Even more Birthday greetings.

I never realized before I started blogging, how many July and August born people I know.  Yesterday was the birthday of both my mother in law, Helen, and our friends’ son Dallas.

Today, I have two more very special birthdays to celebrate. First, my kids ‘adopted Grandma’.  I don’t really know if we adopted Glen and Linda or if they adopted us but we’re family now.  Ron was friends with their son Rick since the two of them were in kindergarten. They were friends through all their growing up years. I think Ron became like another son to them.  When he and I got married, it never occurred to us that we wouldn’t invite them to our wedding. And, as our family grew, they took such a loving interest in our children, that we just kind of knit them into our lives as honorary grandparents.     Glen and Linda are an important part of our lives.   

Happy Birthday Linda!

 

Next, I’d like to wish a very Happy Birthday to my dear friend Barbara. I mentioned Barbara in my post about the letter B. We’ve been friends since we were 10 and I know we’ll still be friends when we’re little old ladies.   Barbara lives on the west coast  but distance doesn’t matter. She is always here with me.

Happy Birthday Barbara!

 

I didn’t really get a post done this week but I did finish one of the dog stories on the side bar.  You can read about Cato over there if you wish.  Maybe I’ll get Torin’s story done later this week.

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Even more Birthday greetings.

  1. Brian says:

    Afternoon,

    Happy birthday to everyone. That’s a lot of gifts to purchase.

    Hope you had fun celebrating

  2. Doug says:

    Well, happy birthday to Linda and Barbara and happy find-a-new-post-from-Kyahgirl day to me.

  3. Fred says:

    Add me to the list, too. August is a great month. Happy Birthday to everyone!

  4. Kyahgirl says:

    Brian-that’s a lotta birthdays…I never thought about the present angle…luckily we have a good birthday budget 🙂

    Doug-thanks on their behalf and for the nice compliment. Looks like we’re all winning….you’re spreading a lot of joy for a curmudgeon. You’d better watch out…you’re about to blow your cover buddy.

    Fred? you too? Holy cow- Happy Birthday 🙂

  5. Monika says:

    Distance never matters! But you have to be really close to each other to know that!
    I have honourary grandparents as well, hell…I have honourary parents and siblings. I got myself a whole honourary of everything 🙂
    Honourary is soemthign you chose for yourself and don’t just get stuck with, it is a lovely phenomenon.

  6. pia says:

    Wow, Doug comments on my blog, did you really have to post again?

    Happy birthday to everybody

  7. Mike says:

    Whoa, you’re back! I’m glad. Happy Birthday to everyone! That sounds like Tiny Tim in “The Christmas Carol” – “God bless us everyone.” 🙂

  8. neva says:

    so while TLP was doing her Happy UnBirthday thing (except for today because it’s DDD’s B-day) you’re off celebrating birthday after birthday after birthday! i think it’s lovely, and lovely of you to remember these clearly wonderful people in this clearly wonderful way!

    not only are your beautiful, dear Laura, you are so sweet and thoughtful (i never expected anything less!) i wish all happiness and joy to those you love on their Birthdays, for i know they’ve brought great joy into your life! xox

  9. Margaret says:

    I am so glad your back.
    I remeber the musem at Drumheller and head smashed in we visited both when out visiting family in alberta when conan was young.
    I don’t remember the trip with you and David, where we were going,If D is 14 I would be 24 and working allready?
    Thanks for the Birthday wishes. I have another one to add Debbie’s is on the 10th of August.love to you

  10. Ickle_bro says:

    Funny Things Bday had just been too! Mine is coming and my nephew’s is coming too.

    I see what you mean about this time of the year!

  11. I love birthdays. Other peoples, that is. I’ve never been to celebrate my own.

  12. IDV says:

    Happy Birthday to all!

  13. actonbell says:

    Happy birthdays all around! ’tis a glorious time for a birthday.

  14. mig bardsley says:

    My peak birthday time is Christmas to mid Feb. I think there are six! I have to get their presents while I’m christams shopping or they wouldn’t get anything because I’m completely shopped out by Christmas!

  15. ap3 says:

    Happy Birthday, Linda and Barbara!

    And of course, my sister dddragon had a birthday on August 29.

  16. Kyahgirl says:

    Monika-I think you’re on the right track with adopting everyone…its great fun. I’ve always been fond of penguins….would you like another adopted relative ?

    Pia-thanks for the good wishes

    Mike-I hear you 🙂 Christmas Carol is a favorite story.

    Neva- *blush* you are very kind. thanks 🙂

    Margaret-I knew you had long left home when this picture was taken. Maybe you came along to help Mom between jobs? I don’t really remember.

    Ickl_bro- well happy birthday in advance and I’ll have to go see what imp did for funny thing!

    T&P-I seem to recall quite a bit of celebrating over both your birthdays! 🙂

    IDV-thanks 🙂

    actonbell-thanks, of course, being one of the summer babies you might be a bit biased eh?

    Mig-I know what you mean about shopping. I hate it!

    Ap3-thanks. your family is full of summer celebrations 🙂

  17. Miz BoheMia says:

    Oooh! Happy, happy to all indeed! And may you be having happy, happy, relaxing days my dear amiga! Besos!

  18. Tom & Icy says:

    We had a stupid thought: If we celebrate our birth into this world, after we die, do we celebrate our death day into the next world? I don’t like to think about it.

  19. weirsdo says:

    Happy birthday to all, and especially to all the honorary relatives out there. My kids have an honorary aunt, and my godmother was the closest thing I had to a grandma.

  20. Kyahgirl says:

    Miz B-thanks for coming by and spreading your funkified bohemian love 🙂

    Tom and icy-that is a deep question…. Thanks for coming by to baffle my brain

    weirso-thanks. 🙂

  21. The Phoenix says:

    Birthday’s are great. If you have one, it means you’re still alive.

    And that’s something to celebrate!

  22. ap3 says:

    Here’s another celebration for you:

    Rabbit, rabbit! Woo hoo! Lagomania!

  23. Mo'a says:

    July and August are big Birthday months for us also and now we add a Wedding Aniversary 🙂 funny how this happens in families. Happy Birthday to your friends and family.

  24. funny thing says:

    Hello KG.

    Imp took me to Amsterdam, where I was very well behaved indeed.
    Ickle Bro will be 21 in a couple of weeks and I suspect he may need a couple of weeks recovery time after that.
    He’s still uncomfortably short, though.

    I think the proliferation of birthdays in the summer has something to do with long, cold nights in the winter 😉

  25. FirstNations says:

    hey you-
    got an august 28 and 30 right under my nose. i am surrounded by listmaking, perfectionistic, head in the clouds virgos. good thing they have THE BULL to keep ’em in line, dammit.

    lepus lepus haec!

  26. Karen says:

    Happy Birthdays to Everyone! 🙂

  27. Mom says:

    Nice to have you back on the blogs I alway find the comments so interesting . The trip was in 71 Margaert was on holidays and came with us taking Sister Angela back to Edmonton . went home showing you the praries It was hot all you wanted to was get bace yor the mountians Love Mom

  28. Tickersoid says:

    Happy birthday everyone.

  29. g says:

    Hi Mom! and Hi Kyah – Just got back from a mini-blogcation. Happy Birthday all around! And everyone should have such friends as a Barbara in their life. Hope all is well with you. G

  30. jan says:

    Welcome back. Love your dog stories (what a surprise, hm?) :>)

  31. Birthdays are so much fun. Our favorite holidays! You get to celebrate your life – what is better than that?!

Leave a Reply

