Good Friday was really, really good!!!

When I dropped by C’est Chic today I read Mireille’s post about Easter and it really brought back memories of my own feelings on Good Friday. No matter how nice the spring weather was at the time, it always seemed that on Friday afternoon of Easter weekend, the sky would cloud over and it would become cold and miserable. My young Catholic brain always figured ‘of course-its because ma’ nature also mourns the sacrifice of Jesus.

So, even though its been many years since I’ve been a Catholic, I still have a shadow flit through my brain on Good Friday. The shadow comes and goes so quickly I’m hardly aware of it but its just a holdover from my childhood I’ve come to accept and not be bothered with. Just for a moment though, I expect the day to be a downer.
Yesterday, me and the children were at home, doing ‘life’. My industrious and creative DD, made some Dinosaur eggs:

nandeggs.jpg
dinoeggs.jpg
I talked for a long time to my lovely perfumista friend Robin who lives in Rhode Island. I talked about how we met in this post.
Then, the most amazing surprise was a phone call from my friend Nancy. She moved to Calgary years ago to follow her nursing career but we’ve remained close friends. She had decided to come up for the weekend on the spur of the moment and was staying with her folks. So the rest of the afternoon was spent out in the back yard chatting and enjoying some perfume. The children entertained themselves killing ants and harrassing Casper. Nancy and I made plans for our ‘girls weekend’ in May when I get to escape the mayhem for a couple of days while DH* and the kids do some fun stuff without Mom.
Good Friday was really, really good. Yay!
* Nancy tells me that in some circles DH stands for dickhead. Not so in this case. Its stands for Dear Husband, just as DD stands for Dear Daughter and DS stands for Dear Son. (I’m not the kind of person who delights in making disparaging references to loved ones).
This entry was posted in Family, Girly stuff, More about me, me, me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Good Friday was really, really good!!!

  1. crazy_dan says:

    I miss the good old days when we got to paint our easter eggs.

  2. Doug says:

    DD takes after her DM. Those are the Easter Eggs of gifted artist and perfumista.

  3. Whinger says:

    The eggs are beautiful, and it was so sweet of your little one to pose with them without rolling her eyes, which is what I did for ALL pictures at her age.

  4. justine says:

    that little girl looks like a sweetheart.

    I know what you meaqn about the weather seeming to reflect the mood of the occasion.

  5. shiftclick says:

    That’s a lovely photo. I think it’s frame-worthy! There are so many lovely pictures and quotes and artwork I want to FRAME and put on permanent display, but there’s not enough wallspace. For instance, Star Baseman’s photo of her puppy looks PROFESSIONAL, and so worthy of framing. Just stuff like that.

    Professional Perfumista Question: How do you clear your nose in order to enjoy the next scent? Is there some kind of ‘insider’s trick’ that you could share?

  6. Kyahgirl says:

    Crazy Dan-welcome!

    Doug-thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ She is, in fact, a budding perfumista and probably has a bigger perfume collection than any other 7 year old on the planet!

    Hi whinger-its rare to get a photo with a goofy grimace, we’re working on it.

    Thanks Justine! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Hi SC-yeah, that picture of Star’s pooch is really sweet.

    As for nose clearing tricks, two suggestions: one is the traditional sniff coffee beans and the other is inhale through a wool cloth. Depending on how many you are planning to sample and the locale, I could make different suggestions. For example, in a store, I sniff the bottle first to see if there is anything repulsive (I hate ozonice/marine scents or too much wood). Then I spray in on paper. Wave it around, sniff a bit. sometime I know whether I dislike it right then. If I think I might like it (after sniffing the paper for awhile) I’ll spray some on my skin and leave the perfume department. Your nose get overloaded too easily there. Let it evolve on your skin for at least half an hour. The base notes are what you live with long term so you have to really love them before considering buying. You can probably on really test about 4-5 scents at a given time in department store setting and you have to be careful, because your nose does get overloaded. If you do decide to buy, always ask for a sample of the scent to take with you. When you are home and clean (usually when i’ve been perfume shopping I’ve got lots of scents on my by the time I get home), try the sample. This has saved me a couple of times. You can’t really smell it properly until you’re in a different environment. If you don’t like the sample as much as you thought, you can still bring the perfume back since its unopened. I think Sephora will take back open perfume but that’s about the only store.

    The unique thing about our sense of smell is there is a pad of receptors at the back of the nose that is directly connected to the brain. These receptor can get full of molecules and stop refreshing the signal to the brain. Similar to how the little structures in the ear get knocked down from too much loud music (like a rock concert) and your hearing is a bit impaired for a while.

    way too much info? ๐Ÿ™‚ email me if you want more.

  7. frangelita says:

    Oh, you don’t do disparaging comments about loved ones? *slinks away with kick me note, embarrassed*

  8. Lucyshnoosy says:

    The eggs came out beautiful! I love the photo of Nicole holding her treasures.

    Talking to you made Friday very good for me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I took your advice and today I decanted some Rose Barbare into a small spray atomiser. That way I can enjoy spritzing, without using the fabric bulb sprayer that will probably shorten the life of my perfume.

    I read your nose-clearing suggestions with interest. I do the coffee beans and the wool sniffing. If neither are available, I just smell a neutral piece of cloth, ie my sleeve.

    The part about our smell receptors becoming overloaded and temporarily ceasing to refresh really rang true for me. At the sniffa, there was a point when I realized that I simply couldn’t smell anything new any more. I kept trying to sniff more perfumes, but they weren’t registering: I just kept smelling the same previously-sniffed scent. Wierd!

  9. Lucyshnoosy says:

    PS: I am aware that when I am assiduously sniffing my sleeve in a store, people probably think I am wiping my nose on it. Oh well.

  10. Logo says:

    I let the Things do eggs, despite protests from my honey that is would be a huge mess, it was of course, but what else can you do?
    I never got the hang of knowing when dh meant something good or bad and so developed my own, more wordy code names. I have to say though, you don’t seem the type to routinely call your husband that, though if he deserves it on a very occasional basis you have my full blessing.

  11. Logo says:

    Oh, and also, that is the post where I use paripatetic!
    :p

  12. mom says:

    Great comment and blog I seldon use purfume and I enjoy a lovely scent to many in the family get migraines Mom

  13. Kyahgirl says:

    frangelita! come back here ๐Ÿ™‚ No slinking allowed.

    Lucyshoonsy-I laughed at your comment about the sleeve. I’ve had that feeling too. And the sniffa. I remember when I was in NYC last april-that totally dead nose feeling!

    logo-thanks ๐Ÿ™‚ maybe I need to make ‘code’

    hi Mom-I know you’re in a tough spot, surrounded by the anti-perfume crowd!

  14. Dug says:

    What a cutie DD is! Kids love those eggs, don’t they? My niece, 5, and nephew, nearly 3, got about 10 pounds of candy. We gotta ease back on that…they were hallucinating by the end of the day.

Leave a Reply

