Surgery update

Hi, a few of you wanted to know how it went. Here is summary:

Starving all day Monday, surgery at 2. Hammering*, snipping, stretching, crunch, crunch, crunch, Ouch, Ouch, Ouch. “more sedative please”, crunching, more snipping, pack, pack, pack. Done. 20 minutes.

Linda took me home, with a brief detour for coffee and bagel, then Glen went and picked up the kids after school.

I couldn’t lie down so sat up in a codeine haze on my bed. The pain was pretty bad.

DH came home, took over from Glen and Linda and I don’t remember much about that part.

(Insert whining and moaning here) I moved to the couch for the night because with the recliner and pile of pillows could sort of sit up and sleep. Ha, Ha. Well, sleep didn’t happen.

1st night summary; pain, vomiting, pain, movie, dozing, pain.
DH stayed home to get the kids off, he took them and went to work. I took more drugs and went to sleep with for a few hours.

The day was spent in a drugged stupor, anticipating the removal of the three feet of packing that they put in each side of my nose. Due to ‘improvements’ in our health care system, this is the type of job that the patient get to go themselves.

Packing removal was extremely painful and resulted in a lot bleeding. To tell you the truth, the bleeding stopped then started again with a vengeance. When DH got home with the kids, I asked him to take to me to the hospital. Even with pressure, the blood was pouring out, filling my mouth, coming out my eye and sloshing around in my ears. I was a ‘bit’ scared.

We continued wtih the pressue and more ice on my neck and face at the hospital. They gave me Atavan to calm me down and hopefully slow the bleeding. It actually stopped. The doc gave me the option of repacking it or waiting a bit, continue icing and stay still** to see if it would stay stopped. That’s what we did. DH took me home, set me up on the couch again with ice all round my head, and I made it through the night with no more excessive bleeding.

So, not one to push my luck, I’m going to go take some drugs and lie down with a bag of peas on my face.

No need to worry, I’m well and truly on the mend.

*******************

*yes, he actually used a hammer and chisel at one point to remove a piece of bone. I asked him if he was sculptor. ha ha ha

** For women: I tried my best to stay still but you know the law of the universe that says, ‘If there is ever a BAD time for a female to get her period, let it happen at the WORST possible time’. Its true, there is such a law. I’ve been bitten by it on more than one occasion. Yesterday was no different. Crap!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Surgery update

  1. Logoâ„¢ says:

    Oh Laura, you are killing me here.
    So glad you are mending, I can’t even imagine.
    Keep your chin up and BE STILL,
    sending good thoughts your way.

  2. cube says:

    I had no idea you were having surgery. Sending mend quickly vibes your way. And for the love of God, stay still.

  3. FirstNations says:

    oh dang. did you have sinus surgery? i’ve had it twice. isn’t it utterly amazing how many yards and yards and yards of gauze they can cram up there?? kinda scary.
    wait until you get to the ‘chicken livers’ stage.
    you’ll know it when you see it.
    i’m so sorry! i hope you are feeling better really soon!

  4. Whinger says:

    Oh it’s all so gross and fascinating at the same time.

    I do hope you’re on the mend.

  5. MJ says:

    The “law” makes exceptions for no one. You have my sympathies.

  6. Miz BoheMia says:

    What kind of surgery did you have? Forgive me but I am hyperventilating! I can visualize the slightest mention of a detail so vividly and I am not good with blood… cannot imagine what you went through! Hope you are healing well, and here’s to no more bleeding! NO MORE! Thinking of you lots my friend and may all be well!

  7. Urban Chick says:

    eeeeeeeeeeeewwwwwwwwwww

    poor poor you

    i wish i hadn’t read that ‘chicken liver’ comment too

    get well soon, L!


    UC

  8. Tickersoid says:

    Yes poor you. I didn’t kmow what surgery you had had to begin with. I visited a friend in hospital yesterday who also had some painful packing done. Up his arse. Thought you were talking about the same thing until I read on.

    Get better soon.

  9. Arabella says:

    I do hope you don’t have a head-cold right now. What with the nose, the nether regions….you’d be mistaken for a colander.
    Wishing you plenty of rest and comfort on the way.

  10. Cowgirl says:

    Hope you are staying still. Sounds horrid.

    Doesn’t that mean not spending time blogging? lol

  11. Doug says:

    Bless your heart. I hope you feel better soon.

  12. IDV says:

    I nearly fainted reading the description of your nasal surgery. I have the same ‘imagining’ problem as Miz BoHemia…

    Hope you’re feeling better now

  13. garfer says:

    Sounds like a good excuse to go on the vodka if you ask me.

  14. frangelita says:

    Oh, you poor thing! That sounds absolutely horrific. Here’s to you mending as soon as possible, try and stay still and have lots of nice things like chocolate. Mmm.

  15. Kyahgirl says:

    Logo-♥ thanks sis!

    cube-thanks, I’m staying still. only my eyes and fingers are moving 🙂

    FN-oh god, there’s a chicken liver stage?

    whinger-fascinating is a good word 🙂

    MJ-you got that right.

    Miz B- mailed you with more info ♥

    UC – thanks sweetie.

    tickers-no, the packing was up the nose dear man!

    arabella-I pray I don’t get a cold-that would be hell.

    cowgirl-thanks, I’m an island of blogging stillness! : -)

    Doug-thanks, you made me feel better already!

    IDV- thanks buddy-its just all in the nose!

    garfer-as soon as I get off the codeine we’ll crack a bottle of vodka ok? 🙂

  16. Kyahgirl says:

    hi Fran-I missed your comment. Oh Yum, chocolate sounds very ‘healing’ 🙂

  17. Mo'a says:

    I shudder thinking of ever going through what you described…..although I would not have problem number 2….age you see 🙂
    Stay on that codeine as long as you can the fog is better than the alternative…..although a stubor would not be so bad.
    Wishing you quich recovery you brave, brave,woman.

  18. Joan says:

    Hi sis sounds like you are doing great.Just kidding… don’t throw your pillow at me you might open the flood gates again.I’m really sorry that your are haveing such a miserable time of it. Mom and I are sending you all sorts of love and healing vibes and thoughts. Maybe in a couple of days you can substitute the vodka for the codeine

  19. Barb says:

    Oh poor you, I would hate to have to go through that, sounds like you are being really brave though, take it one day (minute at a time).
    Get well soon.

  20. Meow says:

    Oh My !!! That sounds very ouchy … hope you are feeling better today.
    Take care, my friend. Best wishes … Meow

  21. eek. Had no idea this was on the cards. Feel better soon and NO perfume sniffing!

  22. Ouch.

    I hope the pain and stuff is well and truly going now.

    Ouch again.

  23. Kyahgirl says:

    Mo’a- much better today. Didn’t mean to scare you.

    Joan-I’m eyeing up the whisky bottle 🙂

    Barb, Meow- thanks 🙂

    GSE-nope, I can’t smell anything yet.

    Fuckkit-there, there, have some cake!

    P&T – thanks, feeling better today. 🙂

  24. Margaret says:

    Such excellant discription .What are” Chicken livers “sounds extra gross.
    Here’s to getting better!
    Thanks for the phone call,enjoyed hearing from you stuffy or not.Hope it wasn’t too painful with your resonally unpacked nose.

  25. Carolyn says:

    L, I haven’t been checking blogs lately and I totally missed this! That sounds so painful, and I know I would have been scared too. I admire your attitude though and am praying that you will heal very quickly. (((hugs)))

  26. mig bardsley says:

    Cor blimey!!!!
    Well if it cures the sinus problems it’ll be worth it?
    Glad you’re on the mend anyway.

  27. Britney says:

    Wow%21%21%21+Good+job.+C

  28. Elza says:

    Very+cool+design%21+Usef

Leave a Reply

