Still struggling with Book OCD

This is cute. I swiped it from Ames.

Go on….check it out  at the link just below the bar graph 🙂

 

 

What Kind of Reader Are You?

Your Result: Dedicated Reader
Â

You are always trying to find the time to get back to your book. You are convinced that the world would be a much better place if only everyone read more.

Obsessive-Compulsive Bookworm
Â
Literate Good Citizen
Â
Book Snob
Â
Fad Reader
Â
Non-Reader
Â
What Kind of Reader Are You?
Create Your Own Quiz

 

Apparently I’m a ‘dedicated reader’. That would explain the 4-5 books per week I’ve been reading and my protracted absence from my blog.  Just this morning I was  thinking I should start reading my kids’ elementary level french books if I’m ever going to make progress on my goal of  picking up that language again.  I think I’ll work on that one in 2007.   It was in my 2006 goals but so far I’ve not done anything on it.   How about you?? Any other freaks making goals for 2007 yet?   🙂

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Still struggling with Book OCD

  1. Trina says:

    I’m a Dedicated Reader too :~D I just got a pile of civil war non-fiction books from my dad, which is going behind the stack of scifi books I’m working my way through right now. My goals for ’07 mostly involve reading and straightening up the house (yes, I’m working on goals too, fellow freak). What can I say? I live a live of adventure and intrigue!

  2. surly girl says:

    i don’t do goals. i find it’s better to just sort of blunder along and hope for the best. yep. that’s really working out for me. ahem.

    i am giving up smoking (again) after christmas though, and taking up running again.

    ooh! a goal! get me.

  3. Excellent idea. I’m getting started on my 2007 goals right now. And apparently I’m a Literate Good Citizen. Too many books to read – I wish I could read one per day, but I have backyard poop to scoop and two dogs to wash and one to groom today. (I wouldn’t have it any other way, unless I could read in my sleep. That would be cool.)

  4. Doug says:

    My goal for 2007 is 2008.

  5. Margaret says:

    I like dougs goal,it works for me.

  6. al says:

    Ay K! This literate good citizen thought everybody in Canada spoke French…? (Arf arf. Or, is it arfez vous?)

  7. kyahgirl says:

    Trina-adventure and intrigue indeed! ♥

    Surly Girl- look at you go! The good thing about smoking and quitting smoking is that it makes goal setting a no-brainer. At least for me it took so many years to quit I didn’t have to think of any goals for ages. Keep trying-you’ll get it.

    Schnoodlepooh-I don’t know how you manage with three dogs, that takes a lot of time. But they are worth it eh?

    Doug-aim high my friend

    Margaret- you too ! That’s a bit cheesy, borrowing Doug’s goal but I’ll let it go this time 🙂

    Al-no, we do have two official languages but the main areas of French speaking are in Quebec of course, the Maritimes, and Alberta. I can bark in French, le weuf, le weuf!

  8. pia says:

    I’m a dedicated reader. actually I have 20 small shelves filled with non-read or half-read books–blogging and writing, but am obsessing over going to B&N to buy the new Elizabeth George because I’m a total mystery freak—and am convinced that most things I have learned have been from mysteries. That does explain my lack of knowledge….

    No, great mysteries give insight into psychology, industries and many other things

  9. SID says:

    My goal is to stop blogging.

    Will fail miserably.

  10. Anna says:

    Hey Kyah!!!
    I wish I could qualify as a reader, University sucked my desire for reading right out of me. I think I’ll have to add a category “Tainted Reader.”

  11. actonbell says:

    That was an interesting quiz! Thanks for finding it. I came out as a literate good citizen. I wish I had more time!

  12. IDV says:

    Well. I’m a literate good citizen, apparently.

    I don’t think it would have been ‘good’ if it asked how many grimoires I had, though…

    As to 2007, my only goal so far is to bag a man!

  13. Meow says:

    Haven’t done the test, but I’m guessing I’d come up as an obsessive reader !!!
    I haven’t even thought about 2007 goals … I have too any 2006 ones to complete !!

    Have a great week.
    Take care, Meow

  14. Miz BoheMia says:

    Well, the only person who has managed to get me to read a book since having had kids is Neva… yep… before kids I used to have my head buried in books but now? HAH! Going to the bathroom on my own is a MAJOR goal! FO SHO!

  15. Tickersoid says:

    I came out as a ‘non-reader’.
    Fairly accurate as I haven’t bothered to read your comments.

  16. mailyn says:

    I can barely remember French from high school and that sucks a whole lot. I wish I had the time to start up on languages again. 😦

    Go you! 🙂

  17. CindyS says:

    I try not to set goals for a new year because I end up putting to much emphasis on the date. I have a different way of looking at things now. Every day is a new day and can be different from the next. So yeah, some people will say they want to lose so many pounds as in the new year but I would rather start on it right now than wait. In case you can’t tell, I am trying to find all my WW information so I can start watching what I eat now. So far, no luck. Bob and I know we have seen the little black box it was in but we have no clue where we saw it last. Hopefully it made the move!!

    I did the quiz but when I went to put it on my blog it just had black lines instead of showing the differences. I’m a dedicated reader with a bit of an obsessive/compulsive tendency. I also has some red in the non-reader category.

    CindyS

  18. Doug says:

    The good news is I think you’re cured of posting OCD.

  19. Karen says:

    Who has time to read when you’re blogging all the time!?! 🙂

  20. Kyahgirl says:

    Pia-I’m a mystery freak too. Always on the lookout for new mystery writers.

    SID-I hate to say but, yes, I think you will fail miserably on that goal and I’ll be glad!

    Anna-I think that’s a great category-‘tainted reader’ 🙂

    Actonbell-I make time to the detriment of other things. Me bad.

    IDV-good luck with bagging a man. Warlock? Witch? brawny blacksmith?

    Meow-I know about those 2006 goals, they’re hanging over my head right now!

    Miz B-hang in there sweet friend. It gets easier. Once your youngest is about 5 or 6 you’ll see a big difference

    Tickers-I think I knew that about you but like you anyway 🙂

    Cindy-that’s a good approach especially on the weight one. I still like doing yearly and long range goals though…helps me to keep moving in the right direction with my life. Good news on the WW stuff. I’m still going and won’t ever give up!!

    Doug-ya think? yeah. I’m over it. Hey, you’re not being sarcastic are you? *wink*

    Karen-I know, its hard. Blogging can become an obsession too!

  21. Mutha says:

    My results were almost identical to your K-Girl!
    My writing took a bite out of my reading last month — so I am psyched to dive in again (the book pile is starting to spill over).
    Thanks again for all your wonderful encouragement! I am thinking of posting a flash from the story once a week on my blog…so keep visiting!
    0Y! Is it really 3 degrees there today?

  22. neva says:

    seriously, i used to read a heck of a lot more *before* i started blogging. of course, since much of my blogging time is spent reading other blogs, i believe that should really count for something! (sorry i didn’t get over here sooner, my dear friend, we’ve been sick, and i haven’t been very diligent and/or attentive)

    that was fun… altho’ it did remind me about that huge pile of books i need to read. hmmmm. guess i better finish checking out all my buddies’ blogs and start cracking open a few of my books, eh? xoxoxo

  23. weirsdo says:

    I’m only a literate good citizen. Don’t tell my Yale profs.

  24. My toes have turned green.

  25. neva says:

    this has everything to do with evanescence, and nothing to do with crazy pills, right?

  26. neva says:

    what i *meant* to say was, “but does it taste like Tang?” xox

  27. G says:

    No one expects the Spanish Inquisition!

  28. terry says:

    It was a dark and stormy night…

  29. weirsdo says:

    Would someone clue me in about this strange, random commenting of Neva, G, and Indie, e. g.? I am Pansified and do not want to be left out of any Dadaism making the rounds of the cyberworld.

  30. actonbell says:

    Aw, poor weirsdo;)

    –stopping by to wish you good luck in December! (a late rabbitting)

  31. Terry says:

    very late rabbing 😀

  32. ames says:

    Hey sweetie! I’m back-LOL

    I want to relearn French too (my dad’s from Quebec). And to take up drawing again.

  33. mig bardsley says:

    I’m dedicated too but apparently I’m a literate good citizen…this is news to me!

  34. Fred says:

    Lately, I’ve been a non-reader. I read your book reviews to get my reading done. 🙂

  35. kyahgirl says:

    Mutha-I’m so glad you stopped by, even though I seem to be a bit of an absentee landlady these days! Of course I’ll keep track of your story. I’m already emotionally involved with your characters, you did a great job there 🙂

    Neva-I’m sorry you’ve been sick. when you’re sick you can read a book right?

    Weirsdo-your secret is safe with me. If I ever have a chance to meet your Yale profs though I might need to be bribed.

    Indie, Neva, G, Terry-I think you’ve all been drinking too much but you’re welcome to come by anytime, drunk or sober.

    Weirsdo-I missed it completely but they are my friends so I’m willing to let it go.

    Actonbell-thanks! I’ll take a rabbiting anytime.

    Terry-that goes for you too, but apparently you’re dishing out rabbings ha ha 🙂

    ames-welcome back, I hope things are a bit calmer on the home front now.

    Mig-I’m not quite sure what tips the balance on the questionairre-I believe you’re dedicated, honest.

    Fred-is that a hint that you want me to do some book reviews? I could….someday 🙂

  36. G says:

    Well it seems you and Weirsdo have figured us out. Don’t blame us! We just came on orders. Now to get to the point of the matter, I too am a dedicated reader 🙂

  37. sherby57 says:

    I came back as a dedicated reader too, but I can only dream of reading 4-5 books a week (it’s more like 1 sadly). My reading OCD is based more on how I read: http://poursomegravyonme.co.uk/2009/08/26/reading-habits-an-introduction/

  38. hinton1kc says:

    I enjoyed this post. Reading often is great, all types of work. I enjoy all aspects of positive learning, goal setting, and any creative learning. It’s been so helpful to me targeting finishing my work and at least starting a meaningful gift I trust to be observed.

Leave a Reply

