What I did on my Blog Vacation…

Hi everyone, thanks for all the warm wishes in the post below. I had a good blog vacation and, despite the fact that I’ve been working as well as playing, I had three weeks of actual vacation since the last time I posted.

Before I say anything, I just have to acknowledge a couple of important birthdays. First, I forgot to wish my sister Margaret a happy birthday on July 30th. I hope it was great Margaret! Today, is the big day for my brother David. David lurks around this blog but doesn’t comment and Margaret faithfully reads and often drops a comment in.

Just to torture David on his special day, I thought I’d share a cute photo. Two weeks ago when we were in Drumheller, we stopped at the ‘Littlest Church’ and took a picture.

littlechurch2006.jpg

It just so happens that I also have a picture of Dear David in front of that little church from when we were kids.

littlechurch.jpg

What’s interesting that Margaret is in that photo too. I get to abuse two siblings at once. I think I’m about 11 in that photo and David is 14. In fact,it was taken right around his birthday. Cool togs David!! (Don’t ask what I’m wearing on my head).

♣ ♣ ♣ ♣

Since I’m on the topic of Drumheller, I’ll continue. For those who haven’t heard of this area, it’s where there is a huge deposit of dinosaur bones and has been the subjet of study by scientists for well over a hundred years. The Royal Tyrell Museum is fantastic. I would enjoy a chance to go back and read more of the information that was displayed. They have a lot of standing, complete, dinosaur skeletons as well as a lot of interesting information about the history of earth, starting from when there was nothing here but ocean. The highlight of Drumheller for me was the visit to Reptile World. Its the largest private collection of living reptiles in Canada and, even though I hate snakes, I enjoyed learning about a lof of the species that they have. Unfortunately, many reptiles are endangered due to exploitation by the pet trade, loss of habitat, and sheer ignorance. The most beautiful snake I saw was the Brazilian Rainbow Boa. The Cottonmouth and Mamba just plain scared the crap out of me and I’ll say I’ll keep my cold weather and long winter if I never have to deal with those babies!

There were rare frogs, skinks, and more snakes. They also had three alligators that had been confiscated by Canada customs in 1999 when some idiots travellers tried to smuggle them in from Egypt in their suitcases.

♣ ♣ ♣ ♣

Montana!

We went to Billings to visit a friend of Ron’s from school. Along the way we really enjoyed the changing terrain horseshoecanyon.jpg

as well as a long visit to the site of Custer’s last stand,

and the Montana State fair.

rollercoaster.jpg

The coolest thing I saw at the fair was a first for all of us…we saw a young woman get blown out of a cannon mounted on an chevy…right across the pond into a net.

cannonlady.jpg

On the way back to home we stayed near Fort McLeod and visited in ‘Head Smashed in Buffalo Jump‘, a historical site that neither Ron nor I had seen, despite living in Alberta for many years. Its has an excellent museum and is a Unesco World Heritage site.

Still, we all felt sorry for the Buffalo!

Here are the children with the ‘jump’ in the background.

buffalojump.jpg

When we got back it was so nice to go pick up Casper. He had stayed with my friend Diane while we were gone.

♣ ♣ ♣ ♣

Other things since July:

I met this lady,

Anna kid.jpg

Mistress Anna, for a coffee in Edmonton. Its great fun to meet blogging buddies.

And, of course, we had a little party for Master Grant:

gbday.jpg

My time is up so I’ll say goodbye for now and try to get around to catch up on everyone’s blogs! Have a good week.

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to What I did on my Blog Vacation…

  1. Bronwen says:

    Nice to see you back! Glad you had a fun vacation.

  2. FelineFrisky says:

    Sounds like you enjoyed yourself, good for you. So many of us waste vacations on household tasks and yard work. Blah!What fab pics! Great looking kids, too. I am so very pleased for you, you actually sound refreshed! D

  3. Brian says:

    Welcome back indeed! I love to see pics of places from the past, it lends an air of *history* to those times we all had when young. A sense of connection to the past and through to the future in the faces of the next generation.

  4. Kyahgirl says:

    Hey Bronwen-thanks 🙂

    Hi Feline Frisky-I’m so glad you’ve started your own blog while I’ve been away.

    Hi Brian-thanks. I really enjoy the connection to the past too.

  5. Monika says:

    I am so glad you are back and I believe this to be the first photo I have seen of those two georgeous kids of yours. You are a very lucky lady!
    But why oh why a link to a picture of a snake? And even more: why oh why did I have to click on it?
    Scary stuff!
    It seems that you got a lot doen in the last three weeks and I hope there will be more stories along the way…

  6. Urban Chick says:

    woo! you’re back, finally!

    btw i’ve b*ggered up my yahoo messenger ID, i think, so i might need to rejoin somehow

    will email you at work tomorrow (your home email got bounced back to me??)


    UC

  7. shayna says:

    Reads like you had a very relaxing and fun-filled good time… glad to see you back… 🙂

  8. Karen says:

    you’re back… yeayeayea!!

    love the photos!!

  9. Welcome back! Your vacation sounds fun! I LOVE the tiny church in the two photos – those kinds of things are priceless! Good job. I bet Casper was very happy to see you come home.

  10. ap3 says:

    Hey, you’re back! Glad you had a good blogging vacation, and a good vacation in general. Looks like fun, anyway! The tiny church is very cute.

  11. Maidink says:

    Hey, you’re back! Glad to see you’re in one piece and had a grand time and all that.

  12. Doug says:

    Glad you’re back. Sounds like a great trip. Really neat that you got to meet Mistress Anna. Next stop, Jenna?

  13. SID says:

    Welcome back.You were missed.I had my own blogger meet experience with the Gruesome Twosome.

    Read it.

  14. IDV says:

    Wow! You must’ve been busy having fun! It’s great to see the two pics of the littlest church, see how things have changed.

    Surely there must be easier, and less life threatening ways to get airbourne than being shot out of a cannon? I would say try a broom, but on second thoughts… 😉

  15. Romerican says:

    LOVE the canon shot…. really great!

  16. Kyahgirl says:

    Monika! You didn’t like the snake? 🙂 sorry buddy, I thought it was pretty (but behind a thick glass!)

    UC-thanks, I sent you all my email addresses.

    Shayna-yes, it was good. Now I’ll try to get back to you on your music questions 🙂

    karen-thanks!

    Schnoodlepooh-yes, Casper was ecstatic but I think he was torn…Auntie Diane runs a nice doggy hotel!

    AP3-yeah, its a cute church, apparently it was actually used, years and years ago. weird.

    maidink-thanks….I see you moved your website too while I was gone…you can’t escape me 🙂

    Doug-thanks. Mistress Anna was fun. Jenna might be a bit more tricky due to the distance but I’m sure it will happen eventually. She can’t elude me 🙂

    SID-Hi, I loved your stories of the fateful day…sounds fun.

    IDV-of course a broom would seem so logical to you! I should have mentioned it to her 🙂

    Romerican-hi, nice to see you. yeah, the cannon was very cool.

  17. g says:

    Oooh I love it – a pictorial (check out my place, I managed something 🙂 Looks like you had a nice vacation – ah what are summers for I ask. So nice to have you back though.

    Say, call it coincidence, but Mrs. Weirsdo was on vacation during this time. Are you sure that wasn’t her being shot out of the cannon? Maybe you should ax Pansi.

  18. g says:

    Again, nice pictures, but what exactly is that on your head?

  19. cj says:

    I am glad that you had a great vacation! 🙂 The pictures are great!! I adore the pictures both past and present of the kids and the little church, that is just so neat! Drumheller is fun – I was there long long ago and there is a picture of me infront of a dinasaur in some park floating around. 🙂 Anyway, welcome back!!!

  20. weirsdo says:

    From Egypt, huh? Wouldn’t those be crocodiles? I just SAW that Buffalo jump–on my in-laws’ DVD of their vacation up there and through the Canadian Rockies. They had pictures of the museum, too. Cool stuff, as are dinosaurs. We have cotton mouths and water moccasins, but they are very shy and usually don’t bother us. The closest call I had was walking around the pond about 9 on a sunny morning and surprising one who was sunbathing.
    Happy birthday to all, and your vacation was way cooler than ours in every sense.

  21. MJ says:

    Welcome back!

  22. surly girl says:

    you came back! yay!

    and….’head smashed in buffalo jump’?? that’s some catchy markerting by your tourist board there…

    oh, and next year? come to the uk for your holidays. i promise we won’t go to pleasureless hills….

  23. Arabella says:

    Glad you had such a good holiday.

  24. ariel says:

    thank you for the pics and the report!!! I could hardly wait for your first after vacation post!

  25. H.A. Page says:

    Glad you are back from your blogation! Looks like you had a grand time!!!

  26. garfer says:

    Three weeks malingering!

    This sort of thing wouldn’t be tolerated in the US. They only get two and feel guilty if they take one.

    I’m with the Italians. Do very little with style and complain when the Chinese start copying your furniture.

    Welcome back you lazy arse.

  27. actonbell says:

    Welcome back! And you had an interesting time. Great pictures–I’m impressed by how small that church is, and that you saw someone shot out of a canon. I didn’t know that stunt was ever done for-real. And I’d like to see Reptile World:)

  28. jan says:

    Great pictures. I haven’t had my vacation yet so I got to pretend I went with you. Glad you’re back and blogging.

  29. Kyahgirl says:

    g- thanks for the suggestion… I WILL ax Pansi.

    g- again 🙂 that thing on my head is a hideous scarf with little silver dollar size, multicoloured lace circle sewn on. Stick with me..I’m a fashion plate!

    cj-that is so cool that you’ve been up here too.

    Mrs. Weirsdo-Your holiday sounded good too 🙂 And on the crocodile/alligator thing…you might be right…I can’t keep them straigh in my head. I think alligators are only in the Florida area so yeah, maybe they were crocs.

    Hi MJ – thanks 🙂

    Surly girl-your description of Pleasureless Hills will guarantee no one bothers you in Suffolk. Except maybe me 🙂

    arabella-comparing vacations, yours looked good too, except the big bugs

    ariel-thanks, you’re my greatest supporter! ♥

    Motherpie- hi and thanks

    garfer-you’re right on all counts, thanks for telling it like it is. But I’m not the one taking off to a Greek island for a month this coming fall!!

    actonbell-the cannon thing was really cool and yes, I was surprised how much I learned and enjoyed at Reptile world.

    Jan-thanks. hopefully you will get a vacation soon!

  30. The Phoenix says:

    Oh man! I NEED to go to the Littlest Church. How cool is that?

  31. Miz BoheMia says:

    Oh my what adventures you have had! I am glad to see that you lived it up girlfriend! As for that canon woman? Wild! I wonder if I would have the balls (or ovaries I SAY!) to do that!

    Hmmmm…

  32. frangelita says:

    Welcome back! We missed you.

  33. tom909 says:

    Nice to see you back Kyah. Got your comment about the diesel you used, but hey, you needed a break and it sounds like it was lovely.

  34. pia says:

    Really glad that you are back!!!!

    We were just getting to know each other, and now we can….

  35. neva says:

    here i was yipping at ya ‘cuz i thought you needed to do another post just a couple of days ago… and what do i do? i miss it by no fewer than TWO days when it *does* go up!! mea culpa.

    i’m so sorry… still, clearly you haven’t been lacking from company! what a great post, and a fabulous way to re-enter the blogosphere!! (you *are* back, right?)

    your pictures and stories of your travels are wonderful, just like you! and to have had the chance to visit Mistress Anna? BONUS!! i’m soooooo happy to know you had such a terrific and meaningful time on the trip, and i would never ask what you were wearing on your head in that cute picture, because i’m sure you had your reasons for putting it there in the first place!

    welcome back, lovely Laura! in case you can’t tell, you were sorely missed! xox

  36. Mo'a says:

    Hello!!!!nice to see you back here….although I did not miss you very much…..I was on a blog vacation myself for most of your blog vacation…..scared you for a moment….sorry ;>
    You children are so cute…..no wonder look at their Mum.
    I am just now starting to catch up…..so much to read so much to do.

  37. Mo'a says:

    P.S. What snake?

  38. mig bardsley says:

    Yay1 you’re back.
    It all looks quite fabulous. I’m glad you had a good time.
    So what were you wearing on your head outside the tiniest (very cute) church?

  39. Barngoddess says:

    wow! great pictures 🙂 I am glad you had a nice time. I fascinated w/ dinosaurs as a kid and still like them as an adult, how cool to go to the Royal Tyrell. We killed a copperhead at the end of our driveway. Mean, nasty-tempered snakes they are AND deadly! I didnt have time to take a pic, we were leaving for our dinner date 😦 hopefully no more deadly snakes until next summer for me………

  40. Jamie Dawn says:

    Welcome back from your break!
    The lady flying out of the canon – what a photo! Weeeee!
    Your kids are so adorable.

  41. kyahgirl says:

    Phoenix-its just a cute little church but its on the road to the Dinosaur museum…you don’t want to miss that!!

    Miz B-you definitely have the ovaries. I’d love to see that.

    Fran-thanks, I missed you too.

    Hi Tom-thanks. 🙂

    Pia-yes, I look forward to that.

    Neva-don’t feel guilty, I like to see you here anytime. The answer about the headgear is in my reply to g above 🙂

    MO’a-its so nice to see you after so long. I missed you too. There should be a picture of a lovely Boa under that link.

    Hi Mig-I was wearing an atrocious scarf which I LOVED at the time.

    Barngoddess-you killed a copperhead? yikes. Hopefully there are no more snakes in your future!

    JamieDawn-thanks. Yes, it was cool. She flew a long way too, probably a couple hundred feet. fun!

  42. Terry says:

    Wow! I didn’t know you were back! I’ve missed your blog – glad you had a great vacation. Reptile world sounds like a winner – I like snakes and frogs and lizards (thanks for your comment at my place :-D). You have a sweet family. The little chapel reminds me of one I visited in Iceland. Small and quaint.

  43. Dyna Girl says:

    Seat me at that kids’ table! Sweeeeeeeeet!

  44. steve says:

    You have got a great looking family…

    Thanks for visiting my blog. You’ll see what I was talking about on pia’s blog when you see my latest story.

  45. christine says:

    Phew you’re back. Thank goodness.

    And so glad you had fun!

  46. FirstNations says:

    hey, i thought the littlest church was in oregon! in selwood! in fact one of my high school chums was married there..
    no wait. its here in lynden…on badger road.
    wait…its on highway 9, going up towards snoqualmie pass, right before Gold Bar…

    my brain hurts.

    glad to see you back girleeeeeeee!
    XOOOOfn

  47. Cowgirl says:

    Hey!!! Aren’t blogging vacations grand? Lovely pics.

  48. Fred says:

    Welcome back!! What a great vacation and great pictures to go along with them. Can I go with you next year?

  49. Jenna Howard says:

    Isn’t Anna awesome??!! Oooh have I got stories to share (evil grin)

    I love the voodoos in Drumheller. I think I’ve been to the reptile museum…once. It was enough. :::shudder::: I was down at Head Smashed In Buffalo Jump a few years ago. I went with a pain in the ass who asked “Why is it called head smashed in?” over and over and I looked at him: “You keep talking, you’re going to find out.” 🙂

    glad you had such an awesome vacation. There are so many cool places in Alberta to see. And how have I missed seeing the Littlest Church in all my journeys to Drumheller? Darn. I guess I need to take a road trip!

  50. M says:

    Hey KayaGirl

    So glad that you are back on your blog. Looks like you had a great vacation. The photos are terrific. I just got back from Derbyshire – fabulous scenery, great walks, and most of all good times catching up with old friends.

    Bye for now.

    M

  51. logoâ„¢ says:

    Glad you had fun and enjoyed your vacation time,
    we missed you, ya know!
    Happy Birthday as applicable and
    Holy mother of a Hindu cow, never wear anything like that on your head again, I beg of you!

  52. Meow says:

    Welcome back.
    Your photos are great.
    It’s wonderful that you had a nice vacation. Isn’t it hard to get back to reality afterward, though.
    Have a great week.
    Take care, Meow

  53. Kyahgirl says:

    Terry-thanks for the link. I like your little church. Iceland looks like parts of Alberta.

    Dyna-welcome!! You would have loved it at that table, sweet kids and junk food 🙂

    Steve-thanks, and welcome to my blog.

    Christine-yay, now we can get on with our perfume discussion!

    FN-its confusing eh? Everyone has a little church, this one seats 6 people.

    Cowgirl-hey, long time no see. nice to have you here buddy.

    Fred-of course-as long as you can fit in between the car seats in the back of seat of the truck. 🙂

    Jenna-interesting province we live in eh? That church is past the turn off the museum I think.

    M-welcome back to Canada. I’m glad it went well. I know I won’t see you before you take off again but let me know when you’re back from Rome ok?

    Logo-I solemnly promise. A careless relative blew it out the car window years ago so it is ancient history now. Funny thing is that I hate wearing anything on my head now

    Meow-hi again. Thanks. And yes, I wish I could be on a permanent walk about!

  54. I added your site to my bookmarks. I’ve got this growing list I’ll actually be coming back to. 🙂 Yeah, other than the ones we all ignore. For now though I have to go back to work. No rest for the weary!

  55. …….-[url=http://hometown.aol.com/xyi888/britany-spears1.htm]britany spears[/url]

Leave a Reply

