Shipwreck! *updated* and *updated* one more time!

shipwreck_480.jpg

Claude Joseph Vernet, The Shipwreck, 1772, National Gallery of Art, Washington, Patrons’ Permanent Fund and Chester Dale Fund 2000.22.1

Isn’t that a gorgeous painting??

I have this ‘stormy sea’ thing going on in my life right now so won’t be posting for a bit. Don’t worry,a good storm is very invigorating.

*Update* Some of you know that my daughter has been ill, off and on, for some time.  The lung doc has never been completely sure its just asthma.  This week she was being tested for Cystic fibrosis because the doc thinks she has far too many incidents of pneumonia in the last two years and she wanted to rule out CF as a possible cause.   Happily, the results came in yesterday and does not have that disease.  On another happy note, since the mycoplasma pneumonia was discovered and treated in June/July, she is much improved and, in fact, has suddenly grown a whole bunch and none of her pants fit her anymore!  You see, the sun really is breaking through the storm clouds 🙂

 

September 19th update: I am  a guest blogger at Courting Destiny today.  If you want to read about my perfume shopping trip to NYC last year, by all means, drop in!

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Shipwreck! *updated* and *updated* one more time!

  1. IDV says:

    Yay! First! That’s twice in a row – I made to Tazzy & Piggy’s first just now, too.

    That really is a beautiful picture. I hope you manage to ride through your own storm.

  2. G says:

    And the calm after it, worth it. May you return on calmer waters. By the way, I can’t help but feel like the student turning in her paper a day late (my Book Meme is up 🙂 Take good care ~ G

    That painting is amazing.

  3. cj says:

    Sending you good thoughts.
    I think the best part of the picture is the second ship in the horizon. 🙂 Glad these guys get some help!

  4. Arabella says:

    Don’t forget to keep the FedEx parcels.

  5. FirstNations says:

    wait!
    wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait wait !!
    you just got back, and I just got back, and , oh CRAP!!
    listen girl, i miss your voice. on the other hand, i understand the stormy seas, too. you have my best wishes, darlin’.
    remember…there are a lot of people out her all over the world who really like you and what you have to say.

  6. kyahgirl says:

    IDV-yay! you’re first 🙂

    G-I’ll go check your blog. Thanks for doing that….love reading the book lists.

    cj-thanks and I also feel it is a hopeful picture….the sun is even coming out 🙂

    Arabella- good point! I even have a soccer ball I can talk to if I get desperate! (you really made me laugh with your comment)

    FN-thank you…that is so nice to hear. don’t worry…my voice will be heard again but right now the crashing waves are making too much racket.

  7. Mike says:

    We’ll have to do something about that picture. How about a Sunday
    Afternoon on the Isle of La Grande Jatte
    ? You take care.

  8. Fred says:

    Just make sure you have a life vest handy. Take care – see you soon.

  9. Ariel says:

    I get worried when I hear ‘don’t worry’. hope you and your fellow sailers can save the boat…

  10. kyahgirl says:

    Hi Mike-thanks for the idyllic scene. I’d have to be guy in that one though…can’t imagine being at the beach, covered from head to toe, wearing a corset, long dress, and hat….I guess I’m not a fine lady 🙂

    Fred-thanks, no one has been lost at sea yet 🙂

    Ariel-no problem. there is another boat coming to the rescue in the picture 🙂

  11. Monika says:

    You keep facing those waves, babe and I´ll be right behind you with a safety-ring in case you need it. penguins make good swimmers 😉
    Good luck!

  12. Doug says:

    Um, yeah it’s a beautiful painting. Remember, you’re the Queen of the world!

  13. jan says:

    I love this picture. It hasn’t rained here (no cal) since sometime in April. This makes me feel refreshed if in a violent way.

  14. Miz BoheMia says:

    Wow! It definitely is quite beautiful! And if it is a good storm then YAY to that! So come back soon and dish I tell you! DISH! 😉

  15. mig bardsley says:

    Lovely picture, lovely imagery. But seriously I hope it all works out for you.
    You just keep sailing Kyah. Hope safe shores are waiting for you soon.
    I’ll miss you but will keep checking up in case you’re back.

  16. neva says:

    i’ve said it before, and i’ll say it again… just knowing you’re here in *some* capacity is good enough for me (for now). i know your life is a bit unsettled right now… and i’m glad you’re doing what you need to do to take care of YOURSELF, first and foremost (no one else will do it for you).

    find your center, my dear friend, and allow the storm to pass. i know it will in good time, and i believe with *all* my heart that those waters will yeild smooth and beautiful sailing conditions before you have a chance to say “what the heck did i do with my galoshes?”!

    “When you come to the end of your rope, tie a knot and hang on.” ~Franklin D. Roosevelt

    hang in there, lovely Laura, and know i send you loving wishes in hopes your life will soon be balanced and, above all else, filled with joy. ♥

  17. g says:

    What made me come back and read this good news? I don’t know, but I’m glad that I did. So happy to hear that about your daughter, not easy as a mom waiting for such results, but what joy when you get them. Continued good health to your little sweet girl and hope you all benefit from your break.

    By the way, Tali and I both listened to the story this morning at WA, and both of us loved it! Nice inspiration! Funny, funny, funny! Take good care.

    xox G

  18. neva says:

    i don’t know what made me check back, either… but what a wonderful surprise! i know you’re beside yourself with relief and joy, and i couldn’t be happier for your whole family. see? those clouds parted sooner than expected… and the sunshine is already streaming back down on you!

    i’ll continue to keep you & your family in my thoughts and prayers… in hopes things KEEP getting better and better and better….

    p.s. Doug’s story was just wonderful! i loved it when i first read it, and thought it even more hysterical after listening to his reading. you make a *fabulous* muse, Laura!! xoxo

  19. Barngoddess says:

    beautiful painting. I am happy to hear about your daughter feeling and doing better. ((hugs))

    I hope you weather your storm and come out of it renewed.

  20. Doug says:

    Glad to hear the good news. Gosh, what you were dealing with, though. I’m really glad you get to let go of that now.

  21. kyahgirl says:

    Monika, Doug, Jan, Miz B, Neva, G, Mig, Barngoddess- I really am blessed with many loving and supportive friends. Thank you for your support, I appreciate that fact that you’re all keeping an eye out for me!! ♥ ♥ ♥

  22. Trina says:

    I am SO incredibly happy for that good news! I admit my heart caught in my throat when you mentioned that she was tested for CF. Here’s hoping for smooth sailing for your DD in the future!

  23. weirsdo says:

    I’m so glad. I hope she stays healthy. That is a beautiful painting. Love the light.
    If you get a chance to visit, we did finally answer your cannon question on “Ask Weirsdo” this evening.

  24. frangelita says:

    Glad Nicole is doing better. Hope the stormclouds are clearing and the sun is coming out.

  25. grannyp says:

    Encountering storms myself I hadn’t checked in lately. Glad yours is passing. They do. But aren’t the ones round your kids always the WORST…

  26. Urban Chick says:

    woo! soooooooooooo pleased about nicole’s news

    the chicklets do regular raindances in our summer house (no idea why – it was their daddy’s idea!) so maybe they helped in clearing some of the storm clouds away 🙂


    UC

  27. actonbell says:

    That is a gorgeous picture. And I hope your storm is clearing!

  28. pia says:

    Have to thank you again. Yesterday I slowly passed–everything was slow–a number of perfume shops and looked at them differently, or through your eyes

    And the next time you come to New York–I know my way to the airports 🙂

    Can’t wait

  29. Ariel says:

    I’m so glad to hear the good news! your girlie had better take a big breathe and falls to this table of icecream, coconut pie, marzipan cake and other stuff I brought to help her growing. well, I think I need to grow some, too. and you can join, too. 🙂

  30. shayna says:

    I’m glad to hear that your daughter is doing better!

    Take care and wishing you cheer through the storm!

  31. weirsdo says:

    I read your piece and left you a comment. How do you perfumista’s clear your noses between fragrances? Do you inhale coffee aroma or something?

  32. weirsdo says:

    Shame on me. I want to apologize for that apostrophe in my plural. It’s been a long day, and the spirit of Pansi must have visited.

  33. kyahgirl says:

    trina, weirsdo, frangelita, grannyp, UC, actonbell, pia,Ariel and Shayna- thanks for all the warm wishes. You guys are a great cheering section.

    weirsdo-about your perfume question; I will answer it in a post.
    And you’re not allowed to apologize for typos around here. makes me look bad! 🙂

  34. mahgwet says:

    wow, that *is* a beautiful picture! funny how something as traumatic as a shipwreck could be attractive, isn’t it? there’s a message there, I guess.

    I always forget to check in on your blog and, for that, I apologize. sounds like you’ve been having a tough time of it, but glad to hear your little one doesn’t have CF.

    I’ll try to check in more often; miss you, sweetie!

  35. IDV says:

    I’m glad to hear your daughter’s in the clear. And growing too! Blue skies all around.

  36. Ariel says:

    have you touched land already???

Leave a Reply

