May 1st, Kyah’s Birthday

Even though Kyah has been gone now for a few years, I still think of her on May 1st. That was the day she was born, in 1993.
Have you ever seen a Belgian Tervuren puppy? Oh-my-God, they are the cutest things ever. They have such a black face that you can hardly see their eyes, then the rest of their bodies are covered in greyish black fluff. As they get older they start to develop the highlights in their mask and their coat comes in the nice mahogany or fawn colour that they are supposed to be. And of course, lets not forget the skunky puppy breath!

3months.jpg

When she was about 3 we moved to Ron’s house. Here she is on her first Christmas there:

kyahxmas95.JPG

And of course, she loved her Mom!!!

kyahandme.JPG

Don’t let this make you sad my dear blog pals. Kyah is right here with me in my heart.

Rest in Peace you sweet Pup!!

This entry was posted in Animals, Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to May 1st, Kyah’s Birthday

  1. garfer says:

    Is that the hoond’s tongue or is it sucking a carrot?

  2. Arabella says:

    Love those ears.

  3. Barb says:

    Oh my God she was adorable! and I am right with you on the puppy breath thing. I worked with some people that thought I was a freak cause I let doggys kiss me.
    I love the pictures.

    I am glad you are feeling better.

  4. FirstNations says:

    what a sweetie woof. i like it that you were this attached to your doggie. only happy memories!

  5. Cowgirl says:

    Adorable; I understand what you are saying.

    I love the way puppies smell. Until they go run through the muddy cattle pasture chasing cats…;)

  6. Kyahgirl says:

    garfer-of course its her tongue, she never stopped licking. She knew I wouldn’t let her lick me in the face so she’d lick but not touch-her version of ‘air kisses’

    arabella-they felt like velvet

    Barb-thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    First Nations-I’ve been attached to all my doggies, impossible not to be!

    Cowgirl-yes, mud, that lovely Belgian fur could hold a lot of mud!!

  7. cube says:

    What a beautiful pup! What a touching post.

    I showcase cats on my blog and it gives people the idea that I don’t love dogs. Not true. I love dogs too. The ones I no longer have with me, I keep alive in my heart.

  8. Kyahgirl says:

    Cube-I’m the same with cats. I love cats (and don’t have any because dh is allergic) but sometimes people think I’m strictly a dog person!

  9. Tickersoid says:

    Happy Birthday Kyah.

    Every time your mum is seen on this blog she seems to get prettier. How is that?

  10. She’s so adorable I can hardly stand it. You lucky girl, to have had her.

  11. Aw, what a sweet girl, so glad you had each other.
    Good memories.

  12. Monika says:

    I understand.
    I had a bird. Most people donรƒยฆt get birds, I do! A little white one called Peggy Sue. When I was watching TV, she sat between my head and neck and warmed me, she flew to me when I whistled and she always looked for me through the window when I left for work! I love her, she died after just one year with me, nothign I could do…but everytime I look at my two budgies now…I think of her and am thankful for her memory.

    What a beautiful dog!

  13. Doug says:

    You two made a good-looking pair. A lot of love in that bottom picture.

  14. actonbell says:

    Those are nice memories:)
    Happy May 1st to you (and rabbit, rabbit)

  15. Miz BoheMia says:

    Love the pics! May she rest in peace…

    I was raised by 5 cats and not a day goes by that I don’t miss them!

  16. kyahgirl says:

    tickers-thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ you’re so sweet.

    Star and Logo-yes, I was lucky !

    Minka-aw, that’s sad and happy at the same time. its amazing how animal friends just weave their way to our hearst eh?

    Doug-thanks. Yeah, there was a lot of love there!

    actonbell-thanks for visiting ๐Ÿ™‚ Rabbit, rabbit.

    Miz B-you were raised by cats? now it all becomes clear ๐Ÿ™‚ ♥
    You’ll remember them forever.

  17. mig bardsley says:

    Oh What a beauty ๐Ÿ™‚ That’s a dog you’d never forget.

  18. Barngoddess says:

    Shes a lovely dog. We are so very lucky when a special animal becomes a part of our own heart in this lifetime..

  19. Katie says:

    Oh I most love that last picture, with her tongue hanging out in appreciation of you and you smiling into her face. It’s a really lovely keepsake, that photo.

    I let my dog lick. Though he knows to lick my nose, not the lips. Of course, my dog is all of thirteen pounds at his heaviest, so, it’s a proportionally much smaller tongue of course ๐Ÿ˜‰ But the skunky puppy breath – I do not know if I should be super-embarassed to admit this or not, but I love my dog’s garbage breath. I just do. When we have to go away and leave him for more than a day, his various smells are one of the first things I miss. (Toes that smell vaguely of Fritos, and when he bakes himself in the sun he starts to smell like stinky cheese.) His stinks are part of him, and I approve and love all of him. I have a question – how on earth did you get her to KEEP that ribbon on in the Christmas picture? Did she just not mind that sort of thing, or did she just not notice? My dog goes nuts if we try to put anything on his collar besides his tags. She must have been quite an accomodating pooch to her humans!

  20. debra says:

    Lovely post – I understand what you mean about it not being a sad thing, this remembrance. Fact is, our animal loves change us – we are never the same – and they keep a place in our hearts.

    ((((hugs to you and Kyah))))

  21. Meow says:

    What a beautiful post. Thank you.
    A gorgeous doggy … she must have been so much fun. I understand what you mean about her being in your heart … my last kitty is always with me, too. Isn’t it amazing, how these 4 legged people get into our hearts in such a big way. It is incredible.
    Take care, my friend … Meow

  22. shiftclick says:

    She’s so beautiful. I’ve never seen a more gorgeous dog. ::wiping tears from eyes::

    Thank you for remembering her today. I keep my T.A.’s birthday in my calendar too. He left me 7 years ago. ::sigh::

  23. MJ says:

    The Love Connection lasts forever.

  24. Jamie Dawn says:

    Kyah was so beautiful. You are looking at her with such warmth and care in the pic. She was loved for sure.

  25. Barbara says:

    What a lovely tribute to Kyah!

    I hope that you have fully recovered from your surgery and can breathe with ease now.
    Thank you for posting these great pictures!

  26. Stacy says:

    Awwww, so sweet!

    I know my Jezebel is JUST LIKE my kid….I love her so much, I can’t (and try not to EVER) think about that time when she will not be with me.

    It may sound crazy but I am currently looking for a REALLY great tattoo artist so I can have Jezebels image tattooed on my body. ๐Ÿ™‚

    But I must say, you have posted a lovely tribute to a very special friend!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  27. markgamon says:

    Oh gawd. I’m welling up. There’s a dog in Cornwall I need to visit soon. I blame my travelling expenses entirely on you and Kyah getting me all sentimental…

  28. Jodes says:

    nice pics. very sweet.

  29. kyahgirl says:

    mig and barngoddess- thanks, you’re right of course.

    Katie-you are such a smell oriented lady LOL. I don’t know about the ribbon, She was just good about it. Maybe because she didn’t wear her collar all the time it felt normal for it be weird if that makes sense?

    debra-thanks for the hugs and the visit:-) you are so right.

    Meow, Shiftclick, MJ, Barbara, Jamie Dawn – I’m glad I could share with you. thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Stacy-good luck with the Tatoo!

    markgammon- ๐Ÿ™‚ Our work here is done then! enjoy your visit.

    jodes-thanks for stopping by!

  30. SID says:

    Nice photos!

    When my dog died, I swore I would never get another.

    Still haven’t

    Oh the pain!

  31. Margaret says:

    lovely and sweet

  32. Miz BoheMia says:

    PS~ Spelled Kia in Farsi but probably pronounced the same way, Kia is actually a very popular Iranian name!

    Just a tidbit!

  33. IDV says:

    Awww… I’m glad she’s still with you. She’s beautiful.

  34. Whinger says:

    Oh my GOSH, the cuteness.

    Sweet little pup. She knows she’s missed.

  35. frangelita says:

    What a sweetheart. Having got pets quite late in my childhood, I am yet to lose one. V scared about when it happens *strokes wee moggie Missy for reassurance*

  36. Marsha says:

    Beautiful!

  37. shayna says:

    In awe… just simply beautiful…

  38. tanlucypez says:

    A dog stole my heart once. I miss her still.

  39. zydeco fish says:

    now I feel all sad. but, that is a cute dog.

  40. Nancy says:

    I am convinced that Kyah and Ty are running around together…..Ty hanging off the side of her rough the way he loved to do.

  41. Ms.L says:

    Awww,I love those ears:)

  42. rudder says:

    Beautiful, both.

  43. The Phoenix says:

    She’s a beautiful dog. All dogs go to heaven, but of course you knew that. They’re the only creatures that love unconditionally from the day they are born to the day they die.

  44. Mo'a says:

    A wonderful tribute to a loved companion. I still remember my two little Pugs and how much we loved them. They died within six months of each other….we had them for 15 years ๐Ÿ™‚

  45. kyahgirl says:

    S.I.D. – I know the feeling. But I’m glad we got another one.

    Margaret-thanks, I know you liked her.

    Miz B-Kia/Farsi-thanks for the tip. The spelling is actually one I made up. I used to work with a Danish girl named Kaja. It was pronounced Ky-ah so that’s how I chose the name.

    IDV, whinger, Fran, Marsha, Caroline, shayna, TLP, Ms. L – thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    Zydeco Fish-don’t feel sad ok? Its ok now.

    nancy-yes, I think they are running around together, with Sarah snarling in the background and Torin off chasing the moon.

    rudder- thanks and welcome ๐Ÿ™‚

    Phoenix-you’re right. Its hard to resist their kind of love.

    Mo’a-I know, you remember them forever. I love Pugs ๐Ÿ™‚

  46. mom says:

    Kyah such a beautiful and loving friend we all loved her

  47. AP3 says:

    Nice blog here! Thanks for visiting Pezland. So that’s what “Kyah” is! What a sweet looking dog. I’ll bet she was a great pet.

Leave a Reply

