To all my American United States friends….

Happy Thanksgiving

 

I know the images associated with Thanksgiving are usually the turkey and the horn of plenty but I want to just give you all a big hug!

 

people_hugging.jpg

 

I’m grateful for the opportunity to meet so many lovely Americans through the wonders of blogging.  I enjoy all my blogging friends around the world but today, I just want to say how much I appreciate you all south of the 49th.  Many Americans struggle under a bad reputation and misconceptions in some parts of the world.  If we were a world without borders, I’d just say there are good and bad people everywhere and I have found so very many on this continent and I appreciate you all!

 

Enjoy your holiday.

*Update* on the title; It seems that my deep and thoughtful friends aren’t comfortable with  claiming the whole continent (two continents if you want to be picky) for their nationality so I changed the title.

♥ ♥ ♥ ♥ ♥

 

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to To all my American United States friends….

  1. Monika says:

    I am first and we have that statue up in our living room! We gave it to Mom and dad for their wedding anniversary…as a sign for our family!
    Love that thing!

    happy Thanksgiving.

    And there are people in the big wide world that are not blinded by modern assumptions. Many of us do see teh value of America and its people. How could it be otherwise?

  2. pia says:

    American’s have a bad rep?

    I spent high school summers in Mexico, and have spent all the years since struggling to figure out the proper word to call citizens of the USA

    Thanks for your Thanksgiving wishes 🙂

  3. Kyahgirl says:

    Monika-that is cool that we picked the same statue 🙂 I know you appreciate your American friends too.

    Pia-I know, its tough. We all technically are Americans, North American, Central Americans, or South Americans. I don’t know the right answer either. How about ‘neighbour’. (Now I have Mr. Rogers in my head- ‘hey neighbour’)

  4. quilldancer says:

    I am a US citizen and I wonder about calling us Americans — what does that make everyone else on the continent?

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Tickersoid says:

    Hear hear. Not all Americans are Grossly overweight, Christian Fundamentalist, jingoistic, genocidle maniacs.

  6. Maidink says:

    I also have a prob referring to us USers as “Americans”. I often think, “That’s pretty egotistical of us to lay full claim to that title.”

    Anyway *will ponder on that later* …

    Thank you for Thanksgiving wishes (that sounded so redundant). I find myself very thankful, and lucky, for all of my Canuck friends as well as my friends from Europe and the Pac Rim.

  7. Mo'a says:

    Thank you….Since I have adopted the US as my home, I consider myself lucky. I also feel lucky that I can call myself European and the all encompanssing word, A Human Being….which includes us all, we are all one after all. There is no better place than the world wide web that demonstrates that.

  8. kyahgirl says:

    quilly-Idon’t know, Canadians and Mexicans? Maybe we should call you US of Americans? Or United Staters?

    Tickers-thanks for that 🙂

    Maidink-Hope you’re having a great holiday weekend.

    Mo’a-I agree with you on the human being angle. I truly wish we didn’t have borders and could just be one people.

  9. Barngoddess says:

    I love my country (USA) I also love my 2nd country Canada!

  10. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi Barngoddess! I know you do, it shows in your posts 🙂

  11. Romerican says:

    For my nickel, I’d still say “Americans” is a far better description than United… Statians, Statites, Statabions??!

  12. Terry says:

    My resident Icelander refers to us as “Amerikans”… I’m not sure that is a positive thing. Hmmm

  13. mailyn says:

    Thanks for the wishes! I am sooo late and I also agree. In Spanish people from the US are called the equivalent of United Stadians [like we add the ans to Canadians and so on lol]

    Dude were are ya? Miss you!!!

  14. Doug says:

    How about foreign Americans and domestic Americans?

Leave a Reply

