The work stuff…..

I shouldn’t leave the topic of my trip down south without mentioning something about the three days and evenings I actually spent working down there.

In so many ways it was an excellent work trip. The main thing being that I have been working remotely for many, many years and am part of a large network of people around the globe, trying to do things by netmeeting, e-mail and teleconference. It can be very frustrating. Since I came into my current role, the company I work for merged with another large company and many new people from that company came into my role at different locations. I’m called an ARL (Analytical Resource Leader). At the meeting last week I was thrilled to meet and spend time with 15 other ARLs, only 2 of whom I’ve met in person before. I presented the culmination of 2 years work from one of the teams I’m on and it went over well. We still have lots of work to do but made a lot of progress working together in person for several hours during the trip.

Another highlight was spending a bit of time with my boss, who lives in the Netherlands. I’ve only seen him twice in the last 5 years, although we talk on the phone a lot and are in touch quite a bit through all these teams I’m on.

There is an ARL from South America who I was happy to meet too. She is smart, lively, and funny. We have a lot in common in our work and family lives

I wish I could show you some pictures but I didn’t ask permission from anyone (other than Marsha and Michelle from my posts late last week).

One thing I really noticed is that we’re all aging quite a bit. But then I thought, you know, maybe its just that time has gone by and I’ve been working at the same place for 19 years! I find that amazing. How did that happen. Somehow I’m no longer a junior chemist type person and for some reason this just took me by surprise.

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The work stuff…..

  1. shiftclick says:

    How lovely to work in the same place for so long, and still be as fulfilled as you are. I dream of working at a place for such a long time… the closest I came was 8 years … although I am at eight years being self-employed now, so that’s gonna end up beating it. I figure if I get a job working for somebody else this year, then I’ve got a good 20 years left in me. There’s still hope!

  2. Margaret says:

    Its funny how the years sneak up on you.3 more of my longtime work parters are retireing this year. and I have lived and worked in Port Hardy since 1972. Amazing!

Leave a Reply

