Advance Notice of Mother’s Day Philanthropy-you can help!

My perfumista pal, Katie, is a great instigator of good things in the blogging community. She has started to round up several of us bloggers to participate in a Mother’s day fundraising effort. No, I’m not going to ask you for money. I will pledge money, based on how many comments I get on Mother’s day. All money will go to carefully researched charities that benefit mothers and children.

Katie has a lengthy post about it on her blog. Please go read it here.  It’s very well written.
She has created a blog for this event called Benevolent blogging.

In addition to the two charities that Katie has set up for us, I will make a matching donation to the Aga Khan Foundation, which is a charity I like. The Aga Khan* foundation has several arms, but their premise is to go to underpriviledged areas and give financial resources but also they teach people sustaining skills. How to put in wells, better farming practices, etc.. The administrative fees of this foundat ion are very low, and the Aga Khan himself pays them, so most of the money donated goes directly to the people who need it.

So, a re-cap; interested bloggers are going to donate money to charity for mother’s day, to mothers and children who really need help. You can help me by commenting. I’d really be happy if any lurkers comment too. The more the merrier. The more comments I get, the more I’ll donate to charity! A win for everyone.

 

*His Highness the Aga Khan, C.C.
Gouvieux, France
Honorary Companion of the Order of Canada

 Personifying cherished Canadian values, His Highness the Aga Khan has devoted his life to protecting the environment and alleviating human suffering due to poverty. Imam of the Shia Imami Ismaili Muslims since 1957, he has guided the spiritual growth of his followers, teaching compassion and tolerance by example. In 1967, he launched his foundation, the Aga Khan Development Network, with branches in countries around the world, including Canada. Recognizing our nation’s caring spirit, he cites Canada as a role model for the world and has selected Ottawa as the home of a new global centre for pluralism.I first came into contact with his foundation through my doctor. He is a devout Muslim from Northern Africa originally and has sponsored a lot of fundraising through the yearly ‘World Partnership Walk’. I first came into contact with his foundation through my doctor. He is a devout Muslim from Northern Africa originally and has sponsored a lot of fundraising through the yearly ‘World Partnership Walk’. I first came into contact with his foundation through my doctor. He is a devout Muslim from Northern Africa originally and has sponsored a lot of fundraising through the yearly ‘World Partnership Walk’. 

 

This entry was posted in Continuing Education, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Advance Notice of Mother’s Day Philanthropy-you can help!

  1. Mo'a says:

    Hello!!! To quote the girl on the horse,
    “I am first” 🙂

  2. Jodes says:

    very cool!!!! Sounds like a great thing.

  3. Brian says:

    I’ll send you an advance comment. Why? Well at home I don’t have a computer, just WebTv, and dial-up. So I can read blogs on the weekend, but not comment. Thanks for helping out this cause.

  4. Whinger says:

    Yay for doing good! Hurrah for good charities!

  5. frankengirl says:

    Hi, Kyahgirl!

    Bravo for giving to mothers & children!

    btw, I’ve really been enjoying your contributions at FG – 🙂

  6. cube says:

    I’ll comment to help moms & kids. Comment. Comment. Comment. I’ll come by tomorrow & comment some more 😉

  7. FirstNations says:

    Howdy Kyah! *waves*
    This is a great idea. Rock on witcha bad self!

  8. Maidink says:

    Okay, so I comment on Mother’s Day and give up cash to a charity?

    Cool. I in.

  9. Doug says:

    Is the name “Aga Khan Foundation” ironic to anyone else?

  10. kyahgirl says:

    Mo’a – yes, you are! 🙂

    Jodes-thanks,

    Brian-I will count this one for you on Sunday.

    whinger-thanks, just come back on Sunday if you can.

    FG-I’m glad I found your blog. thank you for welcoming me!

    Thanks Cube, you have to come back Sunday if possible.

    FN-thanks 🙂

    Maidink-actually, no, you comment and I give to charity. Unless you want to do it on your blog too?

    Doug-I’m not sure of the irony to which you refer, perhaps you can go into it a bit more?

  11. Cowgirl says:

    I would like to think Mo’a is quoting me…but *sigh*.

    I can be a commenting dynamo for a good cause. So be forewarned.;)

  12. kyahgirl says:

    Cowgirl!- nice to see you. Bring it on. 🙂
    I’m into good causes too. The only downside is that I’ll be out of town on Sunday so won’t be able to interact with my commenters too much, unless I can find a computer. That might be an option. My ‘mother’s day’ gift is to go away to visit a girlfriend for the weekend. Timing sucks but you have to go when opportunity knocks!

  13. Cowgirl says:

    Carpe diem; don’t worry about interacting with the commenters! Tell them to interact with themselves, lol.

  14. Doug says:

    Kyahgirl, I referred unknowingly to the irony of confusing Batu Khan, leader of the Golden Horde with Aga Khan, who I now know is the Ismaili leader.

  15. Miz BoheMia says:

    Will do indeedy!

    Hola!

  16. Kyahgirl says:

    JD-thanks 🙂 Come back Sunday!

    Cowgirl-I’m going to depend on you to poke and prod the lurkers as well as the chatterboxes. I’d like to see if you guys can soak me for a couple of hundred at least!

    Doug-thanks. I added a little more info on the Aga Khan. Many will probably not be aware of who he is.

    Miz B-great-I’m hoping you do!

  17. Romerican says:

    Aha, I see the guilt of not joining you in this charitable cause has scared some people away.

  18. Romerican says:

    I’d be more than happy to help you open up that fat purse of yours and let 50 or 100 loonies spill out onto the carpet.

  19. Romerican says:

    Afterall, it only takes a few words and 15 seconds between clicks. How long will it take me to generate 75 comments? *break out the sliderule* Yeeeeehaw!

  20. Kyahgirl says:

    Romerican- Bring it on !! 🙂

  21. betty says:

    Can’t think of anything to say but it’s still money in the coffer, innit?

Leave a Reply

