April is shaping up to be a bit of a trial.

Not to moan and groan or anything but well, I just need to moan and groan for a minute.

We had the tonsillectomy last week. Today, DD was supposed be back at school but she woke up with a really sore belly and a sore throat. I think the main problem is that, after being on codeine for several days, her guts are all in a knot still. It really does all come back to poo doesn’t it? So, I had to take another day off work and keep her home, slipping further behind on all the things I want to get done at work.

DH’s plant is on a maintenance shutdown now for the rest of the month. Most people think that means there is less work but actually, everyone works like maniacs until the plant is up and running again. Because they lose a bazillion dollars in production for every day they are not running, there is a lot of pressure to get it back in production. Usually, they work 25-30 days/nights of 13 hour shifts until its up again. This time he’s going to get 2 days off. That means he’ll be working April 7-May 3rd with two days off. Yippee. Luckily, one of those days coincides with one I have off. Wow. Lots of quality time coming up in April. At least he’s on days this time. The last two shutdowns he’s been on nights so we only see him at suppertime before going off to work. This time I will be able to see him while he’s sleeping πŸ™‚ The secret to a happy marriage folks!
The other April challenge is my own surgery scheduled for the 24th. You see, I’m harboring a deviant. Yes, Its true. I have a deviated septum in my nose and lazy, floppy turbinates. The doc is going to try to fix that so I get less sinus infections. I’ve had so many sinus infections in the last five years that its not even funny. A couple of them have been bad enough to lead to absessed teeth. So, I have high hopes for improving my breathing situation. Unfortunately, I have to be off work for a week and DH will still be on the shutdown so won’t be able to help me much. I have to line up a couple of friends to take me to the hospital and help with the kids on the first day. Luckily, the kids have an honorary third set of grandparents who are very helpful and will be able to help us. The kids are crazy about them so no worries there. Except of course I hate asking people to help me. I have issues with this!

Ok, I think I’ve got it all out of my system now. Thanks for listening. I’m sure the sun will come out again tomorrow.

This entry was posted in Family, More about me, me, me. Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to April is shaping up to be a bit of a trial.

  1. So really, you get a nose job that insurance pays for, or is that only how it works in the US. Good luck and I wish you and the family well. πŸ™‚

  2. Jamie Dawn says:

    I wish you much relief with your surgery. My daughter had very extensive sinus surgery when she was thirteen. She just had another sinus surgery, but this was much easier. They removed polyps and infection and reduced the size of her turbinates. She also has a deviated septum which will be taken care of at a later date. I feel for you! Sinus infections are miserable. I think this surgery will really help you.

    For now, chin up!

  3. Vicus Scurra says:

    I’ve never heard of turbinates. I am sure that that fact does not interest many people, but it is quite fascinating to me. How come I have never heard of them? Pure ignorance, or are they things only ladies have, and are therefore another possible area of sexual fascination? I shall refrain from looking elsewhere for this information, and look forward to the explanation here. Go on, show us your turbinates.

  4. Fuckkit says:

    At the risk of sending you rushing for the pill bottle; April is fucking shit, init. Its my last month at this job and tell ya, its proving to be the longest month on record!

  5. Stacy says:

    E-gads…sinus infections are THE WORST!

    Best of luck with your crazy April!

  6. shiftclick says:

    I, too, have never heard of turbinates. My first thought was that you somehow had farm silos in your nose. I know it’s important that you get the surgery done, but is it possible to have it rescheduled to next month, and then DH could help you, instead of having to rely on help from OTHER people?

    So has your daughter had a good bowel movement? πŸ™‚

  7. kyahgirl says:

    MHN-yeah, I guess its a nose job-but its an ‘inside job’ LOL.

    JD-thanks for the encouragement. I’m hoping for great results too.

    Viccus-well, you came to the right place if you’re looking for an education on turbinates! I didn’t know I had them either until I had a CT scan after my fourth infection in a row and the doc said ‘oh, you have very large turbinates’. What springs to my mind is the turbines on a jet engine :-). Really what they are is structures of folded cartilage (yes, you have them too!) that help to filter air, adjust the temperature, and remove disease causing agents. Here is a link to some more info. I won’t be having my turbinates removed, just shoved back a bit. Here is a link to a picture. I was amazed to learn we all have them. I was outraged that this vital piece of information was never taught to us at school! πŸ™‚

    Fuckkit-sorry April is dragging for you. But just think…Australia is on the horizon!

    Stacy-thanks πŸ™‚

    Shifty-see above for turbinate answers and yes, she had a lovely bowel movement, worthy of someone three times her size!

  8. Vicus Scurra says:

    Thanks for the picture. Caused an involuntary swelling of my olfactory epithelium.

  9. Whinger says:

    I HATE the way my teeth hurt when I have a sinus infection, and think you’re a hero for putting up with it so long.

    Practice makes perfect when asking for help….

  10. SID says:

    “I have to line up a couple of friends”

    And your septums deviated? Nose wonder. πŸ™‚

    Good luck for April.

  11. funny thing says:

    I was surprised to see that picture. Looks like a tattoo I have on my bottom….

    …have you been stalking me????

  12. Rude1 says:

    Hi! I found yor site from your post over at my favorite cowgirl’s blog (Patriotic Cowgirl). Just wanted to say hello and I had the same “inside job” a few years ago for the same reasons. It didn’t cure all the sinus infections, but reduced them a LOT! Good luck!!

  13. kyahgirl says:

    vicus-you’re welcome

    whinger-I’ll keep practising until I get it.

    SID-ha, ha-your prize for being so funny will be my excised septum!!!! ha ha.

    funny thing- yes, actually, I have πŸ™‚

    Rude1-Welcome πŸ™‚ Thanks for the encouragement. That helps.

  14. Rude1 says:

    I hope so! The recovery isn’t too bad, but you’ll sure be glad when they take out the packing! πŸ™‚

    BTW, I just wanted to say that I find your writing VERY funny; we have a similar sense of humor. And the blooming canola…You certainly have a beautiful view. I always am amazed at the scenery everytime I visit Canada.

  15. kyahgirl says:

    Aw, thanks Rude1 πŸ™‚

  16. mig bardsley says:

    Lovely picture of the turbinates! I’m also amazed we never heard about them at school. I mean why has such an obviously important bit of anatomy ignored wholesale by education departments all over the world.
    Well I do hope having them trimmed helps your sinus problems. Sinus infections are awful!

  17. I’m gonna show myself off to be abit of a special and ask: what is a deviated septum? My mental imagery is going abit bananas today.

  18. Lucyshnoosy says:

    (((Hugs))), Sweetie. I hope things look up for you.

  19. Marina says:

    Here is hoping that May is much, much better for all of you!
    ((((((((((L))))))))))

  20. Monika says:

    Came here via Ambrose;) A job well done and I had to satisfy my curiosity and come right over. yes I do like abit of milk in my tea!
    I had a boyfriend who had many problems with his nose-breathing related. Shape and form he didn´t care about! It was painful sometimes to see him fighting for breath. Additionally he had asthma as well and sometimes in the middle of the night he would jump up and fight for breath. I feel for you and hope thsi OP will reduce your pain and suffering. Good luck!

  21. Urban Chick says:

    always had a sneaking suspicion you were a deviant…

    πŸ™‚


    UC

  22. dddragon says:

    I think talking about poo is educational and informational (from what’s in baby poo to why mine would turn black …)

    But then, I’m also easily amused.

    Here via Doug’s place.

  23. Moan, moan, moan. That’s all wimmin ever do these days.

    And who are all those people above me up there?

    I think the sun will shine on you tomorrow. Like your own little nuclear reactor. But one that doesn’t blister on over-exposure.

    Goodbye.

  24. Meow says:

    Good luck with the surgery, and I hope DD’s tummy is now feeling better. Codeine can be nasty stuff.
    Take care, Meow

  25. Sar says:

    Sinus infections are no fun, I can’t even imagine living with them perpetually. Good luck with the surgery.

    Btw, great job on your guest post on Waking Ambrose, Kyhagirl! It was neat learning more about one of my favorite gals. πŸ™‚

  26. frangelita says:

    Deviated septum? Isn’t that what you get when you snort too much cocaine ? *deliberately misunderstanding situation* Is there something you haven’t been telling us, Laura?

  27. justine says:

    Get well soon

  28. Kyahgirl says:

    Lady Muck-if you follow the link on ‘deviated septum’ it describes it better than I can πŸ™‚

    Mig, Marina and Lucyshnoosy-thanks ladies

    Monika- Welcome :-)Glad you could make it. And thanks.

    UC-you were right about me all along ♥

    dddragon-Welcome! I see you are wise in the ways of poo πŸ™‚

    P&T-so nice to see your cheerful self here. *mwah*

    Meow-thanks. she is feeling better now.

    Sar-thanks, glad you could visit.

    Fran-SHHHHH!! don’t tell anyone. Just between us ok? πŸ™‚

    Justine-I’m so glad you came. I’ve been wondering if you’re OK. Thanks for the well wishes. ♥

Leave a Reply

