The Return of the Laundry Fairy

elfe03.gifIts that time of year again, my Mom has come to visit for a few weeks.  She is fondly known as the ‘Laundry Fairy’ by myself and my sisters because she likes to do our laundry when she visits. My husband also calls her the ‘Queen of Buns’ because she no slouch in the bun making department either.  We always enjoy the smell of baking bread when my Mom is with us. 

 

Mom is pretty tired though so I had to conveniently forget to get the flour and the bread making machine out all weekend and force her to sit and read her book.  When Mom is too tired to go to church on Sunday and needs a nap, just from the exertion of having a bath, I know its time for drastic measures. The reason she started coming to visit us every October after that first time, when Grant was a baby, was she discovered that we are the most boring restful people on the planet and she could really recharge her batteries when visiting us.

So, we’ll try to make her read and sleep and then sleep some more, then we’ll take her down to Calgary to visit my brother Neal next weekend.    We’re planning to take the kids to the Calgary Zoo while we’re there so maybe I’ll have something interesting to post about next Sunday. 

 

In the meantime, I have to tell you something weather related. I still smile to myself when I remember my blogging buddy Fred’s reaction to hearing that  a person living here has to put their winter windshield wiper fluid in, you know, the blue one.  The pink one is for summer, and is particulary good at dissolving bug guts but not so good for ice.  Fred was amazed to learn this because being one of those lovely sheltered Florida natives, it just never occurred to him how the rest of us people with more seasons get along. 

Anyway, Fred, you’ll be amazed to discover that for the second year in  a row, I forgot to change my windshield wiper fluid. Today, it was cold and snowy and as I drove along thinking about the possibility of ice on my windshield, I thought of you 🙂

 

Have a great week everyone.

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to The Return of the Laundry Fairy

  1. ames says:

    We had our first snowfall last week. Thankfully, it didn’t stick. I want a little bit more autumn, thank you very much. 😛 Hope your mom has a nice visit.

  2. The Phoenix says:

    Queen of Buns???? Hahahahaha. Maybe you should have your hubby come up with a more appropriate nickname for your mother!

  3. Kellycat says:

    I wish I had family that I could go to visit who were restful…

    I can’t believe that you have snow already. East Anglia is currently benefiting from global warming – it’s still about 18C here and the leaves have barely started to turn. We’ve had the hottest September and October since records began. Obviously it will absolutely piss it down come December…

  4. FirstNations says:

    HEYYOUHEYYOUHEYYOU!
    Wow! I had to backread! Are you back in business, girlie? God I hope so. I missed you!
    You know, the job thing feels like the right move at the right time, Kyah. good on ya.
    as for the weather? bleah, fugeddaboudit! rainy wet slop. so much for the trees turning here; the leaves are just kind of….dripping.
    take care of gramma and treasure those buns!
    that came out wrong.

  5. nath says:

    Wait, wait, wait… there’s 2 wiper fluid? I always use the blue one ^^; actually, I didn’t even know that pink existed. ah well, I guess we learn something new everyday.

    I’m pretty amazed that Ames got snow already. Over here in Montreal, it’s gotten cold/chilly… but youppi, no snow yet.

    Hope your mom have fun visiting you 😀

  6. Joel says:

    Very nice that your Mom can come to your place to rest…our house tends to have the opposite effect on people. Have a great week yourself…snow already…yikes!

  7. pia says:

    Love boring people who sit around. Tend to be more interesting.

    Love how you wrote about your Mom’s discovering the time to visit–but again boring is appealing

    So is bread but I only eat very complex carb bread–was going somewhere with this…..

  8. Kyahgirl says:

    ames-I saw that on your blog last week and knew it was just a matter of time before we got the snow too!

    Phoenix-I think he likes being the Royal Consort to a Princess of Buns 🙂 My Mom had so many kids before me that I don’t think I’ll ever make it to the throne.

    Kellycat-you can always come here for a rest!! I’ve heard about your warm weather. Enjoy it while you can.

    FN-well, I’m still doing my weekly post thing. I don’t think I’ll go back to more frequently. This is working for me. As to the weather, I actually don’t envy you. Not fond of the rain!

    Nath-hi and Welome 🙂 I dont think I’ve seen you here before. Maybe Montreal doesn’t have the bug problems that we do (enough to warrant the pink wiper fluid). I know you sure as heck have the ice and snow!

    Joel-I can’t imagine why you would say your house isnt’ restful 🙂 Actually, I can. That Neva.

    Pia-don’t worry about going somewhere, I’m catching on to your stream of consciousness thing 🙂

  9. Fred says:

    Can the Laundry Fairy make her way home via Tampa? My daughters need some inspiration.

    I hope you guys have a great time together.

  10. g says:

    Well now that you mention it, I thought all windshield wiper fluid was blue! How unobservant am I! Did you have to call your mother “Queen of the Buns” when you knew some of us fresh “northeastern” girls would be by? Haha. Something else in common – my mother heads straight for the laundry during any extended visits. She’s particularly fond of ironing. They don’t make em like that anymore.

    Thanks for riding the D Train with me, it’s very helpful for me in putting things in perspective.

    xox G

  11. Vicus Scurra says:

    So, you treat your mother as kitchen maid, and put your kids in the zoo.
    Not exactly as I imagined Canadian family life.
    Isn’t the internet a wonderful educator?

  12. neva says:

    Yoiks! don’t blame me for the abundant chaos around here… 3 dogs will do that in anyone’s house!

    actually, i wish my mom was more of a Laundry Fairy, herself. instead, she craves outings… to the mall, to restaurants, to look at other people’s houses… yeesh. trust me, it’s exhausting. and, since she lives in California, she figures she should make her trip worth the effort to fly across the country, which means she stays no less than 2 weeks. that said, last time she visited she had the flu, which meant she spent a lot of time looking at inside of our guest room.

    hope your mom has a wonderful visit… and a *restful* one, as well! as for Fred and the windshield wiper fluid? heh, i forgot such things are unheard of in Florida! not so in Connecticut, however. (in other words, thanks for the reminder, if it’s snowing where you are, it’s bound to find its way here in soon!)

    lovelovelove it when you post, dear friend! xoxox

  13. Romerican says:

    Color-coded windsheild wiper fluid? Sheesh.

    I’m not sure I’ve ever seen pink; pretty much everyone just uses blue. I had no idea there were different kinds and I’ve lived both north and south.

    And if I have seen pink, it must have been only once and I figured it was just a brand differentiator, because I surely don’t remember ever having seen it.

  14. Mailyn says:

    I live in Florida as well and I hate it here. I like the cold weather. Loved it when I went to TO!!!!

  15. IDV says:

    * whispers so as not to disturb the Laundry Fairy’s sleep *

    Have a good week too – have fun at the zoo!

  16. Margaret says:

    our Mom loves that ironing thing too! It doesn’t rub off on her children I only iron when sewing something new!

    Oh! just remembered it rubbed off on the oldest sister, I spend a lovely afternoon in the basebment chating and watching her iron!

    Out here on the wet west north coast it’s been dry ,so dry ,I haven’t had to put on my rain coat yet and it’s the middle of October!

  17. Karen says:

    even hubby didn’t know what pink windshield wiper fluid was for. said he thought it was just another color, i.e., maybe a pink over blue preference so we both learned something new today! we just leave the blue in year round. 🙂

  18. Fred says:

    I think it’s a sign. Time to move to Florida. Other than hurricanes, high home insurance costs, and property taxes that are outrageous, it’s a lovely place to live.

    I’ll keep the guest bedroom ready just in case. 🙂

  19. kyahgirl says:

    Fred-she will be happy to swing by in November 🙂

    g-you are very cheeky but that’s part of your charm. How do you think I like telling people I’m descended from the Queen of Buns? So embarrassing.
    I’m glad you wrote about the D Train g. I will ride it with you as long as you like!

    Vicus-I’m happy to further your education. I’ve learned a lot from you too…trust me!

    Hi Neva-hope you don’t mind a little ribbing. My mom is pretty easy to have around and hopefully one day yours will be too. Maybe you could just drop a few hints about the laundry fairy thing and try to bring out her competitive streak!

    Romerican-well, maybe none of you ‘blue only’ folks have bugs?

    Mailyn-hi and welcome! That’s unusual for a southern person to say they like the cold. Come on up and visit 🙂

    IDV-thanks for whispering. You’re always so considerate.

    Margaret-your right, it didn’t rub off on me. I’d rather clean toilets than do ironing! Glad you got to visit with Mary.

    Karen-I’m baffled by this, truly. so glad you could learn this key info about the pink stuff 🙂 blogging is truly grand!

  20. jan says:

    Can I borrow your mother? I have lots of laundry and hungry, boring people?

  21. Kyahgirl says:

    Jan-she’s sitting right here…wait…I just asked her. She says its sounds like a perfect gig for her 🙂

  22. weirsdo says:

    Sigh . . . wish we had one of those fairies. But being descended from Puritans we do not believe in rest or boredom.
    I also thought wiper fluid was blue. And the only way I ever got ice off the windshield (back when I had to) was with a scraper.

  23. Meow says:

    Oooh, hope you have a wonderful time with your mum, and that she gets lots of rest.
    I didn’t know that wiper fluid comes in different colors, and for different uses. I guess that’s because it doesn’t snow here (makes sense !!).
    Hope you don’t get any more snow for awhile … it’s not Winter for another month and a half !!
    Take care, Meow

  24. Monika says:

    hey, that is lovely about having your mom around. My sister and I just love seeing ours sittign on teh ocuch knitting. It is all we need to make us feel happy!

    window wiper fluids, yeah baby! I have to re-check mine. Minus 5 this morning!

  25. poolagirl says:

    Hi! For some reason, my journal has linked to you for several of my entries now. Just stopping by to say hi.

Leave a Reply

