How do you really feel about body hair?

Friday’s post is over at Cyberpols.  Cyberpols used to be mostly about politics and I was lurking there to learn about American politics and some stuff on history.  It was always a group blog (to which I didn’t contribute anything).   This week they’ve decided it should become a blog that is more about discussing social and cultural issues.  To that end, I agreed to do a post one day a week on a ‘social/cultural’ issue of my choice.  My day is Friday.

And we’re going to talk about hair!  I would love to hear the insights and thoughts from my international blogging buds as well as North American.  I’ve always been under the impression that its only the North Americans who are fixated on ‘smooth, hairless’ skin.  Is that really true? 

(Steel Worker, I’m sure you’ll have some input here as you’ve already admitted to a ‘thing’ for armpits!  heh heh.)

 So, come on over if you like.  Cyberpols as a blog is a work in progress. Hopefully it will become something fun and interesting.

This entry was posted in Continuing Education, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to How do you really feel about body hair?

  1. I’ve just woken up and intuitively went to your site. Must have been the word ‘armpits’ that did it.

    The less body hair the better. ( excluding eyebrows ) Though I don’t mind a bit of armpit hair so long as it doesn’t look Talibanesque. Fore arm hair is OK, as long as it’s straight.

    I don’t find body hair repulsive it’s just a preference and may be a fashion thing, not absolute.

  2. Stacy says:

    Body hair, huh? Well, on females I feel to each her own…I mean, if my neighbor doesn’t feel the need to shave, I won’t begrudge her anything. On myself, I think I’d give my left pinky finger to shave once and have it gone FOREVER. It’s SUCH a pain in the ass.

    Guys can be too hairy though…I have an uncle (whom I love very much) but he looks like a gorilla he has so much back hair!

  3. Hmmm… Hair.

    Women: Aesthetically, little to no body hair except on forearms (as long as it’s not to long and coarse). But, obviously, such things don’t really concern me!

    Men: I like body hair if it’s “tidy”. There’s nothing worse than a yeti. If someone’s got a massive chest wig, fine, but clipper it. Number three should be ok. Same goes for upper arms, pubic region and stomach. Ideally, the back, crack and shoulders should be hair free (waxed, shaved – I don’t care). Underarms: A lot is better than a little. If there’s not much there, shave it off. If it’s really long, cut it.
    I find that men with no body hair may look nice (and weird) but aren’t attractive.
    I think what I’m trying to say is: Body hair’s natural so go with it, but keep it under control.

    I shaved my underarms a couple of summers ago to aid the application of antiperspirant and much preferred the look (and feel), so I’ve carried on shaving.

    Wow! This really made me think about what physical type I like. I don’t think I’d given it much conscious though thought before. Thanks KG!

  4. P.S. I knew I was fussy but perhaps not to this extent.

    I’m destined to be live in spinsterhood for the rest of my days…

  5. Kyahgirl says:

    Thanks you guys. I knew I could count on your for some input!

    I hope you don’t mind but I’m going to copy your comments over at cypberpols to include them in the discussion 🙂

  6. shift.click says:

    Being an American, I shave my legs, underarms, and … well, my upper lip. The lip thing is obvious to nobody but the owner when she’s got her face pressed up against the bathroom mirror, so it’s just one of my Issues with Life. I can tell you that somehow shaving my legs is a big deal, because when I found out that my first husband was having an affair with my best friend and was in fact going to leave me for her, my first thought was But she doesn’t have her legs for God’s sake, how could he?. I don’t think I’ve ever recovered from that. I mean, that girl had legs like a gorilla.

  7. shift.click says:

    Obviously that was supposed to be But she doesn’t SHAVE her legs for God’s sake

  8. kyahgirl says:

    I figured that, but the type made me laugh 🙂

  9. Well, being an ancient idiot, hair has started growing places it never did before….and I think I am going to have it removed…with a laser..that way my earlobes can go back to the smooth sexy things they were back in the ’20s I mean back when I was 20

    oh and thanks for the birthday wishes!!

  10. logo says:

    You know, like many women, I had “Latin man” fantasies, till I lived in Italy. I lived also in Greece for a year as well, before that. But I found that I don’t personally care for all that really dark, coarse hair on MEN, never mind the women!

  11. Ms.L says:

    Heheehehee,I just had a link up,for this very thing;)
    I prefer to be hairless but so rarely am I,lol
    Well,except for summer time,then I’m ruthless.
    May be that’s why I ‘rebel’ in the winter;p

  12. garfer says:

    Men with hairy backs are neanderthal throwbacks and should be shot on sight.

  13. mig bardsley says:

    It’s always fascinated me that people remove hair from all over the place. It doesn’t bother me at all how much hair other people have or where thay keep it:)
    I don’t remove any, except for getting my hair cut (I mean the stuff on my head), a) because it’s yet another time consuming ritual which has to be kept up to date and may even cause pain and b) because I’m damned if I’ll go to all that trouble just because other people think I should 🙂

  14. mig bardsley says:

    I might reconsider if I start noticing any on my face though!!!

  15. Kyahgirl says:

    VI- welcome 🙂 now that you’re getting so old, I’m sure you’ll find hair growing out your nose and ears!

    logo- I hear ya!

    MS.L – heh heh, I know, I got the idea from you! (duly acknowledged over on Cyberpols)

    garfer – will you be showing us a picture of your hair less back then?

    mig- way to go!

  16. Caroline says:

    Kyah! I nearly changed one of MY things on my own meme to include never having to think about rudy body hair again. Am dark haired…having eye lashes like spiders doesn’t make up for the growth that sprouts elsewhere.
    Also, having hair permanently removed from your face is very painful.
    *ahem* Or so I’ve heard.

  17. Tina says:

    I hate armpits, but especially hairy ones. I don’t like the look of facial hair on men, but it looks even worse on women.

    I have up to ten black hairs that grow on my top lip if I let them and one fuse wire that constitutes my beard. If I don’t tend to the area above my eyes, I have a pretty spectacular monobrow. I don’t understand how women don’t notice their facial hair when I can see if from twenty paces. Perhaps they’re just more liberated and they don’t give a fuck and good on em.

    I’m not particularly hairy myself, but I’m sure glad I shaved my legs before going to the hospital the other day – they did an ECG and one of the electrodes goes near your ankle.

    I wish i could be bothered to go for a wax. Maybe I will before I go on my hols in the summer.

  18. Kyahgirl says:

    HI Tina, it seems like most people aren’t into a lot of body hair (judging from my small sample). Waxing is da bomb!

  19. Mrs Aginoth says:

    The Us is probably the most fanatical about it, but we have similar attitudes here in th UK too – or at least the media does;-)

    I’d say most girls shave their legs (at least if they’re going to be showing them off at all) and armpits are fairly common too.

    It’s one of the ways we distinguish ourselves from “those” dodgy Europeans:-)

  20. kyahgirl says:

    Mig-the facial hair is the worst!! ack.

    Hi Mrs. A-I’m interested to know what the Europeans are up to in this area.

  21. Kelley Bell says:

    Let it fly in the breeze
    And get caught in the trees
    Give a home to the fleas in my hair
    A home for fleas
    A hive for bees
    A nest for birds
    There ain’t no words
    For the beauty, the splendor, the wonder
    Of my…

    Hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair, hair
    Flow it, show it
    Long as God can grow it
    My hair

    I want it long, straight, curly, fuzzy
    Snaggy, shaggy, ratty, matty
    Oily, greasy, fleecy
    Shining, gleaming, streaming
    Flaxen, waxen
    Knotted, polka-dotted
    Twisted, beaded, braided
    Powdered, flowered, and confettied
    Bangled, tangled, spangled, and spaghettied!

    Oh say can you see
    My eyes if you can
    Then my hair’s too short

    -From the broadway musical, Hair

  22. kyahgirl says:

    Kelley Bell! thanks, lovely song 🙂

  23. Lou says:

    I have decided hair is vastly over rated. A few years ago I woke and found myself doing chemo. It took about 3 weeks for my head hair to disappear. My leg and arm hair went away quietly … not a whimper … I don’t even know when it left. Then went the pu#ic hair; for some reason I didn’t think I’d lose that. My eyebrows and eyelashes were the last to go; I didn’t think I’d lose them either. For over 6 months my body was completely hairless. It was weird. No hair to wash, no shaving, no protecting it in the wind. I then wondered if hair wasn’t highly overrated. I got so lost in not having to worry about it that I had just a little resentment when it started coming back in … snow white! I didn’t get all of my hair back … hair on head is thinner, much less hair on legs, and almost none under my arms. Eyebrows and eyelashes aren’t as lush as they were; the pu*ic hair is a shadow of its former self. My skin tone looked different without hair … I guess our skin gets part of its color from hair or something. I didn’t wear a wig … just scarves. I remember the most wonderful thing was when my hair was just about 3/4″ long … I went outside and the breeze ruffled it … it felt absolutely wonderful to have my hair blowing in the wind!

  24. Lol, seems this body hair thing is hotter than i thought. Personally, I think cyclist legs look better hairless.

    Women, hair free is a must for me.

    guys, keep it neet, no yeti look..just not good

  25. kyahgirl says:

    Hi Idiot 🙂 Thanks for sharing your opinions. Interesting how much ‘hair matters’ eh?

  26. Stacy says:

    Hey! New digs!

    Very nice! 🙂

  27. mike says:

    As a straight male, I think guys who are genetically hairy should get their arm,leg and armpits waxed, for example in my case. I am semi hairy and lucky to not have hair on my back and chest. So I wax everything including getting my eyebrow’s waxed too ! Men are not feminite by waxing. Trust me girls like it, Sex is hotter too !

Leave a Reply

