Treasure from home

In December, our Huckleberry Jam connection came through. (Thanks David and Kim!!)

Have you ever had huckleberries? They grow in the mountains around where I grew up, in the southern interior of British Columbia. Of course, this year’s jam is extra special because we (Ron and I and the kids, Casper, and my sister Margaret) joined my brother David and his wife Kim for a picking expedition on the back of Red Mountain. This year was a bumper crop. These are my and Nicole’s ‘huckleberry hands’ and they come with matching purple lips!! In Margaret’s case, a purple butt too, since she so elegantly sat on a loaded bush -)


My favorite way to eat huckleberries is right off the bush. Their flavour changes after they’ve been picked. I like them best fresh.

Rossland was originally a gold mining town. In the early part of the 1900’s it was a very large town with as many saloons as people (ok, maybe I’m exagerating a bit). It has an interesting history . If you ever get a chance to go to Rossland, try to see the Le Roi Mine. You can take an underground tour and learn a lot about the gold mining industry in the museum. There are still many mine shafts in the area and when we were young, the neighbourhood kids spent a lot of time exploring the hills around Rossland and a few of the mines.

The Le Roi mine and many others go under Red Mountain, which is a fabulous ski hill.
Red is right beside Granite Mountain and they are part of the same resort. A person can enjoy a lot of fine skiing on these two mountains.

I guess because Rossland in in the middle of no where its hard to get to so has never had the influx of tourists that other ski areas have. I always liked that. Quite a few well known skiiers came from that area and one of the more famous is Nancy Greene.

When the kids are older I’d like to go back for a week or two and do some skiing. We’ve gone a few times around here and they seem pretty keen. Keeping my fingers crossed!

This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Treasure from home

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Piggy and Tazzy said,
    February 6, 2006 @ 5:19 am · Edit

    Yay! I’m first!

    Huckleberries – never had them, but they sound delish! I’m a fan of most berries, so I’m bound to like them.

    Sadly, over here in Blighty, we get to taste very few of anything exotic or unusual.

    As for skiing – I haven’t ski’d since I was 12 years old (I used to go skiing at Aviemore, near where I grew up) and broke my leg.

    And it hurt.

    And I cried.

    Kyahgirl said,
    February 6, 2006 @ 8:29 am · Edit

    ouch! yes P, broken legs are an unfortunate side effect for some skiiers!

    Rachel said,
    February 6, 2006 @ 10:01 am · Edit

    Huckleberries! I’ve had them but it’s been a long time ago. They are good.

    I have never skied, but it looks like it’d be great fun!

    Ms.L said,
    February 6, 2006 @ 12:15 pm · Edit

    Why,we were once neighbors!

    Mmmm,I love those juicy little berries.
    The stained fingers and lips are the best:)
    Emjoy your bounty.

    Fred said,
    February 6, 2006 @ 5:32 pm · Edit

    Welcome back. I’ve never had huckleberries. I wonder where I could even get them here? They do look good, though.

    Jamie Dawn said,
    February 6, 2006 @ 11:39 pm · Edit

    I love blackberries. I don’t think I’ve ever tasted huckleberries. But, I’m such a berry lover, I’m sure I’d like them. A blackberry cobbler is heaven to me!!

    mig bardsley said,
    February 7, 2006 @ 3:51 am · Edit

    I’ve never skied but I used to be quite sure I would be able to do it if I tied two planks to my feet and stood at the top of a snowy hill.
    the result was so disappointing I never tried again!
    Huckleberries sound not at all disappointing. If I ever come across any I’ll try them.

    Meegan said,
    February 7, 2006 @ 7:43 am · Edit

    YUMMY!! I used to work at a cafe where we served homemade huckleberry pie. I often “accidentally” poked my finger in a piece, making it unsuitable for customer consumption, so that I would have to eat it. (Couldn’t let it go to waste!)

    Amber said,
    February 7, 2006 @ 9:12 am · Edit

    I LOVE berries — although I’ve never had huckleberries. I want some!

    margaret said,
    February 7, 2006 @ 10:35 am · Edit

    So glad you are back ,now my morning enterainment can resume.Reading your blog.
    Ahaa Rossland! Love the place and really miss sking. We took C. home to visit the family and ski in the 90’s while Mom and Dad were still in Rossland.
    Haven’t been skiing in 6 yrs.
    Now I spend time going down to Vic. to visit my grandson and Mom,everytime I pass by Mt Washington I am reminded that I have yet to ski there.

    Kyahgirl said,
    February 7, 2006 @ 11:14 am · Edit

    Rachel-yay-another huckleberry lover.

    ms. l-I didn’t really think of it but yes, we were practically neighbours!

    Fred-you might have to go somewhere mountainous

    JD-huckleberry cobbler would be great.

    mig-you’ll just have to come to Canada!

    meegan- yay-someone else who has had huckleberries. I love the pie too. With vanilla icecream!

    Amber-you’re not far-just come straight north and a bit west

    margaret-aren’t you glad I didn’ post the picture of your purple butt? heh heh.

    garfer said,
    February 7, 2006 @ 1:19 pm · Edit

    I want a huckleberry and I want one NOW.

    Can you make booze out of ‘em?

    logo said,
    February 7, 2006 @ 3:15 pm · Edit

    I have huckleberries!!
    In my yard, love em!

    margaret said,
    February 8, 2006 @ 10:39 am · Edit

    that would be a alful sight ,better to post huckleberrey fingers and lips
    I still have my berries in the frezer as a reminder of a great summer
    Just opened the jar of jam from Kim and David and enjoy every morsal of high mountain summer flavor yummmm
    Takes care of the Febuary blues

    David said,
    February 10, 2006 @ 5:57 pm · Edit

    not only was it a bumper year for berries,, but it is an excellent skiing season, lots of powder and now the sunshine has arrived. I hope we will see you skiing again one day soon Laura and absolutely bring the family. no febuary blues here

    David

  2. Awesome! Your blog ROCKS! Man… If I was you I would be proud, so you should! Laterz dude….

  3. Monika says:

    Late she comes, but she comes:)
    that is such an interesting town to grow up in. That explains why you are such a piece of gold.
    Love the mountains as well, unfourtinately my skiing sucks. I bette rdonæt say that out loud, or they´ll throw me out of this ocuntry 🙂

Leave a Reply

