Valentine’s Day Aftermath

The kids came home from school with backpacks full of little valentines cards and candy.  I think they have the right approach. Everybody makes a card for everyone in the class, they pass them around in a flurry of giggles and smiles, share candy, that’s it. A big success. (Nicole is in grade 1 and Grant is in kinderarten).

 I have a really sweet memory of from the card preparation that I should have shared yesterday.  On Monday night I was helping Grant get his cards ready.  I had written the names of each classmate on individual valentines then he was sitting beside me, putting ‘from Grant’ on each one.  So, we’re going through the list…

Me: Ethan 

Grant: (printing laboriously) Done

Me: Ryder

Grant: Done

Me: Julia

Grant:  Julia…. mutter::mutter:: not Julia, she’s mean mutter::mutter

Me:  well, this year you’re just making them for everyone. In future years you can be more discriminating ok?

Grant: Ok, Julia, done.

Me: Kaylee

Grant: Done

Me: Jacob

Grant: Done

.

.

.

Me: Talia

Grant:  NOT TALIA! NOOOO. mutter::mutter:: Talia’s bossy::mutter::mutter:: scribble:scribble

(Grant proceeds to print his name in the most illegible fashion ever-little bit of passive agressive behaviour there!)

Me: (laughing) Thanks for making my day bud… I love you.

Grant: I love you too Mom, why are you laughing?

Me:  Nothing, just happy.

Me: OK, done.  (slyly) If you give me a hug we can go watch some Olympics.

 Grant: Yay!! (leaps into my lap) Limbics!!

 I am so grateful for these moments, they make all the “tough moments” worth the trouble.

This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Valentine’s Day Aftermath

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Whinger said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 10:32 am · Edit

    Lame ol’ Talia HARDLY deserves a Valentine.

    Tabby Rabbit said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 11:08 am · Edit

    Aww, that’s so sweet. I feel broody now.

    We never made cards for each other at school. Perhaps we should have enforced it in the office this year. Hmm, then again perhaps not…

    margaret said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 11:09 am · Edit

    Love you and am so glad you keep track of all the great moments in written word ,they can be relived when the” difficult” moments come.

    Maidink said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 2:07 pm · Edit

    Thanks for the smile!

    logo said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 3:12 pm · Edit

    Awwwwwwww,
    that is sooo sweet!

    mig bardsley said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 4:10 pm · Edit

    It’s lovely to read this the day after

    funny thing said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 5:57 am · Edit

    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Boys smell like lizards
    and mud, snot and poo

    funny thing said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 5:58 am · Edit

    Roses are red
    Violets are blue
    Boys smell like lizards
    and mud, snot and poo

    I thank you.

    funny thing said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 6:00 am · Edit

    Sorry.
    My work computer is playing silly-buggers.

    Stupid thing.

    Mahgwet said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 7:44 am · Edit

    With one kid in third grade and one in first, I got tired of the whole “buy paper just to give away and then be thrown out” business that I suggested we (I) make Valentine’s cookies to give away. We (I) made large, heart-shaped cookies, then we (I) iced them with royal icing in shades of white, pink or purple (that’s the kind that dries hard), and then the kids wrote “to” whom and “from” themselves on the cookies with food color markers.

    They were a big hit.

    Stacy said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 8:58 am · Edit

    That is ADORABLE!

    Brings back memories of elementary Valetines Day card exchanges from my own past!

    kyahgirl said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 9:12 am · Edit

    thanks for the idea Mahgwet,,,maybe we’ll try that next year.

    oh and ft, lovely poem. Simply lovely

    Glad I could give the rest of you a little smile. There are lots of ‘not so cute’ moments too but I try to forget them!!

    frangelita said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 1:33 pm · Edit

    Sadly I never got any Valentines as a child. Apart from starting when I was old enough to care when I started to get one not particularly tasteful Valentine every year until I got my first boyfriend. I’m 99.9 per cent certain it was from a member of my family.

    urban chick said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 3:23 pm · Edit

    aw, that’s so sweet

    my favourite melt-with-love line is ‘luv oo!’ from chicklet #1 (admittedly, she needs a little prodding)

    🙂

    ♥
    UC

    Rachel said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 3:28 pm · Edit

    Ah, that is sweet. Those are precious moments!

    MHN for short said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 4:22 pm · Edit

    Ahhhh, domestic bliss at it’s finest! Gotta love those kiddos!

    🙂

    mireille said,
    February 16, 2006 @ 4:57 pm · Edit

    Yay! Limbics! ♥ xoxo

Leave a Reply

