Things discovered in the car wash:

While waiting in line at the car wash with my muddy vehicle last night, I had the brilliant idea to clean out my purse. Yikes, when did I become such a pack rat?

3 pairs of black gloves
cell phone
datebook
wallet
5 pens
4 lipsticks
Canadian passport
Weight watchers paraphernalia
reams and reams of 50/50 tickets purchased at Hockey this weekend
Novel: Vengeance in Death
green kid’s mitten
decorative RCMP pins for the kids
lip balm
lip liner
3 vials of perfume
a small flashlight
a thick wad of grocery store receipts
tissue

If you could see me, you would see a lot of eye rolling going on. What has become of the minimalist? And what is it with the black gloves?! Sheesh.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Things discovered in the car wash:

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Ms.L said,
    January 24, 2006 @ 3:04 pm · Edit

    LOL
    that’s why I only carry a wallet and even that is stuffed full of clutter;p

    funny thing said,
    January 24, 2006 @ 3:35 pm · Edit

    Bloody hell, that’s like my glove compartment.

    I’m guessing by ‘purse’ you mean ‘handbag’?

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 24, 2006 @ 3:41 pm · Edit

    Ms. L – I used to just carry a wallet, stuffed into a diaper bag

    ft- yes, purse = handbag. good catch. Oh yeah, I forgot to mention the squished (wrapped) chewing gum floating around in there too. Your glove compartment is fascinating-I haven’t ventured into mine for ages!

    Meow said,
    January 24, 2006 @ 4:11 pm · Edit

    I’ve never been a minimalist … those few things, phooey, I’ve got twice as much !!!! If anything were not in my bag, I would most definately need it, and what then !! I would go insane !!! Better to be safe, than sorry, and lug it all around all the time. That’s just me, anyway.
    Take care, Meow

    Meegan said,
    January 24, 2006 @ 6:11 pm · Edit

    I’ve been putting off cleaning out my purse for months. I’m sure I will find similar treasures when I do!

    colombina said,
    January 24, 2006 @ 9:15 pm · Edit

    So what perfumes are those? You can’t just mention sample vials and leave it at that!

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 24, 2006 @ 9:57 pm · Edit

    columbina- *gasp* how could I NOT tell you? One was ‘Oh my Dog!!’, a memento from pigeonmom on my visit to Seattle in September, Thierry Mugler ‘Alien’, MPG ‘Rose Muskissime’. Happy? I love the MPG.

    Trina said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 12:50 am · Edit

    LMAO that you were carrying Oh My Dog! around…

    And although I think my current purse might actually be smaller than yours (based on contents), I’m too chicken to go through mine, let alone list what’s in it! At best, it would demonstrate what a klutz I am. I shudder to think what the “worst” ramifications would be!

    frangelita said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 4:45 am · Edit

    I invested in a rather large handbag earlier this year after finding no appropriate bag would carry all my important stuff (wallet, keys, phone) as well as a jumper and a bottle of water. This seems to have increased the amount of unnecessary stuff I carry exponentially. Hmm, maybe I need to try and slim back to a smaller bag.

    Fuckkit said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 5:40 am · Edit

    More than one pair of black gloves is essential. Lose a glove, you have spares.

    Amber said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 7:08 am · Edit

    I usually have about 85 spare pieces of paper in my purse as well. My latest purse doesn’t have the room that my old one did — and I REALLY miss my old purse. Minimalist is boring. It’s more fun to be prepared for every possible instance!!

    Kellycat said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 9:55 am · Edit

    As well as most of the above and an MP3 player, my handbag also contains a mosquito bite clicker and a TENS machine…

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 10:29 am · Edit

    trina-I love it when the perfume girls come around and laugh at my vials!

    frangelita-you can fit a jumper in yours too? *impressed*

    fuckkit-of course, except, well, do you think I have three matching pairs?that would be far too sensible!

    amber-you’re right-minimalist is boring.

    kellycat-are you a chronic pain sufferer? those 34DD giving you a backache? And what’s with the mosquito bite clicker? never heard of it!

    Kellycat said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 11:07 am · Edit

    Until recently I was a actually chronic pain sufferer, but I like to keep the TENS on me still just in case. The clicker is a little thing which you hold just over your bite and it gives you a very mild electric shock which magically stops the itching. I think it’s something to do with the electricity interrupting the histamines or something.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 11:22 am · Edit

    Thanks kc. I’m sorry about the chronic pain, that’s an awful burden. Now, the clicker really interests me. I get terribly itchy from mosquito bites. Must look into it!

    Justine said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 1:14 pm · Edit

    pack rat, pack rat!
    sounds exactly like mine but I’d also have my digital camera (can’t leave home without it at the moment) and many tubes of sunscreen.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 1:58 pm · Edit

    ah sunscreen-that’s good. In the summer I have it stashed in all the vehicles, the house, the purse

    Fred said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 3:40 pm · Edit

    A passport? Just in case you want to flee the country?

    Rachel said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 4:07 pm · Edit

    Oh, gee and I thought I carried it all!! I usually have everything but the kitchen sink!

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 4:25 pm · Edit

    Fred-funny that you noticed that. I wondered too. I had it in there from my trip to Seattle last Sept. Now that I’m planning to go to Texas in March I might as well just leave it, right? Yeah.

    Rachel- pack rats unite!

    pissoff said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 10:43 pm · Edit

    That must be some giant purse you’re sporting.

    Jamie Dawn said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 11:07 pm · Edit

    Good grief! Just how big is that purse of yours? My purse is small and packed “just so.” I’ve got it all organized and I’m anal about it.
    My mom bought me one of those really cute back packs for Christmas. I’m trying to work up the courage to transfer all my stuff from my purse to the back pack.
    This is a BIG decision. I will have to throw my whole, organizational system out and start anew.
    I hope I can do it. Wish me luck!

    logo said,
    January 25, 2006 @ 11:18 pm · Edit

    For most things I only have a wallet in my pocket, much my preference.
    BUT, I am always on the hunt for the perfect purse.
    I have this fantasy that if I just find the RIGHT purse the clutter/weight to convenience/organization ratio will somehow balance, cosmic order will be achieved.
    Also, it would be good if I would quit losing them, another reason I stick with the wallet, I don’t leave it behind.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 26, 2006 @ 12:13 pm · Edit

    pissoff-Yeah, its the biggest one I’ve ever had, next to the diaper bag of course!

    JD-Good luck, you’ll be fine!!

    logo-I don’t think cosmic order will ever be achieved. Best to stick with what’s working

    Lucy Stern said,
    January 27, 2006 @ 9:40 am · Edit

    Sounds about like my purse.

Leave a Reply

