4X4 meme

Hey, I got tagged. That’s great because I’m lazy ! 🙂 Thanks Trina.
FOUR jobs I have had

I’ve had quite a few jobs. Most of you know I spent the last 20 years as a chemist/manager so I’m not going to count that one.

1) Telephone operator at a private answering service:

I did this job for a couple of years actually in my early 20’s. Oddly enough, I loved it. I got to talk to hundreds of people every day but never had to see them. Hmmm, now that I think of it…its kind of like blogging! Perfect job for an introvert who likes people. 🙂 The best part was when I first started we had an old fashioned ‘chord board’. It was really fun. Think about Ruth Buzzy on ‘Laugh-in’ If you don’t know what I’m talking about you’re too young to be reading this blog. (kidding!)

2) Synthetic chemist:

No, I wasn’t synthetic but I was synthesing a particular molecule (a heart imaging drug), labeled with radioactive iodine. This was an interesting job because I learned a lot about radiation, working with really scary shit, robotics, the nuclear industry, cyclotrons, and building walls with lead bricks.

3) Formulations chemist:

I spent some time working with a company that made insecticides that had  bacteria as the active ingredient. The best part of this job was that it was a small business with a lot of really smart, really nice people. The lab/office was right beside a microbrewery. Nuff said.

4) Kresge’s lunch counter- Slave:

This was my first real job I had as a teenager. My god, I hated every minute of it. First, I’m not that good at just doing what other people want or being nice to people who aren’t behaving. Second, I had to be ‘in public’ and that was awful. On the other hand, I got to work for this dominatrix with a 4 foot tall beehive who beat all us teenaged slaves into her idea of good workers. I learned quite a bit about what I never wanted to do for a living. I remember my mom telling me ‘if you can make it six months in that job you can probably make it anywhere’. She’s right. On the day of my six months…I quit.

FOUR movies I could watch over and over

This is hard because I don’t watch movies that often. Here are four movies that I have watched more than once and enjoyed them:

1) Shine-I’m quite fond of piano music and stories that show how amazing the human spirit is. This show has both of those.

2) Four Weddings and a Funeral – I admit, its been years since I’ve seen this and I also can’t stand Hugh Grant. Nevertheless, I did see this movie two or three times with different friends and enjoyed it every time.
3) Braveheart – interesting, scary, moving, sad….great show.

4) A Christmas Carol-the 1934 version with Alistair Sim. I have watched this movie over and over at Christmas and loved it every time!

FOUR places I have lived apart from where I live now

Rossland BC, Victoria, BC, Vancouver, BC, and Edmonton Alberta.

FOUR TV shows that I love

I have to skip this. I watch so little TV that I can’t do it. Although, there was a time that I never, ever missed an episode of M*A*S*H!

FOUR places I have been on holiday

Geez, you won’t know any of these names….Christina Lake, Osoyoos, Slave Lake, Gregg Lake.

FOUR websites I visit daily

I used to be able to say I visited four daily but for several months have been way down on my internet time. Every time I’m on I do visit Waking Ambrose, my own blog, and my Yahoo mail. I guess I have to count Google.ca too since that’s my home page 🙂

FOUR favorite foods

1) Cherries-its hard to get really good cherries here but its one of my favorite foods

2) Spaghetti and meatballs – can you believe that? Total comfort I guess. Most pasta dishes appeal to me.
3) Chicken buryani with raita

4) Almonds

FOUR places I would rather be right now

1) Victoria-if I had a transporter I’d love to pop in and visit my Mom and give Joan a hand.
2) Calgary-my dearest friend just had an operation and I’d like to pop in there too and see for myself that she’s ok.

3) No other. Notice in 1 and 2 I said I’d like to ‘pop’ in to those other places. That’s because I do like where I’m at for the most part.

FOUR books I enjoy reading over and over again

I don’t really get around to reading any books over and over again. I just keep reading more and more. Technically, I have read some spectroscopy books over and over but that was work.

I will re-read books in a series when I get a new one in the series.

FOUR CDs that never leave my regular rotation

1) Sarah MacLachlan-Surfacing

2) Pachelbel, Albinoni – Baroque Classics

3) Johnny Reid – Born to Roll

3) Enigma MCMXC a.D.

FOUR people I am tagging

I was thinking I might not tag anyone else but then I thought I’d like to hear more ofrom these blogging friends and I’d like you to go visit their interesting blogs in the States, Iceland, and Australia so I’m tagging:

G-Simply Said

Monika-The Ice Queen

Tsduff-Terry’s Time Out

Meow-Varieties of Life

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to 4X4 meme

  1. Doug says:

    Those are all interesting lists. It’s a picture of someone who’s happy at home. And thanks for thinking of Waking Ambrose. It’s always good when you can get by.

  2. G says:

    Kyah, always good to get to know my blogger buddy better (say that 10 times fast!).

    Ooh and you’ve tagged me, well I’d better get to work. Give me a little time…

    Sending good wishes for your Mom too. xox ~ G

  3. Kyahgirl says:

    Doug-you’ll never know how hard it is for me to answer those questions..’what is your favorite x’. I get into analysis paralysis. And of course I think of WAking Ambrose. Its like a favorite coffee shop where dogs are allowed. Can’t get any better than that!

    G-there is no rush at all. I look forward to reading your lists whenever they are done. Thanks for thinking of Mom.

  4. Squaregirl says:

    Great list! I see why we could relate!

  5. neva says:

    great meme — too bad it wasn’t “8 x 8” because to know you is to know there’s a lot more to know and/or love! (hopefully that makes sense — i mean it as a compliment.) xox

  6. sabine says:

    Hi, just looking in! We could go out eating together and even go to the movies. And I remember this telephon switches well enough. (And a handle to let the phone ring, in the countryside). Nice to have you back and that your mother is better.

  7. Kyahgirl says:

    Squaregirl-yeah, I kind of figured that 🙂

    neva-I had a hard enough time with 4!

    sabine-welcome 🙂 thanks for the kind wishes.

  8. Al says:

    Spaghetti and Meat Balls? Me too, K. I’ve got a killer five-generation-old recipe for the sauce (where I’m from, we insist on calling it “Gravy”) and the meat balls…

    Oh great. Thanks, Kyah, I just drooled all over my mouse…

  9. FirstNations says:

    hey chickie!
    i am so stealing this meme. yes i am.
    hope the wooflies and the kids and you yourself are doing fine. been thinking about you in all this wild a$$ weather. stay warm babe!

  10. tsduff says:

    HA ha ha – I love Lily Tomlin… one ringie dingie… Miss Ormsby wasn’t it? She was a fav of mine as the operator lady (no, I’m definitely NOT to young to be reading this blog) 😀

    You have one of the nicest, most warm and readable places around, and it is always fun to stop by and see what’s up. (With a name like Mother Hen, what else could we expect :-D?)

    Oh, and being tagged is an honor. I’m off to ponder my answers…

  11. Doug says:

    Kyah, you just have too many braincells working. I avoid analysis paralysis (great phrase by the way) because I just go with whatever tastes saltier.

  12. weirsdo says:

    It is nice to see you back again, and I also love chicken buryani and yada, yada, yada–BUT I am reeling from your preference of Mel Gibson IN ANY FILM over HUGH GRANT.
    O. k., I admit Grant can sometimes be cloying, but have you seen him in, say, “Sense and Sensibility”?

    I am sorry I have not sent Lobsterlela off, but this is a busy (read symphony concert) week. She is coming, I promise.

  13. Kyahgirl says:

    Al, good buddy of mine…what do I have to do to get the secret recipe? I love collecting family favorites. 🙂

    FN-you go right ahead. I’ve love to see your lists. We’re doing fine despite the wrath of old man winter!

    Terry-I’m glad you like it here. I like it at your place too 🙂 No rush on the meme but I’m looking forward to seeing your answers.

    Doug-ha ha, too many brain cells…that’s a good one.

    weirsdo-I hope our friendship isn’t going to break up over Hugh Grant and Mel Gibson! No, I haven’t seen Sense and sensibility yet but I’ll try to see it. I need to acquaint myself with more Jane Austen.
    No worries about Lobsterlela…her home is here for her whenever she gets here!

  14. Mailyn says:

    OMG Albinoni! *dies* I could listen to his stuff for hours!!!! [and I have! lol]

    OK, fangirl moment over. 😛

  15. Icy says:

    My jobs are: barking when someone knocks at the door, keeping the master’s chair warm, letting the master warm his hands on the fur on my back, fertilizing the grass.

  16. zydeco fish says:

    Interesting answers. I was a big fan of M*A*S*H too. I never liked Four Weddings and a Funeral, mostly because of Hugh.

  17. Meow says:

    Thanks, Kyahgirl … I’m game, I’ll do the meme (probably not for a day or so, though !!).
    Great answers.
    Hope you have a great weekend.
    Take care, Meow

  18. Monika says:

    You didn´t!

    See …yesterdy night I went over to Terry´s place and saw that YOU tagged here and I started awonderin’ if you would have the guts to tag me AGAIN!
    and now that I come here and what do I see…
    *shakes head*

    ok, I better get started, since you obviously canæt get enough of me 🙂

  19. Kyahgirl says:

    mailyn-you’re the first person I know who said they know/like Albinoni. Something else we have in common!

    Icy-you’re good girl.

    Zydeco-I didn’t dislike him as much then as I do now. He becomes more irritating with time.

    Meow-there’s no rush. I look forward to your answers.

    Monika-apparently I have a large appetite for all things penguin. 🙂 I saw your comment at Terry’s and wondered how long it would take you to see you’ve been tagged too!! gotcha.

  20. Monika says:

    yes you did and I am working on it right now and about to hit publish…you wily little minx!

  21. Trina says:

    Visiting here waaaaaay late. I love spaghetti and meatballs too! And I’ve always wanted to play with one of those “chord boards” – they just look fun! The talking to people who call, not so much.

  22. Pingback: Tagged by the 4×4 Meme

Leave a Reply

