Thoughts on moving my blog….

So far, I’m having a few regrets about moving my blog but am willing to hang in there.  

 

My biggest beef is that the template  cannot be easily edited such as on Blogger.  I would like to be able to have sitemeter installed because, for some reason, I take great comfort in being able to tell when those near and dear to my heart have dropped by, even when they don’t comment (Mother and Barbara, I’m glaring in a westerly direction! -) )

 I have yet to explore the plug ins you can import, I’ll leave that for another day.  I may yet try the downloadable version of WordPress. I think that has more functionality.   Can’t really be arsed to go to all that trouble right now. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thoughts on moving my blog….

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Eastern Butterfly said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 12:41 am · Edit

    Blogspot is indeed very easy to manage. I change templates once in a while when i get bored…
    There are some good site counters out there: http://www.rightstats.com/ecsignup.htm – no need to provide personal details in order to register.

    funny thing said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 6:20 am · Edit

    It’s taking a bit of getting used to, I agree. The new site doesn’t feel as homely as the other one.. it’s all a bit high-tech!
    Ah well.

    So tell me, what are the benefits of WordPress? I din’t even know it existed.

    funny thing said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 6:21 am · Edit

    AArgh!

    It adds capitals to my name! It’s supposed to be lowercase.
    *moan, moan*

    😉

    Saur said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 7:03 am · Edit

    Happy V and Lupercalia Day, Kyahgirl!

    surly girl said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 8:53 am · Edit

    also coming out in support of blogger but that’s because i am basically a luddite. also i am grumpy as i didn’t get any flowers today.

    *sulks*

    mavi888 said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 9:03 am · Edit

    Sitemeter is really easy to configurate… http://www.sitemeter.com. There u can find explanation to put a sitemeter in ur wordpress blog

    kyahgirl said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 9:14 am · Edit

    Eastern Butterfly – thanks

    ft- I know, *moan*. So far I like the linking features on the blog templates and the option of categories but not enough to say its better than Blogger.

    Saur-happy lupercalia day. that post on your blog is great

    surly-don’t worry about flowers. They just die. Its all in the ♥ Happy V-day buddy.

    mavi888 – thanks. sitemeter can be put in the blog but it can’t pick up the stats. wordpress doesn’t allow the javascript required for it to work.

    piggy said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 10:20 am · Edit

    That’s because you’re using the free hosted version of WordPress.

    The downloadable version is really SOOOOOO much more configurable.

    If you don’t gave any hosting, kyahgirl, I’ll give you some space on ours. Just let us know and we’ll set it all up for you (including a working sitemeter!).

    kyahgirl said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 10:25 am · Edit

    Thank you sweet P! I’ll let you know soon.

    Mrs Aginoth said,
    February 14, 2006 @ 1:25 pm · Edit

    Ah see, that is why I like blogger. It doesn’t do everything that I’d like, but I can do everything that is on offer with my very minimal IT understanding.

    Bela said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 1:53 pm · Edit

    I don’t mind Blogger – except when it sometimes locks me out of my own blog, late at night (London Time).

    I like HTML (find it fascinating) but not having to bother with it most of the time is a bonus, I think. Frees the mind for more ‘important things’. LOL!

    Maidink said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 2:08 pm · Edit

    I’m still fence sitting. I’m working my Blogger blog for now, but I’m not giving up my WordPress blog. It’s mine, darnit, ALL MINE!

    Sorry … got carried away.

    Katie said,
    February 15, 2006 @ 6:31 pm · Edit

    Ah, yes. I do like Blogger for certain things, primarily I find it quicker to do fast brief posts, as well as the ease of image uploads. Honestly, it is nice for that, and I’m happing with my SNN blog on Blogger. But, the reason I chose WP for Scentzilla is first and formost the CATEGORIES. Friggn’ brill the ease with which you can categorize. And it is so nice to be able to create seperate pages, too. Not having been on wp.com, I’m not sure what you can do with it versus on your own paid host, but I was on blogsome for a wee bit. And I made the jump to my own paid host because I can do so much more with my site now, and yes, including using all sorts of plug-ins with relative ease. The other thing is that once you get used to how wp does themes, you really can do a ton with it to personalize them. Really, I swear! If you want any tips or anything, please let me know, I am so stinking slow responding to my email sometimes, but I do write back eventually. One thing you will wish to do is to familiarize yourself with xhtml and css first, since those will be the primary tools you use to change the appearance of your site if you wish to cusomize the look. Also, if you’re enjoying wp but do want your own host, I’m really happy with my service thus far from Bluehost (there’s a link to it on the wordpress.org hosting page.) Oh anyhow, just email if you like, I’m always glad to help if you want!

    Congrats on the successful jump to wordpress and I wish you so much good luck with it

Leave a Reply

