Is this the same boy?

So, every fall we troop off to Walmart or Sears and get a family photo taken. We’ve done this since the kids came along. Then we usually send a copy of the picture with our Christmas cards. This year, we just couldn’t get it together in time. (In fact, we couldn’t even get it together enough to send cards!) For some reason or another, whenever all four of us were free at the same time, someone usually had a serious facial problem (bruises, zits, whatever!)

More often than not, that someone was my son. He is all boy. Here he is with a typical set of ‘issues’. A black eye from playing wildly in the ball pit at the childrens Christmas party, a ding on the forehead and two teeth missing. The front teeth were loose but then when he was playing with Casper he caught a paw in the mouth and one came out. The other was just dangling so he worked up the courage (amid blood and tears) to yank it out himself.

poorcubby.jpg

Here is a picture of the same boy looking quite a bit healthier for his school pictures. As you can see, he hasn’t quite got the knack of giving a smile instead of a grimace for the camera. Grandma Shannon claims he gets that from her!

grantschool.jpg

And just because we’re pretty damn slow with getting the school pictures out to the family, here is Nicole:

nicoleschool.jpg

(I get a lot of flack from my family for being tardy with the pictures. Hopefully this will keep them off my back for a while!)

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Is this the same boy?

  1. quilldancer says:

    Gorgeous kids! Even the banged up boy — at least he’s not sitting in front of the TV all day.

  2. Miz BoheMia says:

    Ha, ha, haaaa! Cute beyond words! Especially the banged up pic! And as for the no teeth, my daughter is headed there! She is 6 and still has lost no teeth although she cannot wait for that rite of passage!

    So you are back! Man have I been out of the loop! Glad to see you back up and running amiga!

  3. Lucyshnoosy says:

    They’re adorable! πŸ™‚

  4. neva says:

    just as i suspected, your kids are as gorgeous as their mom. oh — and how i know that pain of trying to coordinate the pictures with schedules and/or kids’ mishaps. one of the the first “official photo” i had done of my two boys features the youngest sporting a black eye/scraped chin, after landing on the edge of our brick fireplace. ouch. ah well… that’s how they looked, then that’s how we need to remember them, right? (as long as we can *also* snag a few shots when they’re less marked-up by “life” and/or childhood clumsiness, as well!) xoxo

  5. pia says:

    First I’m so glad that your Mom is better, second after reading a few of my fave women in the blogosphere’s comments, I’m left with nothing original too say

    Your children are beautiful. Not original but true.
    xoxo

  6. Kyahgirl says:

    Quilldancer-Since you’re surrounded by cute kids all day you’re probably an expert so I’ll just say ‘thanks!’ πŸ™‚

    Miz B-I’m glad to see you again too. Yeah, the teeth should start coming out any day now.

    Professor Schnoosiepie-thanks !

    neva-I know you understand the banged up issues after raising two boys!

    pia-thanks for coming by and your kind words about my kids and my Mom. Mom is weak but recovering. Unfortunately, I think this illness has been a pretty big setback.

  7. Trina says:

    Too. Darn. Cute. I’m so happy to hear your mom is recovering! I’ll keep thinking good thoughts for you all.

    And tag! There’s a meme for you on my blog :~D

    Love,
    T

  8. tom909 says:

    Happy New Year Sweet Canuck. I gave up xmas cards four years ago and slowly slowly the number I receive is diminishing.
    If you piled up all the xmas cards and envelopes from a single year they would fill the great pyramid 100 times over, not to mention all the oil delivering them – did you also know that 80% of all statistics are made up on the spur of the moment. Save the planet – don’t send cards.

  9. those are lovely photos. where’s Casper?? πŸ™‚

  10. frangelita says:

    They are enchanting. Even bruised and toothless.

  11. Mike says:

    Too cute!! Don’t you just hate tardy flack? Sounds like a stain you need Oxyclean to remove – tardy flack. πŸ™‚

  12. Margaret says:

    glad to see you back. love Margaret

  13. Meow says:

    You have gorgeous children.
    Hope 2007 is treating you well.
    Take care, Meow

  14. Mo'a says:

    Beautiful children. The photo of your son with missing teeth and black eye, brought back so many memories for me…..they always look cute, no matter what…we call that smile “the photo smile” and some in my family have never grown out of it πŸ™‚
    Nicole is a beauty and looks like a real little lady.

  15. zydeco fish says:

    Nice pics. There not as cute as my children, but close πŸ™‚

  16. Urban Chick says:

    cute, oh so cute!


    UC

  17. tsduff says:

    I love those pics – cute kids! Nothing like pictures to warm our hearts… especially when you look back years later πŸ˜€

    Hugs to your Mom – hope she is feeling better today.

  18. Kyahgirl says:

    Trina- thanks for the tag…I’ll get to it soon!
    tom909 – I can’t always count on you for the environmentalist angle. Now I’m glad I skipped the cards!

    schnoodlepooh – thanks. Poor Casper, he’s been slighted again!

    frangelita – Hi Fran, thanks. πŸ™‚

    Al Says – thanks.

    Mike – you really have a way with words Mike. I like that ‘tardy flak’.

    Margaret – thanks Margaret. Its good to see you here ♥

    Meow – thank Meow.

    MoÒ€ℒa – I’m glad it can bring back some memories for you πŸ™‚

    zydeco fish – Your kids? πŸ™‚

    Urban Chick – thanks UC, no cuter than the chiclets though.

    tsduff -thanks Terry and I’ll pass on your hugs to my Mom. She still needs them!

  19. Mailyn says:

    Cute kids! I used to hate school pics cuz they were so generic and blah! They need to spice it up with hats or accessories or something! LOL

  20. G says:

    Kyah, your son is adorable – a toughey too. Ah your daughter is angelic, just beautiful. Thanks for sharing.

  21. Kyahgirl says:

    Mailyn-its kind of a miracle just to get what we do get! but I do wish they’d be able to get them to relax more.

    G-thanks πŸ™‚

  22. shayna says:

    Beautiful children….

  23. Monika says:

    That is quite a face in taht boy of yours, wherever he got it from…it is charming!
    And teh pciture of your beuatiful girl? Angelic. Truly.

    Youa re very blessed indeed!

Leave a Reply

