I like Joan, I think I’ll keep her!

Today is my sister Joan’s birthday. She is 5 years older than me.

bottle.jpg

What is special about Joan? I’ll tell you!

She was always sweet and loving to me when I was a little kid, even though we were very different. I tended to be the hooligan, running around the neighborhood, she tended to be the helpful one, doing stuff for Mom and reading books at every spare moment.

Despite the hooligan tendencies, I was very, very sensitive and Joan was often there to give me a shoulder to cry on.
Joan always shared her books with me and took time to talk to me. In a busy household with eight kids, its easy to get lost in the shuffle when you’re the youngest and a bit introverted.
But, what is really special when I grew up and moved to Victoria to go to school, I got to know my sister as an adult. That was cool. We read together, played Rumoli together, enjoyed the finer points of sloth together. Joan is very smart too-she used to be a Dietician then went back to school to become an RN. Now, she is working on her Degree while working full time at the hospital. She’s got a big brain 🙂

I know you have to go to class today Joan, but I hope the rest of your day is fabulous. I love you dearly sweet Sister o’ mine!!

flowers.mayflowers.jpg
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to I like Joan, I think I’ll keep her!

  1. Cowgirl says:

    Happy Birthday to your sister! I always wanted a sister.

    Oh, and how are you feeling today sweetie?

  2. Kyahgirl says:

    thanks cowgirl-you can be my honorary little sister ok? I have always wanted a little sister. I’ve alread adopted logo too.
    I’m feeling better than yesterday and am beginning to get air movement up there! Yay!

  3. Arabella says:

    That’s a great big sister. Aren’t they lovely? Mine looked out for me too (five years older)and though she did once paint eyelashes on one of my dolls, she was sorely provoked.

  4. logo says:

    YAY, Happy Birthday, sis!
    So good to get to know the Canadian side of my family.
    Learn lots and have a great day,
    from your adopted US hooligan sister.

  5. Margaret says:

    Here’s to Joan ! Many more happy years ! For her the best will be finishing that degree. We will party all night with her.
    I remenber sitting around the dinner table discussing names for the coming baby,such a long and uproductive conversation .My 8year old self wanted to go out to play so I suggested” Cup” that brought a sudden slience to the table . And much nasty coments from the other brothers and sister at the table and a end to the conversation.
    I am very happy the parents gave her alovely name Joan.

  6. Meow says:

    Happy birthday to Joan. Hope her day was magical.

  7. kyahgirl says:

    arabella-yeah, I have 3 sisters-they are all different and so special.

    logo-I think you’re wise, I’ll try to keep you posted on your new family 🙂

    margaret-thanks for sharing that memory. ‘Cup’ is such an interesting name. You were just 50 years ahead of your time 🙂

    Meow-thanks, I’m sure she’ll se your comment soon.

  8. Miz BoheMia says:

    I have a sister but not that connection… Happy birthday Joan and Kyahgirl, you sound like one fabulous sistah!

  9. Joan says:

    Thank you all for your birthday wishes it was a quiet one but I did get one family wrecking…I mean rendering of the Happy Birthday song, thanks Margaret. It wouldn’t be a birthday without it. Laura owes me double next year:) Welcome to the family logo my sisters are some of my best friends and one can never have too many of those. Hmm Cup …I don’t know it does have a certain ring doesn’t it. Margaret you were an unappreciated visionary (thank god!! I bet Apple is going to wish someone had gone out to play and reconsider when she gets older)glad you are better Laura

  10. Kyahgirl says:

    Miz B-thanks 🙂

    Joan – I am lucky to have one such as you in my life. ♥

Leave a Reply

