Do you consider yourself a typical Aries?

This question was posed to me in the comments on my birthday post by one of my perfumista pals, SuburbanSue.

Well,I honestly didn’t know what a typical Aries is supposed to be so did a bit of research.

Before I present my findings, I will answer the question: Yikes! I hope not!

The Ram – March 21 to April 20

Traditional
Aries Traits

Adventurous and energetic
Pioneering and courageous
Enthusiastic and confident
Dynamic and quick-witted

On the dark side…

Selfish and quick-tempered
Impulsive and impatient
Foolhardy and daredevil

I’d say I’m, action oriented, enthusiastic with loads of initiative. I’m not that impulsive or daredevilish. I can be a real crab pot and sometimes quick tempered. A lot of the sites describe Aries in a way that is very flamboyant and liking to be on stage. That’s not me. I’m more of an observer/thinker. That being said I’m a participant and tend to take a leadership role if the need arises.

The info on the web also alludes to the sexuality of the Aries person as being hot, wild and barely controlled. I wouldn’t say that describes me either. Although, given the right circumstances and partner* I’m sure I can meet or exceed the expectations of the most exacting taskmaster *wink*

If you really want to know more about my personality you can follow the links on my sidebar to the INTJ and INFJ personality types. I’ve done the Meyers-Brigg personality profile on several occasions over the years and always come out as one of these. The links will lead you to a place where you can take the test too if you’re interested. They’ve got some info on career types and partner types for different profiles too.

Have fun 🙂

Any of you are welcome to add your own insights or even tell me if you think I’m out to lunch on this!

* which I’m quite sure I have

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to Do you consider yourself a typical Aries?

  1. Logo says:

    I am an aquarius, and some of it matches, some of it doesn’t.
    Call me a skeptic, but I lean toward thinking astrology is not very accurate.
    If I am struck dead for saying that consider me corrected.
    I always come out borderline entp/intp, I put a little more stock in that.
    The fault lies not in our stars, but in ourselves.

  2. Kyahgirl says:

    Logo-I tend to agree with you. I’ve always thought that the astrology buffs can be a bit dogmatic too but to each his/her own 🙂

  3. Romerican says:

    As far as I know, Aries tends to have the opposite sexual drive of Scorpio and Saggitarius… which to say that sex drive is as low as it gets with Aries. Not that it means a nunnery.

    Of course, the notion that one is controlled or influenced by some distant stars based on the date one is born on is unbelievably LAUGHABLE. And yet so many are drawn to it.

    What amazes me are the number of Christians still drawn to the aura of the stars, when it’s quite obvious that astrology is a pagan thing and the biblical God would have very much frowned upon any belief in the power of stars. (Don’t want to burn in a lake of fire? Stop keeping astrology alive.)

    In the end, it’s all quite silly, of course. I sometimes snigger at familiy members of mine who put stock in astrology despite the fact that its normally written in such a way as to appeal to / flatter any reader with things s/he might like to hear about him/herself.

    My sister is an Aries and she is NONE of the things outlined in your post. But then, what you read is not typical of how Aries is normally described by *most* astrologers… and then, I have to admit, in her special case, she does normally match the generic description of Aries which is most commonly passed around…

  4. shiftclick says:

    I’ve rather looked at astrology as yet another tool for aiding in self-discovery. Some of it is nonsense, I’ll give you that. But if in the process of discovering that it’s nonsense I discover something else about myself …?

    I took the Meyers-Brigg test once but I don’t remember what the end result was; only that it was right on. I’ll have to do it again and see …

    Note for Romerican: We are influenced by the moon’s pull on the tides, why not the stars? 😉

  5. kyahgirl says:

    Hi Romerican, I too find it kind of mysterious how the stars can influence us but then I find it pretty mysterious and baffling about the whole God thing too.

  6. kyahgirl says:

    Hi shiftclick 🙂 Yah got that right about the moon, that’s for sure! I guess it true too that anything we can learn about ourselves is good. The thing that bugs me is the prescriptive and dogmatic approach I’ve observed where someone says ‘you are X because of Y’ no discussion. Its too complex for that.

  7. Stacy says:

    Ooo…I gotta go check the links. And my Dad is an Aries too…the only thin that was listed that he’s NOT if follhardy. 🙂

  8. Stacy says:

    Oops…I meant “foolhardy”. Duh.

  9. big sis – I love that you link to Meyers-Brigg personality tests. 🙂

  10. Doris Night says:

    i’m an aries too – as you know 😉 – and i fit the description only in certain situtations, as would anybody, i think.

    some people put more stock in blood types as a personality determinant. i’m an “o” – though again i fit some of the typical traits and not others. another interesting perspective though.

  11. FirstNations says:

    i’m a taurus.
    uh, yeah. ok.
    large red dangling balls?
    nope.
    bovine?
    nope.
    quadruped?
    nope.
    cloven hooved?
    ….well……..

  12. Cowgirl says:

    I’m a Taurus. I am most certainly earthy and stubborn. But who knows about the rest.

  13. Kyahgirl says:

    Stacy-I’m the ‘typo queen’, you’re the ‘peanut queen’ remember? 🙂

    Star-is that just another indicator of my nerdiness?

    Doris-I’m an ‘O’ too. So far we gelling nicely!

    FN-Oh, I’d love to see the cloven hooves!! show me 🙂

    Cowgirl-I know, its all questionable. I’m earthy and stubborn too 🙂 (some call it pig headed but there is no need to start insulting the poor pigs!)

  14. S.I.D says:

    Your a star, not matter what sign you are!

  15. IDV says:

    I’m an Aries and , if it weren’t for my innate laziness, that description is spot on.

    Your INFJ/T thingy was interesting. I found myself thinking ‘Wow, this INFJ is just like me’ then I thought I’d better look at the INFT doodah because I’ll probably think that’s just like me too – it wasn’t. I did look at the links but got scared when it asked for credit card details etc to do the questionnaire – or was I looking at the wrong thing?

    I think S.I.D. has summed you up best.

  16. Romerican says:

    shifty click, I suppose some people *are* ;]]

  17. kyahgirl says:

    SID- *smooch* that was very sweet. thanks!

    IDV- you too 🙂 I’m not sure about the credit card thing. Maybe you have to pay on line. I have their book so took the test there. I’ll see if there is somewhere else with better links and let you know.

  18. frangelita says:

    I’m on the cusp of Libra and Virgo. Depends which magazine you read which one I fall into. I personally prefer to read all the horoscopes and choose the one which sounds like would end up in the nicest week/month. Or the one with the nicest pictures.

    I think astrology is a load of old pants. But strangely compelling old pants.

  19. mig bardsley says:

    It’s always fun to read the horoscopes and ignore the bits which don’t fit. Sad but true though that all the horoscopes could fit almost everyone if they missed out the odd section.
    Remember that frightening guy who *mind reads* and did russian roulette on TV? He wrote out a description of a dozen students’ personalities in huge detail (several pages) and they all went away and studied their bit and oohed and ahhed a lot and said it was awesome and amazing and astonishing how accurate and intimate he could be after just handling a personal item for a few seconds.
    Then he told them….all the descriptions were identical photocopies.

  20. Mom says:

    Found the comments interesting and some very amusing I have only read horascops once in the blue moon dont believe in them most very inacurate love Mom

  21. rowan says:

    don’t know much about Aries’ I’m afraid, but I can tell you this, I’m your typical Scorpio.

  22. I’m afraid that all of the Aries aplies to me, the good and the bad.

  23. Romerican~
    God made the stars, did He not? Just because you study the stars, doesn’t neccesarily mean you worship the stars. Afterall, if it were not for the “wisemen” who were known to be astrologers, we would not have one of our most precious and treasured stories of the bible AND God used them in a most importatnt way, by sending a dream to one of them, telling the wisemen to NOT go back to King Herod. God uses all for the good. Blessings. m.

  24. Kyahgirl says:

    fran and mig- Like mother like daughter! 🙂

    MOM-hi!

    rowan- now I have to go look up Scorpio-check you out.

    MHN-are you a typical Aries? interesting!!

  25. justine says:

    I always like that Aries was the first sign in the Zodiac. Such an honour to come first 🙂

  26. I am a fish. I live close to water. Other than that, I don’t put much stock in Astrology

  27. FirstNations says:

    OF COURSE your mother would come visit and see my comment about dangling red, um, never mind.
    OF COURSE.
    *coat over face while walking briskly towards waiting taxi*

  28. Cowgirl says:

    Coffee, I need more coffee…

  29. kyahgirl says:

    First Nations- didn’t you see what she said? “I found your comments interesting and some very amusing” Yours was very amusing. And don’t worry, my Mom is not judgemental and she likes my blog friends so get right back here!

    Justine-well,yes, it IS nice to be first *beams*

    Village Idiot-thats about enough stock I put in it too.

  30. Miz BoheMia says:

    Very interesting… with regards to astrology not working, real astrologists need your exact time and location of birth to come up with a chart just for you… have never done it to speak ill of it…

    Will have to try out the tests but I do know one thing about myself and that is that I am a typical, typical Pisces… and that only spells emotional trouble! Oy vey! ;-P

  31. Kyahgirl says:

    Miz B-thanks as always for your insights. I have to go look up Pisces now 🙂

  32. Doug says:

    Wow, I have a lot to offer on the topic of astrology. Thought I’d say hi, anyway.

  33. Karen says:

    “Hey tonight, our two teams will face off. Oilers vs Detroit, Who do you think will win? We have to promise to stay friends”!

    We’ll stay friends if you cheer for the *right* team, LOL!!

    GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS, GO RED WINGS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

  34. kyahgirl says:

    Doug- hi buddy 🙂 I don’t care if you have a lot to say or not. ‘Hi’ is good.

    Karen-I will be cheering for the right team missy:

    GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO!
    GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO!GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO!
    GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO! GO OILERS GO!

    Lets go, lets go, lets really go;
    Lets fight, lets fight, lets really fight;
    Lets go, lets go, lets really go,
    Lets go, lets fight, lets win tonight!!!

  35. garfer says:

    I’m an Aries.

    I have an affinity with straitjackets.

  36. kyahgirl says:

    Hi garfer-You’re a very interesting sort. Are you nuts then? And what is your birthdate please!

  37. Karen says:

    Great game last night… nail bitin’ I tell ya! Your Oilers’ goalie is goooooooooooooooooood!! 🙂

  38. Kyahgirl says:

    Hi karen, yes it was good. The Red Wings deserved to win.

  39. pia savage says:

    I’m a Cancer on the cusp of Leo–with a lot of Virgo–weird combo

  40. Francis says:

    I am aries, and I must say that I time, I do match with the typical descriptions of aries, on the other hand, I realized what made a difference with me and with other aries, is what are their planetary influential houses. My sun sign is aries but my moon sign is Virgo, Mars lies under taurus and venus in on Capricorn. So again one should base their ideas of anything based mainly of a vague description because not everyone is the same.

  41. Kate says:

    Adventurous and energetic true
    Pioneering and courageous false
    Enthusiastic and confident true
    Dynamic and quick-witted true
    Selfish and quick-tempered true
    Impulsive and impatient true
    Foolhardy and daredevil false

    I’m 71.42857142857143 % Aries 😀

  42. chantelle Trefz says:

    I am not your typical arian. I am very patient and always put others before me. I am wary of things and dont do without thought. However I will fight for my beliefs and will not be taken advantage of. My family are my life and I will take out anyone that tries to harm them. I am married to a Scorpio and he sounds more arian to me than me. lol. Yes I am quick witted and can lead but prefer not to. March 24.

Leave a Reply

