Friday Ragout again?

I can’t believe its Friday already, again. I think I lost a couple of days while sitting around with frozen peas on my face!

Ok, a few things:

1) There is a bright side to everything. My colleagues from work totally made my day yesterday when they sent home a lovely basket of fruit and goodies with get well wishes. I was really touched. And of course, the kids figured it was a good deal and this morning had to try it all out.

2) During my week of rest, I’ve discovered a fabulous mystery writer in the books in my closet. Remember my collection of backreading? Well, I’m trying to pare it down. I’ve been reading ‘Dead Sleep’ by Greg Iles. Ohhhh, fantastic.

3) I discovered what First Nations meant by her comment about ‘the chicken livers’ phase. But, because I love my blog buddies and I’ve used up my quota of grossness for the month, I’m not going to share it with you. If you ever get this sinus surgery done, mail me and we’ll discuss it ok?

4) My son is a fashion victim today and I let him go to school dressed like that. He is wearing a yellow monster truck sweatshirt, blue shorts, and snow boots. I suggested maybe he wear running shoes, but no, he wanted the snow boots. He said he’ll change at school. I have this great book by Barabara Coloraso called ‘Kids are Worth it’ and she talks alot about picking your battles. This is one I chose to just let go. I mean, it won’t hurt him right? So, I just hid my grins and carried on. Kids are so cute.
5) I’ve left the taxes to the last minute. Today, I will do the taxes. Blurgh.

6) On the bright side again, tonight my brother David and his wife will stay with us. Twice a year they come to Alberta from B.C. to drop off and pick up their kids from University. Yay, I’m looking forward to their visit. (Logo-In way of educating about your new siblings, David is 2 years older than me, ‘Thing 7’ in your system of counting)

This entry was posted in Family, More about me, me, me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Friday Ragout again?

  1. Cowgirl says:

    Bags of frozen peas are just wonderful; I think I only have them in my freezer to be used as a flexible icepack (especially for the horses). Sad but true…I prefer fresh veggies anyway.

    Glad to hear that you are feeling better, chica!

    Your son sounds like a hoot. I can’t say much, because I used to want to wear my cowboy boots everywhere… (still do most of the time, but flip flops win out alot, even when there is snow on the ground, lol).

  2. Mo'a says:

    Good to see that you are able to blog…..are you in the Vodka, stubor stage yet? LOL !!!!
    I love that you have frozen peas as icepacks….my son when he was little warned his Grandmother while visiting “Don’t use the peas and carrots vegies, Mum uses it on her knees” Wow!! I just realized how long I have had knee problems….no more though since I am now the Bionic Woman ;-o

  3. Mom says:

    Good Morning Happy to hear you are feeling better . I forgot this was the weekend for the pick up.love Mom

  4. logo says:

    Thank you for the aside, makes the note taking so much easier.
    Glad you are feeling better and getting presents.
    I am glad you let him wear his snow boots, I hope you took pictures. So few years left before they start dressing for other people. Good for you!

  5. FirstNations says:

    yup. my daughter went to school wearing four different socks one day, all rolled down like robot joints, pants, a skirt and a tam-o-shanter. second grade.
    note: do your irrigations OVER THE KITCHEN SINK WITHOUT THE STOPPER.

  6. Margaret says:

    I need more peas for my knees since I cooked them last month before I spent 2 weeks steping over the baby gates at K’s place. They are the best ice bag.

    L so glad you are feeling better,hopefully breathing better as well after all that suffering.
    Your child is so cute .
    Have a good visit with David and Kim and the big boys.

  7. Tickersoid says:

    Glad to hear you’re feeling better. Soon be riding.

    I’ve had some experience with horses so here are some tips.

    1. Avoid the front bit, it bites.

    2. Avoid the back bit, it kicks.

    3. Don’t stay in the middle bit too long, it’s uncomfortable.

    Quite the expert, I am;)

  8. Nancy says:

    Hi honey. Just got a chance to ready this weeks blog’s due to a very chaotic week!. I hope you are feeling better…just think about the clean turbinates you will have…….we have to find a way to show them around!!!. I wish I could have been closer to you and help with your care. Sending big hug directly to you heart via your sinuses right now!.
    Coming home tonight to do the motorcycle riding/licensing course at NAIT this weekend with Tara, Mike and Shauna. Probably won’t get a chance to see you but will give you a call. Love, Nan

    p.s. Please pray for my trip home ’cause I have Mickers in the car with me and you know what happens then.

  9. Barngoddess says:

    ouchy, I hope you feel better soon….Ive heard about this surgery~

    lol, your boy sounds like such fun! My 2 1/2 yo is just now starting to pick out his own clothes,its hard to reason with him when he has stripes and plaids in the same outfit………

  10. mig bardsley says:

    Picking your battles sounds like clever thinking 🙂
    My imagination is running riot over the chicken livers. But I sort of hope I’ll never need to know! Hope it’s going well anyway.

  11. Joan says:

    Hi L so glad you are feeling better. looking forward to seeing you in a wee week. I’ve got to write an exam this afternoon. Your son must get his fashion sense from his mother if I remember correctly there was something to do with scissors and bangs … or the lack there of:) very cute also.

  12. Miz BoheMia says:

    May the healing continue!

    Fashion victim is my son… daughter is quite fashion savvy to the point that she gives me some pretty great tips!

    Have fun with the family and have a great weekend!

  13. cube says:

    I thought the name Greg Iles sounded familiar. I’m reading his Blood Memory. I love mysteries… among other things.

  14. Kyahgirl says:

    goodness, I can’t believe all you people have dropped by and I haven’t said hello or anything!

    cowgirl-yes, you are first 🙂 There’s nothing wrong with boots! thanks for your good wishes.

    Mo’a-I’m glad you’re the bionic woman now. So good to get past these pesky physical problems!

    thanks Mom-and yes, we saw David and Kim and the boys. all were well ♥

    logo-you’re right-he’ll be too self conscious before long.

    first nations-thanks for the advice 🙂

    tickers-you are quite horse wise-thanks!

    nancy-sorry I’m going to miss you. I hope you have fun and that Mickey doesn’t drive you over the edge!

    barngoddess-thanks! we have to enjoy our little ones while they are small eh?

    mig-you are wise 🙂

    Joan-you remember my hairdressing experiments eh? heh.

    Miz B-thanks sweetie 🙂

    cube-finally-someone who knows what I’m reading 🙂 Yeah, I enjoyed Dead Sleep, I’ll have to get something else by him. I have a Harlan Coben story lined up next.

  15. shiftclick says:

    Man, I missed a lot this past week! I am glad you are well on your way to recovery … reading the post about your surgery made my nose hurt … and reading about your son’s fashion sense made me think he just might start something new! Isn’t that how all great fashion starts? I’m glad you didn’t give him a hard time. Next time you see his friends, maybe they’ll all be dressed like him … 🙂 Did you get my package yet?

  16. frankengirl says:

    Fashion victims and bags of peas – lol! I’m glad you’re well-enough to laugh (and share the laughter)!

    Thanks for your kinds words on my blog – 😀

  17. Fred says:

    Enjoy the company. I wish I were close enough to my family to see them more often.

  18. Jamie Dawn says:

    I’m glad you are recovering from your surgery. Sinus surgery is pretty gross!
    My daughter can really relate to you. She had her final nose cleaning this past Friday. I wish you the best. It will all be fully recovered before long.
    Kids do such silly and precious things. It’s good that you didn’t have a battle over his attire. It makes for good memories.

  19. IDV says:

    Hi KG! Your son sounds like a right little fashionista : )

Leave a Reply

