Highway Robbery

Today I got to do one of the really enjoyable parts of my job, for the last time. That is, I went to the annual meeting at the advisory committee I belong to (on behalf of my employer) for the local technical college, NAIT. They keep in close touch with local industry and tailor their programs to meet our needs. After the meeting, they always take us out for lunch in their special restaurant where their chefs are apprenticing. That is a serious incentive. Yum.

Anway, that’s not what that post is about. Across the road from NAIT is a big mall that I never go to because I hate all the traffic and congestion. But, they have a couple of stores that specialize in hockey jerseys. Ron and I were thinking of getting the kids Oiler jersey’s for Christmas this year so I went to check them out. Do you have any idea how much these things cost? I couldn’t believe it

pg01-2339858dt.jpg

This Jersey cost $129! What a scam. I was looking at the fabric and construction and came to the conclusion that you’re paying about $10 for materials and the rest for the trademarked logo. They are all like that. Even the ones for the little kids. I was disgusted.Well, now you know what my kids are not getting for Christmas!

This entry was posted in Adventures in Parenting, More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Highway Robbery

  1. Jenna Howard says:

    Aaaaack! An Oiler’s jersey!!! Aaaah take it away. Take. It. Away!!!

    Everyone needs a jersey of their favorite team, Kyah. Just wait until they stop growing then they can have a jersey.

  2. Kyahgirl says:

    Jenna- Hi buddy, we could get them Flames jerseys but I want them to live to adulthood 🙂

  3. Al says:

    Houston Oilers? 🙂 (Sorry! Sorry… please put that shotgun down…)

    Seriously, it never ceases to amaze me how much money people are willing to spend to wear an advertisement for somebody else’s business.

    If your kids want one, tell ’em to get a job. And, oh yeah, “Merry Christmas!”

  4. pia says:

    I don’t know about football. Except when it ends, and that it is the biggest holiday in the USA after Thanksgiving and Halloween.

    Life’s full of stupid little facts like that

    Would have liked to have heard lunch details as I eat vicariously

  5. Doug says:

    But MOMIEEEEEEE!!! ALL THE OTHER KIDS HAVE THEM!!!!!

    That’s why they’re C$129/US$4.99.

  6. Miz BoheMia says:

    You should give eBay a try! You never know what you might find!

    Ooooh!

  7. Mo'a says:

    You could also go into Yahoo shopping….they are cheeper here in the States…..poor little guys need their Oilers shirt. $129.00 *shakes head* Good luck on the web 🙂

  8. mireille says:

    kind of reminds you of perfume, doesn’t it? $100 for the value of the source materials, the other $800 for the name. xoxo

  9. Good grief. I had no idea that hockey jerseys cost that much. Ouch.

  10. Mike says:

    Well, at least, lunch was fun. Your right, that jersey IS a rip-off …. it’s nice to hear you say so, too! I guess I’m getting a fruit cake, huh? ;P

  11. Sal Banana says:

    I can get you Naked Gymnastics for Jesus T-shirts for the whole family for half that price.

  12. actonbell says:

    I shopped for Penn State football jerseys a few years back, and can tell you that they are ridiculously priced, too! I agree, it’s highway robbery. But, it’s “what the market can bear,” which tells us a lot about our culture.

  13. actonbell says:

    {{g}}} hugs for your previous post, too.

  14. actonbell says:

    omg, omg, that was an early sign. PLEASE forgive me. I meant to hug {{kyah}} I haven’t gotten much sleep recently!

  15. Monika says:

    I don´t know how much money that is in Icleandic Kronurs, but if you are disgusted than I am right behind you!
    I know that in Europe the money they make you pay for an authentic soccer shirt is immense.
    which is sad, since young kids like to support tehir teams and parents can´t possibly be asked to be that sorta money.

  16. grannyp says:

    It’s called consumerism… big deal I think to teach kids not to be conned by it…but hard. Glad you’re out of the depression – don’t know about the PMMD bit – if that’s what it’s called. But Black Dog I know well. Not mice. Fellow feelings in order.

  17. Mailyn says:

    It’s always like that. Anything that’s brand name you pay an arm and a leg for. I mean, half of the time it’s the same material is the non-brand stuff. But it’s the brand that makes it expensive. 🙂

  18. Kyahgirl says:

    Oh my, sorry I haven’t checked in for a while. Look at all these comments!

    Al-that’s a good suggestion about the job but we have child labour laws here you know 🙂 But, I get your point.

    Pia-lunch was a fancy seafood appetizer, roast chicken with fancy vegetables and creme brule.

    Doug-you’re delusional but I don’t expect a beagle to keep up on the exchange rate. You got the whining down pat though, that’s the argument we hear on lots of things. My reponse to that usually elicits the ‘you’re a mean mom’ comment.

    Miz b-that’s a thought. We’ve decided against these jerseys but Ebay is a good idea for other stuff.

    Mo’a-same idea as for Miz B! I’ve never tried yahoo shopping 🙂

    Mireille-yeah, its the same idea. Hey, wait a minute, are you saying my CC#1 is all hype ?

    Schnoodlepooh-you and me both!

  19. Kyahgirl says:

    Mike-fruit cake? How about a lump of coal…kidding 🙂

    Sal- I would love a NG4J t-shirt! Now, THAT would be worth some coin.

    Actonbell-three times! hugs back 🙂 and thanks for the support and don’t worry about calling me g, I know a person can forget which blog they’re on!!
    And yes, the prices people are willing to pay for these things say a lot about our culture!

    Minka-that’s about 89 euros or 115 american dollars. Lots of money. Luckily my kids don’t watch a lot of TV so haven’t got the same passion to have ‘stuff’ that a lot of other little kids have.

    Grannyp-thanks for the kind words. I have really appreciated you ladies! (and the few brave guys who weighed in on that topic)

    Mailyn-you’re right. Don’t see it as much with books though eh?

  20. Meow says:

    It’s just ridiculous, isn’t it. All the licenced products over here cost an arm and a leg … but all the kids (apparently) have them, so what do you do !!! $129 of your dollars would be around $200 of ours … gosh, that IS ridiculous !!
    Good luck with your Christmas shopping.
    Take care, Meow

  21. Mike says:

    Bwahahahhaahah! You know, I actually did get a lump of coal in my stocking one Christmas. …. which probably came from our coal bin in the basement and one of my siblings. Take care. 😉

  22. Barngoddess says:

    Wow!! thats a lot of $$.

    I bought my son’s OU jersey online from Hibbets Sports. But, its a US college fball jersey.

  23. Kyahgirl says:

    Meow-I didn’t realize the difference in our currencies!

    Mike- that’s funny. Family eh? Can’t live with ’em, can’t kill ’em.

    Barngoddess-I think the football paraphanalia is prettty expensive too. They can wait til they’re finished growing.

Leave a Reply

