that routine exercise is in the plan it’s good for all that ails us.Casper must be running circles of joy.

  19. pia says:

    I hope that you have a wonderful time, and that getting your finances in order isn’t too stressful

    The retirement parties sounded great as does the bookstore certificate

    It was nice to hear your mother, and I hope that she is truly on the mend

  20. pia says:

    Oh and I’m glad that you weren’t saying good bye to blogging.

    I have been doing two posts a week but have been thinking of lessening it to one or canning it as it still is too obsessive for me

  21. CindyS says:

    Wow! I’m really happy for you! Hope you enjoy all the new time (okay, it gets sucked up pretty fast ;))

    CindyS

  22. Hello M’Dear!

    You stop working, then I go and get a job. What is going on in this crazy world??? πŸ˜‰ I looked at your weather monitor, BRRRR -17 wind chill. I thought it was cold here at 32F. I must be cold whimpy here in Texas.

    So the kids are loving having you at home? I bet Ron really loves it too. πŸ™‚

  23. Kyahgirl says:

    Ariel-I’m glad you still drop by and the great thing about blogs is it doesn’t matter how fast you read. Still, you’re way ahead of me, I can only read blogs in English whereas you have more languages.

    Fuckkit-I thought you WERE retired!! πŸ™‚

    Monika-I won’t be a stranger and I definitely am having no trouble entertaining myself!

    Margaret-‘running cirles of joy’ describes Casper to a T

    Pia-thanks for thinking of my Mom, you are very sweet. I’m glad you’ve cut back on posting. It would be good if everyone slowed down. Its better to go at it nice and easy and last a long time rather than burn out. It should be a source of connection, fun and learning and when its not, something is out of whack.

    Cindy-thanks. I notice you manage to keep pretty busy too.

    MHN-Its been great. I didn’t realize that you got a job. I have to swing by and check up on you!

  24. Anna says:

    Congratulations. I’m sure the kids and the dog love the company.

  25. Kyahgirl says:

    Anna-thanks πŸ™‚

  26. garfer says:

    When I retire I shall not be exercising and making nice meals for people who probably don’t appreciate them anyway.

    I shall drink plum brandy, do crack cocaine, and buy a Learjet.

    Hopefully.

  27. actonbell says:

    I bet it’s hard to imagine how you ever had time to work, eh?

  28. Kyahgirl says:

    garfer-you can just hop on that ol’ learjet and come over here where you can enjoy a ‘nice’ meal with us!

    plum brandy…*shudder*

    actonbell-basically, yeah πŸ™‚

  29. M says:

    Sorry I missed the lunch Laura. I bet it was lots of fun.

    I just got back from Peru last night; we had a great time and enjoyed the escape from Alberta winter. As a retiree, I found two weeks insufficient so need to work on DH so we can take longer vacations.

    I should be unpacking and doing laundry but instead I’m catching up on your BLOG.

    Hope we can get together for coffee soon.

    M

  30. weirsdo says:

    Congrats on taking the plunge, and best wishes on your current projects.

  31. G says:

    Honestly when I’m home, I’m lucky to get the computer on. Enjoy your new life, I’m very happy for you that you have been able to make this leap…and a tad envious. Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

