3 bags full….

Spent the better part of this today washing, drying and shaving one hot poodle!

I always think of that nursery rhyme about the sheep and bags of wool…casperwool.jpg It would make a nice warm sweater I bet!

Yesterday I took the kids to the Canada Day parade. We always have an interesting assortment of participants in our parade, from the Edmonton pipe band to the Greyhound rescue club to the Red Hat Club. In fact, I think the ladies of the Red Hat club had one of the nicest floats, a great big rig decked out in purple and red.

We had Ray Whitney and Mike Commodore, a couple of local guys who won the Stanley Cup this year, horses, dogs, minature ponies, multiple fire trucks and the best part…most parade entrants were throwing candy to the kids. I wonder if they’d be as enthusiastic if there were no treats!

In the afternoon we went to Mike and Kim’s wedding. Mike and Kim started dating in grade 8 and had a couple of goes before breaking up for good then marrying other people. After 20 years, they are back together. The wedding was really nice and took place at the little ski hill on the side of the river in Edmonton. They were attended by their two best friends and Kim’s 5 children from her first marriage. In the picture below Kim caught me about to take a picture so gave me a big grin. Mike looks verrrry serious!

kimmike.jpg

**************

5 questions…..5 answers

My sis Logo has been doing this question/answer meme. I don’t know what possessed me but I asked for 5 questions so now I’m honour bound to answer them. Of course, she didn’t give me anything easy. She’s read most of my blog so picked some really doozies. Here we go!

1. What is the best chemical geek joke you know?

This is not as easy as it sounds. First, I never remember jokes. Second, ‘chemical geek’ is a rare category.

(For those of you who don’t know, my education is in chemistry and I work as a spectroscopist/analytical resource leader for a big chemical company. That’s where this question comes from).

Like I said, I don’t remember jokes typically. I laugh then they evaporate from my brain. However, some months ago, I followed a link on my friend Katie’s blog. If you haven’t visited her, you should, she’s always funny. Her link was to Brandon’s blog and the post is all about chemical hazard signs and what they ‘could’ mean. I found it freaking hilarious. You may not.

http://www.onechildleftbehind.com/2006/03/ready_114231466575220030.html

2. How do you think Harper is doing so far?

Better than I expected. The conservatives are not as conservative as they used to be and the balance of seats in the house I think necessitates more agreement creation and cooperation in government than it would if there was a sweeping majority of any one party. I’m glad to see the New Democratic Party (NDP) has gained some momentum over the last few years.

3. How is that Brazilian working for ya so far?

That Brazilian is working just fine-you should try it.

4. I, as did you, experienced post-partum depression.

Was there a specific time, perhaps a moment of joy, in which you said to yourself,

“Aaaah, this is me! I remember me, I like me!”

or was it more like a gradual rebalancing?

There was no ‘moment of joy’. I don’t know if you read the series of post I did called ‘The Dark Days of May’ but it talks a bit about the journey. I still suffer extreme PMS and continue with the antidepressant medication to help with that. I feel more like myself now than I did from about 2000-2003 but not 100%.

5. You have mentioned handbag contents a couple times on your blog,

got anything interesting in there at the moment?

Way more crap than the last time I talked about it! Contents now include a book, a pile more receipts, gum, 5 tubes of lipstick, a requisition for a mamogram, ibuprofen, ozonal, keys to the trailer, and papers from the school in addition to all the stuff pictured here.

**************************************
To all my American friends, A very happy Independence day to you today-Jul 4th
♥ ♥

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to 3 bags full….

  1. Barbara says:

    You’re right…”one child left behind” is really really funny. That guys cracks me up!

  2. Meow says:

    Hope the poodle is one cool doggy now. Must be a lot of work to groom the puppy !!
    Hope you have a great week.
    Take care, Meow

  3. Three bags??? OMG! I usually only fill one bag when Baxter gets his haircut. Wow. I bet Casper feels a lot better now. Baxter and Bailey are both due for haircuts pretty soon. They love to be short haired, especially in the summer.

  4. neva says:

    oooh. you put me to shame! i can no longer deal with grooming our dogs, so i take ’em out for their “haircuts” every few weeks or so. i *did* cut our cat’s hair really short, which pissed him off to no end, as evidenced by the amount of scratches all over my hands and arms!

    and, you did the exact same thing at the wedding you attended that i did! since the one we went to was for the daughter of our close friends…i took a bunch of pictures, and plan to have prints made (to tide mom & dad over until the “official” pictures get back)

    interesting 5 questions/answers! *not* unlike you, i might add…but what else can one expect from one as brilliant and beautful as you are!

    i’m glad you had a nice Canada Day… it sounds much more eventful than the 4th of July we’ll be celebrating around here! hope you get to start using that new Mac, laura…and i especially hope you have a beautiful week! xoxo

  5. Kyahgirl says:

    hey Barbara πŸ™‚ glad you liked it.

    meow-thanks, Casper is much more comfortable. Its consistently been around 30C so extra coat is defnitely not good.

    schnoodlepooh-yeah, its amazing how much comes off!

    Neva-nothing to feel bad about…I just got in the habit of grooming my dogs when I had the Belgians and usually its a good time for some bonding πŸ™‚

  6. weirsdo says:

    I liked the whole post and thought the signs were funny, but was really struck by your friends marrying each other after so many years and detours. I wonder how many people believe their early loves were the best? For me it’s definitely been a learning curve, and I would never go back!

  7. Minka says:

    Yeah…logo is not one to ask easz questions and I am gla dto announce I always carry ibuprofen as well, but only two lip sticks/chops/gloss or whatever they call them nowadays!

  8. karma says:

    wow, what did you do with all that poodle fur! sure your dog looks tres chic now :))

  9. frangelita says:

    That fluff looks very nice.

    What’s ozonal?

  10. Mrs Aginoth says:

    That is a lot of fur – you could buy yourself a spindle & start up a whole new craze of poodle sweaters:-) Or stuff cushions/pillows/mattresses & save yourself a fortune:-)

    It looks like it was a nice wedding.

    Sorry I’ve not been commenting so much recently – very very busy, but i am still here:-)

  11. Brian says:

    Afternoon, well morning out there. Did Mike have any kids before, that may explain the “look”. Diane *tries* to get by with something smaller than a duffle bag. Why does anyone need a large double digit amount of purses?
    Or shoes for that matter. Our holiday is tomorrow, as if you needed a reminder.:)

    Thanks for the e-mails, comments will be back.

  12. Whinger says:

    Quite an eventful weekend — poodle-fancying AND a wedding!

  13. Barngoddess says:

    Weeee Canada Day! When I was a kid, my dad who spent half his life in Ontario always took us to the Canada Day festivities in the Soo. Then we’d come back to MI for the 4th. I was a lucky kid.

  14. Vina says:

    you had a brazilian?

    yeooooooooooooooooowtch

    i only had to watch my friend having her legs waxed to know that SELF-INFLICTED PAIN was not for me

    πŸ˜‰

  15. Kyahgirl says:

    hi weirsdo-I can’t imagine going back either but these two seem destined to be together!

    minka-I don’t ordinarily use all those lipsticks, they just kind of accumulate in my purse, along with pens and reciepts!

    karma-just put it in the garbage. I’m sure some birds would have liked it but they are all finished nest building now.

    fran-Ozonol is a cream for cuts, scrapes and burns and it promotes healing.

    Hi Mrs A! its great to see you again πŸ˜‰

    Hi Brian-nope, Mike didn’t have kids before. Its a big job taking on 5 kids but they are a nice family.
    Have a great Independence day!

    barngoddess- you ARE lucky, seems that got the best of both worlds!

    vina-I just know you’re tougher than that πŸ™‚

  16. mig bardsley says:

    I’m so impressed with all that fur. Hair? lovely curly stuff. I should think he feels much better now πŸ™‚

  17. Anna says:

    Brazillian. Whoooo that takes guts. Ouch.

  18. FirstNations says:

    oh, nice cool woofie! you are a good mom.
    had a friend who used to spin their dogs’ fur and knit dog yarn hats. yes, they smelled like dog when they got wet. very warm, though. stinky, but warm.
    the chemical site cracked me up!

  19. PANSI says:

    The Brazillian reely enhantses perple buttux!!!!

  20. Jamie Dawn says:

    Don’t you just LOVE those Red Hat ladies? They seem to pop up everywhere these days. I think they look so wonderful.
    The parade sounds like it was a fun celebration of the holiday.

    That is so neat about your friends reuniting and getting married after 20 years… and FIVE kids. WOW! I wish them well!!

    Tomorrow we celebrate Independence Day! My son has the fireworks all planned out. It will be fun.

  21. Squaregirl says:

    wow! That Logo asks some seriously intense questions! Thanks Kyahgirl for sharing…it’s not always easy I know.

  22. Miz BoheMia says:

    Wow! Seems everyone has had a wedding to attend! We went to my cousin’s Vedic one on Sunday and come September they are gonna have another one where it is recommended you be creative with your dress so yeah, I am already fantasizing about that! Talk fashion to me and I am all yours! *sigh* πŸ˜‰

    Loved the questions about you and knowing exactly what it is you do! Fascinating for sure!

  23. Jenna Howard says:

    I feel very sad…no weddings to attend. This year. At all!!

    Oh my gawd those signs were hilarious!!!

  24. Kyahgirl says:

    Mig-hi! I think its hair, god, I don’t know, whatever, its got to be shaved. welcome back!

    Anna-not so bad, really πŸ™‚

    FN-I try to be a good dog mom, sometimes its a challenge. The shaving isnt so bad but we both hate doing the nails and plucking the hair from the ear canals!
    I’ve heard of that weaving too, seems like a good idea but it would be smelly.

    Pansi-well, you would be an expert on that wouldn’t you? πŸ™‚

    JD-I know, FIVE kids, now THAT takes guts!
    Enjoy the fireworks, be careful!

    squaregirl-I never used to share anything and found that’s a good way to keep people away…that’s not good. I”m much happier with people ‘close’. πŸ™‚

    Miz B, I’m sorry, I’m not a good fashion friend but don’t let that come between us. ♥ As to what I do? you can always ask more, I’m not secretive, just don’t want to talk too much about my employer on my blog.

    Jenna-this is our first wedding in about 3 years. everyone else is done!
    My favorite sign is the one with the guy who says ‘he offered himself to the stranger’ then ‘feels so ashamed’. That one just brings tears to my eyes!

  25. H.A. Page says:

    My “brother” when I was little was a black miniature poodle. He was so proud when he was groomed.

    Thanks for the 4 July cheers…

    My purse? Needs a good cleanout!!!!
    Cheers…

  26. actonbell says:

    A grooming, a parade, and a wedding. Sounds like a movie:) Chemical geek… that is a rare category!

    Remember Monty Hall, and how he’d give away prizes to women who had certain things in their purses?
    Happy 4th!

  27. g says:

    Kyah: Thank you for that informative link, I must get a few posters for posting around the house (you can never be too serious about safety). Congratulations to your friends – it looked like a beautiful ceremony. Very honest and courageous of you on the question front. Truly, thank you for sharing.

    Great fireworks in the snark today! Oh, and nice do for the pup.

  28. brandon says:

    thanks for the shout. i have to say, that i have yet to be wounded by a terrorist since i added captions to those signs, so i feel like i’ve really done my part to help handsome strangers πŸ˜‰

  29. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi H!-A poodle for a brother would be pretty nice. πŸ™‚

    Actonbell, yeah I’m a chemical geek. And I do remember Monty Hall! God, you just gave me a flashback!

    g-glad to be of help πŸ™‚

    brandon-hi, I love that post (The handsome stranger one is my fave) and am happy to send people over to your blog.
    I don’t comment there but have lurked a bit. I like your writing.

  30. cj says:

    Last year about this time I tried shaving my dog. She was not impressed with my cutting skills. πŸ™‚

    I was in Edmunton once upon a time for Canada Day. πŸ™‚ I have family in Edmunton.

  31. Barb says:

    Hey there, I was hoping for a completed grooming picture!! I used to have three toy poodles and one poodle terrior x and would do them all on one day so know what you mean about wool and also the sore neck at the end of it. Worth it in the end as they look so nice and are so cuddly and clean.

    Love the wedding picture, what a nice smile the bride has so genuine.

  32. Kyahgirl says:

    cj-if you ever come back this way again, please let me know! I’d like to meet you.
    About teh shaving, practice and good clippers make all the difference.

    Barb-I love to cuddle Casper when he’s been shaved, his coat is so soft. When its longer its quite coarse. I think I have a couple of other pics on the blog of him freshly shaved. Let me find them. I’ll be back.

  33. Kyahgirl says:

    Barb-there are three links to posts with pictures of Casper on the About Casper page. I haven’t finished his story but you can see pictures there of various states of grooming and scruffiness.

  34. Joel says:

    Clearly this past weekend was “wedding weekend” for many of us. How does Casper react while being shorn? Poor Neva took on the challenge of clipping the fur of our elderly Persian the other day and emerged from the battle with bloodied hands and arms…he may be old but he’s still a fighter!

  35. Fred says:

    Look at all that hair! Holy crap!

    What a great love story. My in-laws took the same path. Both were married to others, then eventually married each other after they divorced their first spouses. They’ve been together for 25 years now.

    I’m off for another vacation, so I’ll see you next week.

  36. Kyahgirl says:

    Joel-Casper hates it but submits to it because I’ve been bossing him around from puppyhood and he knows there is no hope! πŸ™‚ He hates getting his face and feet done the most. After awhile when I’m doing his body I can just get him to lay on the grooming table and I move him around.

    Poor Neva-I’d never try a cat!!

    Fred-yes, it is sweet! Have a great vacation.

  37. Cowgirl says:

    Hi!!!

    Looks like a lot of poodle in those bags…Casper must feel lots better. Or naked.

    Hope you’re doing well.

  38. The Phoenix says:

    Your friend Kim has 5 children she’s bringing into the marriage???

    And you wonder why the groom looks so serious.

  39. kyahgirl says:

    Cowgirl!! Nice to see you πŸ™‚ I’m fine and hope you’re well.

    Phoenix-I know what you mean. That’s a lot to take on.

  40. jodes says:

    her dress is gorgeous!!!!

  41. Barb says:

    Ok thanks, think I need a poodle fix, it is coming up to a year that Ruffy (Roofy) passed on. July 26 is his anniversary and Brina went on July 7, 2004.

  42. Tickersoid says:

    You’d be hard pressed to knit a pair of gloves out of my poodles.

  43. kyahgirl says:

    Jodes-it was even prettier up close. No idea how it stayed ‘up’ though πŸ™‚

    Barb-happy to oblige!

    Tickers-maybe driving gloves? they are all holes anyway.

  44. IDV says:

    Oof! Sorry I’m late (again).

    Hi KG & Casper!

    Too hot to think properly so I won’t try and make a well observed and immaculately timed comment about your post as I’d only mess it up!

    I hope you’re all ok?

  45. Joan says:

    I’ll bet that Casper feels a lot cooler now. I just knew that your purse couldn’t remain so light for long ,so glad that you at least got the important stuff- like your book-in there. Glad your Canada Day was happy we went out to see the fire works they were nice. Bryon’s signs were very funny, I think I liked the stranger shame best too, love to you and yours

  46. logoΓ’β€žΒ’ says:

    Oh my goodness, I thought I had commented on this already!
    I just looked through and didn’t see it, soooo evidently I only said it in my head.
    Chem signs were great, I nearly spit tea, good stuff.
    Your friend looks like too much fun, at her wedding BTW.
    I recalled your posts about the Dark Days of May, that is mostly what inspired the question. When Thing Two was about 9 months, I had been on anti-depressants for a couple months and I got together with some very dear friends and we ended up playing Scrabble and laughing like insane idiots. It was so much fun. I laughed till I cried and my ribs hurt and I had to change clothes. I remember that night thinking to myself, I’ve missed this! It was not the end of the road, but it was good to experience that moment that set isolation and numbness in contrast.
    I love the purse details, I don’t know why, I just find it fascinating what ends up in there!
    Great answers, sis!
    Fun post

  47. Jodes says:

    you must be busy I just realized your last post is from Sunday…hope you have a good weekend..mine is jam packed.

  48. Kyahgirl says:

    IdV- thanks for asking, we’re all fine. You’re always welcome, even if just to say ‘Hi from Norfolk!’

    Joan-yeah, the book is a necessity for sure. love you ♥ give Mom a hug for me.

    logo-I was wondering if you had read it yet. Thanks for the questions.

    jodes-I’ve gone to once/week posting for awhile πŸ™‚

  49. cube says:

    Old chemists never die, they just fail to react.

    Old chemists never die, they just smell that way.

    Old chemists never die, they just reach equilibrium.

    It takes alkynes to make a world.

    Can you guess this one?

    NaCl (aq) NaCl(aq)
    C C C C C C C

    And my favorite:

    If you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the precipitate.

  50. Kyahgirl says:

    Cube-those were great!! I’ve heard the ‘fail to react’ and ‘alkynes’ ones but not the others.

    I’m guessing ‘beneath the briny sea’.

  51. 3 bags..I am sure you could spin that into a nice yarn…oh wait. you already did!!!

    My dog just chooses to drop his hair wherever he wanders. And that isusually down to the creek and stinky pond at the bottom of the street.

  52. ariel says:

    after 20 years, 2 marriages and 5 children they choose each other again, it means something. πŸ™‚

  53. kyahgirl says:

    VI-Kyah was one of those notorious ‘hair droppers’, don’t miss that!

    ariel-warms the cynical heart doesn’t it?

  54. ariel says:

    it sure does.

  55. Jamie Dawn says:

    Our fireworks went off without a hitch. My son and a few of his friends had Roman Candle and firecracker fights. It’s a wonder I didn’t have to run anyone to the hospital.

    Enjoy your weekend.

  56. IDV says:

    I loved Cube’s puns! I didn’t get the sodium chloride (or whatever it was) one, though. Chemistry lessons were 16 years thataway

  57. kyahgirl says:

    JD-I’m glad no one got hurt, I worry about fireworks becasue they are so dangerous!

    IDV-yeah, that Cube if pretty funny! πŸ™‚

  58. cube says:

    OK, I’ll tell you…

    NaCl (aq) is saline, over 7 C’s …

    Sailing, sailing, over the Seven Seas.

  59. Ickle_bro says:

    Wow, you must be clever to have a job like like that. I would condsider myself clever if I could mearly spell that job title!

Leave a Reply

