Hockey anyone?

gameprep.jpg
Hockey season is in full swing. Here are the progeny, getting ready to play their last game of the tournament this weekend.
A good time was had by all.
Of course, there doesn’t seem to be any pure unadulterated joy in our lives these days. There always has to be a downside.  On Friday night, I took the kids to their first game then when Ron got off work he came to relieve me so I could go to the funeral home.  Another one of our colleagues passed away this week. Only 53 years old.  A damn heart attack.  On Saturday, I couldn’t go to the funeral because of the hockey tournament but Ron got off work early so he could attend on behalf of his crew.  I’m sad to say that we’re so familiar with the route to Glenwood memorial. In the past 2 years we’ve seen the passing of 5 colleagues or their family members.
This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Hockey anyone?

  1. The Phoenix says:

    Hockey has been dead in St. Louis…but I think it’s beginning to come back.

  2. Those are pretty tough looking hockey players.

    And dead of a heart attack at 53??? Scary – that’s my age. Way too young to die. I hate to see people that are my age (or younger) dying… I guess it’s just a reminder of my mortality. I don’t want to think about it yet. Aren’t we all too young to die?

  3. al says:

    Very cute, Kyah. The kids look downright indestructible in that gear.

  4. Doug says:

    Based on your “crack” story before, your kids need a lot training before they can talk hockey.

    Sorry to hear of your colleague.

  5. actonbell says:

    I’m sorry to hear of the passing of your colleague, and that you’ve lost so many.
    It’s great the your kids are so into a sport, and hockey seems so exciting.
    Interesting answers on your meme:) Four Weddings and a Funeral was a great movie.

  6. quilldancer says:

    I am sorry to hear of your loss, and am glad you can celebrate your children during this time.

  7. MotherPie says:

    No one much played hockey in Texas… And being the age where funeral begin to occur more frequently… that is an interesting stage.

  8. Kyahgirl says:

    hey Phoenix, I hope your hockey team comes back to life.

    schnoodlepooh-I know what you mean, that is very young.

    al-yes, they are well protected

    Doug-thanks, and yes, they haven’t mastered expletives yet 🙂

    actonbell-thanks.

    quilly-well it seems that there is always something sad going on these days but the kids are a great source of joy.

    motherpie-you do have one really hot hockey team, Dallas! About the funerals…yes, it seems to be a more frequent event these days.

  9. weirsdo says:

    I’m sorry.
    This combination of events reminded me of my cousin in upstate NY. Her boys play hockey, too–and she’s just been diagnosed with cervical cancer (she’s about 35).

Leave a Reply

