The Meme of 7’s

Gratefully swiped from Caroline.

7 things I’d like to do before I die

  1. Most importantly, raise my children so they can go off and be successful in their lives regardless of whether or not I’m there.
  2. Visit Grasse and soak in the perfume industry
  3. Take the Perfume Path tours in Paris with Mireille (we have this pencilled in for about 15 years hence)
  4. Learn to ride a horse properly, maybe take some Parelli training
  5. Get laser hair removal so I never have to shave again
  6. Explore my family tree and go to Scotland, England, and Ireland to discover a few of my ancestors.  (Of course if I’m there I’ll have to meet as many blog pals as possible. Don’t worry UC!)
  7. Meet my perfumista pals around North America

7 things I can’t do.

  1. Whistle
  2. Speak another language fluently (I barely manage with English sometimes)
  3. Cook with spontaneous creativity. Its always a chore
  4. I can never, ever smoke a cigarette again, or even put one in my mouth.
  5. do the crawl (swimming) I suppose I could learn. NO.  
  6. Sing….well, carry a tune anyway.
  7. Eat cilantro, ever. Blech.

7 things that attracted me to my partner.

  1. He’s a person who takes care of his friendships and other important relationships
  2. He’s funny
  3. Kind
  4. smart
  5. reliable
  6. analytical
  7. someone I can like, love and be ‘in love’ with. The initial zing is still there, always. 

7 things I often say.

  1. oh god
  2. I love you
  3. go lie down (to Casper)
  4. Shit
  5. oh for fuck’s sake!
  6. hurry up please
  7. I am so lucky

7 films

  1. Shine
  2. Ghandi
  3. The Gods Must be Crazy
  4. Whale Rider
  5. Mad Max
  6. The Lord of the Rings (counting them as 1-I’m a cheater)
  7. Four Weddings and a Funeral (even though I despise Hugh Grant)

7 Books ( I struggle with this one-I’ve read so many great books that I can’t remember them)

  1. A Wrinkle in Time
  2. The Lord of the Rings
  3. Shogun
  4. The Time Traveller’s Wife
  5. The Chronicles of Narnia
  6. To Kill a Mockingbird
  7. Trinity

I’m not going to tag anyone but if you want to do this meme go crazy!

This entry was posted in More about me, me, me, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The Meme of 7’s

  1. If you, a member of the perfume cognoscenti, come over here, I’ll have to do something about those whiffy poodles.

    In Wales I think it is actually Illegal not to be able to sing.

  2. mig bardsley says:

    I can do the crawl, I can, I can, honest. As long as I only want to go to the bottom of the swimming pool.

  3. Urban Chick says:

    i hope you will make it to the uk before 15 years are up… 🙂

  4. kyahgirl says:

    steelworker-I can sing-honestly, its a matter of whether you can bear to listen. You might be willing to pay me to stop!!

    mig-see you at the bottom of the pool!

    UC – me too. I’m thinking you’re right. Maybe within 5. If I’m going to pursue the geneology thing it would be good to do it before everyone kicks the bucket!

  5. Whinger says:

    Nice lumping of many books together in your top 7. Don’t think we’re not noticing.

    I also cannot whistle, and wish people would stop trying to teach me. I just can’t.

  6. Carolyn says:

    Love your list. I also cannot whistle! My entire family can do it, so I’m not sure if it’s genetic or what, but I’m completely incapable, no matter how hard I try. When I was growing up, everyone would always whistle to get the pets to come into the house, and if that was my job I had to yell out their names instead.

    I had forgotten about The Gods Must be Crazy until I read this post. I haven’t seen that movie in so long but I’ve always loved it.

  7. funny thing says:

    Yes, it’s illegal not to sing in Wales. You have to join a male voice choir at the age of 8, or face death by stoning.
    If you are not male you have to grow a beard anyway, and pretend to be male.

    Works well for me.

  8. Caroline says:

    There great these things aren’t they? A woman who loathes Hugh Grant! Hurrah!

    I loved The Time Travellers Wife too, amazing book.

  9. Jamie Dawn says:

    I like the books you chose to list.

    I would love to speak another language fluently too. I think it would so neat to be fluent in several languages. How very COOL that would be!!!

  10. Katie says:

    I am suspicious. ‘Soak in the perfume industry,’ or is really ‘soak in the perfume?’ Hmmmmm?

    I can’t whistle, either. Whinger is right: why IS it that people rarely ever believe us non-whistlers when we say that and insist on giving us their own ‘helpful’ mini-lessons? I hate that. So some of us can’t whistle. Big whoop. I can flip my tongue over backwards, and I don’t go around insisting everyone can be taught that.

  11. Kyahgirl says:

    whinger-you’re so observant. well, I admit to cheating 🙂

    carolyn-thanks for visiting! is that you cl97p?

    funny thing-I’ll be ok in wales then, I’ll just sing my heart out and hope you’re all too drunk to hear me (or so short that the sound waves go over you)

    caroline-yes, I hope she writes a sequel about the daughter

    JD-we probably have similar libraries.
    I suppose with all your throat surgeries you’re probably happy to be able to speak at all eh?

    Katie-I can’t imagine why you’d be supsicious of my perfume inclinations *blinks innocently*

  12. Carolyn says:

    Hi L! Yes, it’s me, clb97p. I’m so glad that I can read about your goings-on in your blog now! (I guess I’m late since I just discovered it a month or so ago). Hope that you are doing well!

  13. Kyahgirl says:

    Yay!! I’m so happy you found me. ♥

  14. Joan says:

    hey L can you snap your fingers? that one has now escaped me. I used to be able to just like I used to be able to whistle in a monotone.Old age, isn’t it wonderful.

  15. kyahgirl says:

    Hi joan 😉 ♥  yeah, I’m a good finger snapper!

Leave a Reply

