Drama (or not)

Some people have really exciting lives.  I don’t, except for the odd moments of extreme fear, anger, happiness, mixed in with the day to day goings on.  For example,  a  few weeks ago I was going to Extra Foods with the kids.  Just as Grant was getting out of the back seat and about to race over to where the shopping carts are, I heard a roaring motor and a SUV, driven by an idiot, went flying by at about 80 klicks. In the parking lot no less!  Well, all my supernatural Mommy powers were focused on shooting my right hand out to grab Grant’s collar. At the same time,  there were no powers left to move my left hand out of the closing door of my own vehicle! Ow, ow, ow!

So, I’ve had this mangled black nail since the end of January. The drama that really keeps me on the edge of seat is wondering if I’m going to lose that nail.

Here is a picture of the nail taken a few days after it happened:nailjan.jpg

Strangely enough, its hardly changed.

Here is a photo, take just moments ago:

nailfeb.jpg

Years ago when I played ladies* rugby for ayear I got stomped on really badly by cleats and lost both my big toenails. That happened within a week. So now I’m left to wonder if I’ll lose this nail. Maybe some people in the blogsphere have more experience than me so I ask you to vote:

I tried to insert a poll here but it won’t work. Typical.

I’d love to hear your vote anyway, in the comments! 

 

* I use the term ‘ladies’ loosely. Most of the team was made up of nurses from the Jubilee Hospital who were looking play a bit of Rugby but mostly to find fit, rugby playing guys to flange. 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Drama (or not)

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    logo said,
    February 19, 2006 @ 12:55 pm · Edit

    I am going to guess you will keep it.
    Had a similar thing happen and it took ages to clear but I did keep the nail.
    It was my thumb.

    Is it still sensitive at all?

    kyahgirl said,
    February 19, 2006 @ 2:06 pm · Edit

    nope, doesn’t hurt anymore

    Mrs Aginoth said,
    February 19, 2006 @ 2:40 pm · Edit

    You won’t lose the nail, but the discolouration will take ages to go.

    Trust me, I’m a first aider;-)

    Inexplicable DeVice said,
    February 19, 2006 @ 2:59 pm · Edit

    I’ve never had a black nail. Ever. So I have no idea if you’ll keep it. I hope so.

    ‘m a bit crap really. Sorry.

    Yay for Mummy Powers, though!

    mig bardsley said,
    February 19, 2006 @ 6:17 pm · Edit

    I did that to a thumb once too. I didn’t lose it but had the black creeping up the nail as the nail grew out. weord.
    Glad it doesn’t hurt any more.

    Katie said,
    February 19, 2006 @ 8:16 pm · Edit

    You know I’ve had this happen a few times to me (hi, total klutz here) and I’ve never lost the whole nail. Though I would lose parts of them as they grew out. The nail turned weak and softer(?, does this make sense?) as time went on and they grew, so portions of the damaged parts seemed to easily chip off. But that was as the injured part started to reach the tip of my finger, and none fell off completely or anything.

    Sherbert said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 6:33 am · Edit

    I’d hazard a guess that you’ll keep it but, as Mrs Aginoth says, I think the black bit will take aeons to go.

    buleria said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 9:40 am · Edit

    Ouch. I have neither idea nor opinion about whether or not you will lose your nail. I am absolutely tickled, however, tickled to know you used to play rugby.

    Inexplicable DeVice said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 11:14 am · Edit

    Finished now!

    Normal (?) filthless service resumed.

    kyahgirl said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 11:34 am · Edit

    Mrs. A, IdV, Mig, Katie and Sherbert: thank you all for your advice. Seems I’m not alone with my finger abuse.

    buleria-I guess I didn’t tell you about my Rugby days yet. They didn’t last more than one year. We went all the way to Oregon for a tournament one weekend and had to give up several games because the skanky whores were all over the place sleeping with their dates. That was about the end of my interest!

    IdV-that’s Ok!

    frangelita said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 2:10 pm · Edit

    Ladies’ rugby? really? Never lost a nail, but, being extremely short-sighted and virtually blind before I put my lenses in the morning, I’m constantly bashing my toes. It really, bloody hurts.

    Caroline said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 2:36 pm · Edit

    Oh my God, I can’t believe how beautiful your nails are. You’d vomit if I posted a picture of mine.
    Had a simular experience with my daughter when she was 3. She’s now 14 and I still see it in my minds eye…

    garfer said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 3:56 pm · Edit

    That nail is definitely a goner.

    Time to invest in a falsie methinks.

    Meegan said,
    February 20, 2006 @ 9:53 pm · Edit

    OWWWWWWWWWWWW!!!!!!!!!!

    kyahgirl said,
    February 21, 2006 @ 7:41 am · Edit

    Frangelita-I’m blind too, I know what its like.

    Caroline-you too can have nice nails-just requires an hour a month and an outlay of cash at the ‘nail lady’

    garfer- despite the fact that I’m usually an optimist and most comments think I’ll keep it, I’m leaning towards thinking I’ll lose it too. Hopefully we’re both wrong.

    meegan-thanks, that was a big owwwww. I can tell you feel my pain all the way to NY!

    margaret said,
    February 21, 2006 @ 10:50 am · Edit

    I am with Mrs.A you will have a black nail for months as it grows out.
    Glad you can’t see my nails ,I would never put a pic of them on the internet.
    I hear you are coming to visit the Mom soon ,I have to confess I used all the Tim Hortons coffee and haven’t replaced it yet,thought I would be back to Victoria before you. I am going on March 5th but I guess you will be back in the freezing wild of Alberta by then.

    Whinger said,
    February 21, 2006 @ 11:33 am · Edit

    Hmmmm…I too have had this, and did not lose the nail, although it took a full year to recover.

    betty said,
    February 21, 2006 @ 12:46 pm · Edit

    Had a black thumbnail a year or so back as a result of catching it in a stepladder – it also had a huge dent in it. Both the bruising and dent grew out but I’m bound to do something similar again in the near future …

    Crisiswhatcrisis said,
    February 23, 2006 @ 9:10 am · Edit

    So Betty, were you fighting with your stepladder because you don’t get on with your real ladder? What did your real ladder do? Walked out on you when you were a kid, I bet. Bastard. They’re all the same, ladders.

    Crisiswhatcrisis said,
    February 23, 2006 @ 9:16 am · Edit

    … and a bit more seriously, KG, I can’t believe you played rugby either. You seem far too nice. It’s a vicious, violent game. Legally trampling on people with cleats on, smashing people in the face with your forearm, hurling your shoulder into their gut, just for starters. Snapped arms, dislocated wrists, concussion, missing teeth, broken noses, mangled knees are all common. And then you should see the men. (Oho. Ithankyou).

    I play every week.

    kyahgirl said,
    February 23, 2006 @ 11:14 am · Edit

    Margaret- I’m excited about the trip too – always nice to see Mom and the rest of the Victoria contingent.

    Whinger-somehow I thought you’d have experience with this, being the home repair lady that you are!

    Betty-that sounds painful

    Crisis-I used to love rugby. I had played Field hockey for 5 years before that and really enjoyed a game with lots of running and a small dose of agression. I didn’t stick with it at Uni for a variety of reasons. Now I think I’m too old-just don’t bounce back from pain like I used to

    Crisiswhatcrisis said,
    February 24, 2006 @ 3:59 am · Edit

    I was going to say ‘you’re as old as you feel’ but actually that’s bollocks. I guess I’m just too stubborn to allow the looming 40th birthday to put me off.

    kyahgirl said,
    February 24, 2006 @ 11:09 am · Edit

    I don’t normally feel that old,,,,about 30. Its just when I ski into a tree or fall down while skating or get crushed under a load of elbows and knees, I realize, the brain is tricking the ol’ bod!!

Leave a Reply

