Book Meme

 I haven’t been tagged with a Meme for ages but recently my Welsh blogging buddy Tickersoid tagged me with this book meme.

1. One book you have read more than once.

I haven’t read  most of my fiction more than once except for the tales of Narnia.  Some of my self help and dog training books have become a bit dog eared through re-reading and reference.   My copy of Covey’s ‘Seven Habits of Highly Effective People’ is one I refer to when I’m in need of a ‘tune up’. 

2. One book you would want on a desert island.

*whines*  Can’t I have my computer on a desert island?  I have a hard time thinking of just one book.  This is tough.  If you could count the Lord of the Rings trilogy as one book, I’d take that. I’ve been meaning to re-read it.

(Actually, now that I’ve really thought about these questions, I’d probably bring the book I mention in #9).

3. One book that made you laugh.

A lot of books have made me laugh.  I have one vivid memory of reading a book when I was a teenager and I was laughing so much that my brother came to my room to investigate. Maybe he thought I’d gone off the deep end.  The book was  “The Summer of ’42” . I should re-read it to see if I still find it so funny!

4. One book that made you cry.

Oh man, lots of books have made me cry. Almost any story that portrays injustice certainly makes me cry.  Just recently the kids were watching ‘Black Beauty’ and I remembered reading that book when I was younger. I cried for days. When they were watching the movie a while ago, I couldn’t sit with them.   The way that humankind treats animalkind is one sensitive area for me.

5.  One book I wish I had written.

I honestly have never had the desire to write a book. I don’t recall ever finishing a book and thinking ‘I wish I had written that’.

6.  One book you wish had never been written.

Again, I can’t think of one.  I haven’t purposely read any hateful literature.  Sometimes I don’t like the content of a book or completey disagree with what is in between the covers, but I don’t think ‘that should never have been written’.  Censorship is another sensitive area for me.  I think people should read widely on any and all topics and make decisions/judgements about the value based on their ethics and morals.  I get really mad when I see the books that some people want banned from schools because they might have a bit of foul language or sexual content, even if the message is outstanding.

7.  One book I am currently reading.

I never seem to have just one book on the go. Now I’m reading The Lincoln Lawyer, by Michael Connolly, and Memories of God, by Roberta Bondi.

8.  One book I have meant to read.

A Million Little Pieces, by James Frey. A girlfriend lent it to me last winter and  I’ve started it a couple of times but not finished.

9.   One book that changed your life.

Another tough question.  A lot of books have touched me. Did one change my life?  Maybe one.

I can think of one book that made me truly understand about choice, and the fact that, no matter what, you have a choice and, ultimately, control over your thoughts and feelings. That book is “Man’s Search for Meaning”, by Victor Frankl.  Its a book I’d recommend to everyone.  Here is a synopsis/review that might tweak your interest.

10. Tagging:

I’m tempted to NOT tag anyone because I won’t have time to check up on blogs for a few days. However, there are a few blogging friends who I’d like to hear the answers for these questions from.  (What a bad sentence that was!! See why I don’t want to write a book?) 

Some of you may have done this but I’m tagging Logo, Mireille, Monika, G, and Puppytoes.  I’d like to tag Doug too but I don’t know if you’ll do a meme! Pretty please? If anyone else who reads this want to answer the questions on their blog…by all means do it. Let me know and I’ll pop by to read it.

 

In other news,  I won’t be around to visit my regular blogs as much as usual but please don’t think I’ve forgotten about you.   Things are really hectic in both my home and work lives.   The next couple of months are going to be very trying. This announcement made last week, will have a huge impact on me, my coworkers,  and even my community. 

 

p.s.  Dog Tales are finally finished!

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Book Meme

  1. Doug says:

    Pretty please? That’s kind of cute.

    I met Roberta Bondi a couple of times when I was at Emory. Memories of God is my favorite of her books. That’s just how theology should be done.

  2. Tickersoid says:

    I think I cried at Black Beauty but I watched the film. If you don’t like animal cruelty don’t come to South Wales. Known for it it is. I was in a pub talking to a stranger and he said, “I was setting fire to my rabbits ears, like you do when you’re a kid….”

  3. neva says:

    first off… the Lord of the Rings Trilogy absolutely counts as “one” book, so i say go for it, it’s the *perfect* desert island read!

    and i can see i’ve got some reading to do, myself. (to add to the 5 books i’m currently plowing through at the moment)

    what i lovelovelove MOST about this meme is that it provides another window into the very wonderful, sensitive, beautiful, and intelligent woman that is YOU! thanks for sharing, my friend… and for the *tag*! honestly, this is one Meme i’d actually like to do! xox

  4. actonbell says:

    You did a good job with a particularly tough meme!

  5. MJ says:

    Thanks for the meme-ories.

    I was just about to pick up “A Million Little Pieces” when all the controversy broke so I lost interest in it.

  6. Mom says:

    Read your blog about booksI think I have four on the go at this time you to have no problem but keep forgettng the theme and have to keep going back some habis are Hard to break Margaret and I are off to Rossland tomorrow I’m supposd to be in bed Hope to catch the 9 ferry Hope the smoke from the fires don’t make us detour love Mom

  7. Monika says:

    I hope in all your hectic scedule you will still have a bit of time to relax and breathe.
    It si a beautiful fall we are having 🙂
    So I am tagged…which means I am it?
    ok…I´d liek to do this one 🙂

  8. It’s always interesting to me to see what other people are reading, especially favorites. I never knew about Narnia, until recently when someone loaned us the BBC videos. I loved LOTR and I agree completely about the censorship. In high school I sought out and read the books that were frequently banned. However, the world might be a better place if there were no Anne Coulter books. (If you’d have asked me 27 years ago, in high school, I would have said I wish Billy Budd had never been written).

  9. Doug says:

    I just read the press release. Companies sure have gotten good at doing pig’s makeup, haven’t they? You must appreciate the perfume, especially.

  10. Mike says:

    Hey, you hang in there. Your book comments were really interesting. 😉

  11. neva says:

    alrighty then… i’ve done your bidding! and i thank you very kindly for the tag, this was one of the less painful memes, in all honesty…what with it being about books, and all!

    hope you’re having a beautiful day… oh, and CONGRATULATIONS on getting that Dawg to open up like that! you’re quite the charmer, lovely Kyahgirl… but you knew that ; ) xoxox

  12. g says:

    Hey Kyah – very interesting. I always like to read what people are reading, then I add it to my neverending list and then…But now I’ve also been tagged! Thank you and I shall do my best to get this going and do this meme justice 🙂 Will let you know when it’s up. I’ll read that link regarding your workplace momentarily.

  13. Kyahgirl says:

    Doug-but is ‘pretty please’ cute enough to entice you to do the meme?
    And Roberta Bondi? How special is that? 🙂

    Tickers-that is really awful about the rabbit ears…such casual cruelty is just sickening.

    Neva-you say the nicest things. Thanks for playing!
    xo

    actonbell-thanks! that means a lot coming from a book lover like you.

    MJ-meme-ories 🙂 cute!

    Mom-nice to see you and I hope your trip is safe. Enjoy Golden City Days!

    Monika-I’m so glad you’re playing the meme game with me.

    Indie-I’m glad you dropped by. I forgot about Anne Coulter…I haven’t read anything of hers except a few online documents. That was enough. Yuck.

    Doug-you have a way with words – yes, perfume is a bit of beauty in my world.

    Mike-thanks for coming by. 🙂

    Neve-Yay! Can’t wait to check it out.

    g-you’re funny. Thanks buddy. xoxo

  14. Alex says:

    Look a web site devoted to the book you are reading (The Lincoln Lawyer): TheLincolnLawyer.com

  15. surly girl says:

    i really liked a million tiny pieces – controversy or not, it’s a powerful piece of writing..

    as for that press release..bloody hell, L. hope things don’t get too tough round your way..

    xx

  16. Barngoddess says:

    Be sure to stop and relax for yourself during these busy, hectic days. I enjoyed the meme. I did the same one a few weeks back, really got me thinking!

    Bad deal about Dow in your area. I know too well the impact of a closing factory or business that employs a lot of people from an area.

    You and your neighbors will be in my thoughts….

  17. Arabella says:

    Someone in a suit presses a button and our lives change….good luck with all the changes at work – it must be a worrying time for so many people.

  18. jan says:

    Thanks for some ideas on late summer reading. Looking forward to what comes next from you.

  19. Frangelita says:

    Hello! Just thought I’d pop by to say hi. Nice books.

  20. Kyahgirl says:

    thanks Alex

    SG-I appreciate the referral for the book…maybe i”ll make an effort to start it. I’ll keep you posted on the other.

    Barngoddess-thanks,you are very kind!

    Arabella-you have got it right. Many people are worried but they will know within 6 weeks who will stay and who will go.

    Jan-anytime!

    Fran-nice to see you again. 🙂

  21. Romerican says:

    I read the Narnia series twice in my youth and have very fond memories of it. I was pleased to see the recent movie do a good job honoring the book.

    In Romania, they’ve now got translations of the Narnia Chronicles and I’ve been buying them, one by one, for the younger sister of someone special. She loves reading them and is overjoyed to get the next.

    Great books.

    I’ve re-read a couple others. The Bible. 1984. Atlas Shrugged. Brave New World. The Ego and Its Own.

    Seven Habits of Highly Effective People was a masterpiece of repackaging. Steven Covey profitted immensely from restating the original ideas of Aristotle which were written centuries ago. But, if you can get away with it…. good for you.

    Desert island, eh? Such a bizarre way of forcing people to reveal their favorite book. Personally, I find it funny how many so-called religious people don’t claim the Bible, Torah, Koran, whatever as the one book they’d most like to have. As for me? I’d rather have blank pages to write on.

    I don’t really remember the specific name of something so funny that it burns in my memory. Several novels read during my college studies evoked laughter, but I don’t remember which they were. (Maybe Catch-22? Possibly one.)

    Cry… hmmph. I think I was a depressed 13 year old when I read Flowers for Algernon… I might have dropped a tear once for that.

    There are dozens of books, poems, song lyrics which instantly grab me and I silently exclaim, “I wish I had written that!” because it’s so beautiful.

    There are moments when I think religious “holy” books should never have been written because of all the lies they contain that ruin peoples lives and cause wars. But I’m pro-liberty and have to admit even these disasterpieces should exist. (And, yeah, maybe less 1% of the readers do good with the book, which is great. But most people only want to think [wrongfully so] that they’re better because of those books.)

    I am currently reading The Great Railway Bazaar by Paul Theroux, based on the unanimous rave reviews it has received for years. Personally, I find it overwhelming so far and hope it manages to get better before I abandon it.

    I bought, kept and eventually sold (before moving to Romania) the giantic tome that is Human Action by Ludwig von Mises. I’d like to re-purchase and read that some day.

    As for life changing, that’s hard to extrapolate conjecture about… probably some of the books I’ve mentioned in this comment, but not all. I know I’ve been refined by the works of several different philosophers from Mill to Rousseau to Nietzsche to Sarte to Camus to Plato to…. even the Marquis de Sade, whose works ought be read by anyone open minded.

  22. H.A. Page says:

    Substitute blog for book and you’ve got another good meme…

  23. kyahgirl says:

    Romerican-nice to see you here again. Those are some interesting ideas you’ve shared and I think I need to read a few more philosophers.
    Also, I remember parts of Catch 22 being very funny too, even though its kind of a dark story.
    Your point about the ‘holy’ books is one I have considered in the past. I have a good friend who is an Ismaili Muslim and I often ask him to help me understand the public, baffling behaviour of so many Muslims. He explains a lot about the Koran to me and, like the Bible, so much is open to interpretatation. The Ismailis, who’s spiritual leader is the Aga Khan, tend to have the humanitarian, tolerant interpretation whereas so many sects seem to lean towards violence and intolerance…Its interesting.
    Unfortunately, the weeds and ruts on the path to divinity seem to be all due to mankind.

    Hi Motherpie – you are right about the Blog suggestion 🙂

  24. Miz BoheMia says:

    You know, though I barely read books nowadays, I am constantly reading! Blogs should count, don’t you think? Dios mio!

    Narnia!!! I LOVED those as a kid! Now, not one to have reread any books, I would sure love to give those a try again!

  25. Meow says:

    I’m a huge reader, but I think I would find it tough answering those questions … too hard.
    HOpe you have a great weekend.
    Take care, Meow

  26. pia says:

    Began Frey’s book before the scandal–my best friend insisted that I read it. Couldn’t. Found it strange, and not truthful we had big fights over that

    Then we had big fights over Oprah–she loved her, I thought that Oprah was personally upset that somebody scammed her, not the rest of the world.

    Though Oprah and I share a fave book “A tree grows in Brooklyn” Am so politically incorrect I felt compelled to put that in

  27. funny thing says:

    I need some goats, urgently. Anyone know where I can get some?

  28. kyahgirl says:

    Miz B, Blogs count as reading material, and I”m always happy to see you at my blog!! ♥

    meow-I would love to see your answers to these questions.

    Pia-luckily I’m not a TV watcher so missed/ignored all the uproar over Oprah and James Frey. i probably will read the book now just because the scientist in me always wants to collect her own data!

    funny thing-you are not going to get my goat, no matter how urgently you need it !!

  29. MotherPie says:

    Just wanted you to know you’re on my blogroll!

    MotherPie’s Blogroll and Blog Friends

    Cheers

  30. Fred says:

    Books. Aren’t they the things that collect dust in my office?

  31. mig bardsley says:

    That press release sounds like a bummer. HOpe you and yours manage to ride through it somehow.
    Loved the book list….I think LOTR is definitely one book!
    Good luck with whatever happens on the Dow front.

  32. Katie says:

    Oh dear, I hope you and your family weather through everything all right. That’s got to be scary just thinking about it.

    All those books! I cried at Black Beauty back when I read it, too. It’s been forever though since I’ve read it. Animal books do that to me. Have you ever read Beautiful Joe? That one made me cry too. The all time biggest tear jerker book for me is Heidi. Sometimes I just reread it when I’m in need of a good cry. Whenever I get to the part where Heidi is hoarding the white biscuits in her trunk to save for her grandfather I end up just sobbing. Not crying, but heaving big sobs. It kills me! Every time!

    I’ve not heard of the two books you’re currently reading, thanks for the rec’s 🙂

  33. kyahgirl says:

    Motherpie-thanks! that’s nice.

    Fred-shame on you…and you being a teacher and all…tsk, tsk.

    Mig-thanks for the concern and I’m glad another person thinks LOTR is one book!

    Katie-hi. thanks. On the tear jerkers….yeah, sometimes they are just great when you need to clear the sinuses too eh? 🙂

  34. Monika says:

    5th of September, ey?
    Would you say it´s been a week?
    Just teasing you a bit!

  35. lori78 says:

    great blog!

    Most of you’re answers were the same as mine (lol!) I love LOTR too…

Leave a Reply

