Spam-a-lot

Can’t believe the amount of trackback and other spam I’ve been getting lately. Really annoys me.

I’ve implemented a different kind of verifier that asks a simple math question when you post as well as something to combat trackback spam.
Please let me know if you have any problems.

Laura

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Spam-a-lot

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    testing my math skills.

  2. kyahgirl says:

    crap-I see its not in English! 🙂

  3. kyahgirl says:

    Yay-it works now.

  4. MJ says:

    *holds breath and grits teeth*
    Just don’t ask us to do algebra.

  5. g says:

    If we start talking calculus, you’ll never hear from me again!

  6. kyahgirl says:

    come on now ladies, just a little arithmatic. More fun than word verification isn’t it? 🙂
    thanks for being such good sports.

  7. I want to checkout this verifier. Say, I’m here via Jamie Dawn’s blog …. is your icon a Belgian Tervuren??? I have one! They are great dogs, aren’t they?

  8. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi Mike, yes, that’s my Kyah. Do you have pics of your Terv? i’ll have to check out your blog!

  9. maidink says:

    Let’s see … a word problem. So, do I answer using the number or spell it out?

    Ooooo, my head hurted.

  10. maidink says:

    Whew! It’s the number. Thank goodness since I can’t spell. I can’t do math either but I can’t spell worser. And my grammar is atrocious.

  11. shiftclick says:

    Gosh. I’m glad I’m not as famous as you! Spam Poison seems to work well for me, though – but again, I’m not famous …

  12. neva says:

    thank god! for a second there i was worried i’d need to dig out my slide rule (because i’m just old enough to have had to use one for college statistics, back in my youth!) sorry you’re the victim of spammage (or, as i like to call them, “spamments”) they’re a real pain in the ass backside. : D

    hope you’re having a happy weekend, laura, despite all the crappy spam! (spam? we don’t like spam!) : P

  13. neva says:

    yeesh! i thought i could “strike” out ass and use backside instead, and look all cute and clever… boy was i wrongwrongwrong. this is exactly what a girl with ADD gets for not following instructions!! (on the other hand… at least i can add 2+2… so i know this comment will pass the “test”!

    yes… it’s late and, clearly, i need to go to bed!

    : D

  14. Kyahgirl says:

    maidink-you are such a faker. I know you’re brilliant!

    shiftclick-hey, nice to see you buddy. What’s this about being famous?

    neva-I used a slide rule too once upon a time. welcome to the oldtimers club 🙂 You are cute and clever!

  15. Vicus Scurra says:

    I expect you will get loads of visitors with nothing to say, but who just want to show off because they can do sums.
    Like me for example.

  16. Joan says:

    Hi LJ just wanted to say love you and now I have to pass another test ..oh well you are worth it Joan

  17. Romerican says:

    Kyah, I humbly recommend taking a look at Akismet. With that plugin, I do not need any verification routine and it catches all spam wonderfully.

  18. Margaret says:

    I left a great long story and lost it all because there was no question on the tommorrow blog

  19. frangelita says:

    OKay, I can’t help it, I have to find out what the puzzle is…

  20. frangelita says:

    Right, so you’ve taken it away now. I feel a bit silly.

  21. grannyp says:

    Yes well what to say…don’t have curly dog or ponytail; but am left-handed. Don’t you think there should be a group of lefthanded bloggers?

Leave a Reply

