It’s not all brain candy of course….

Here is a book I finished recently: Overcoming Dyslexia, a Scientific approach.
Why? Well, I am suspicious that my dear daughter might be struggling with this. There is a lot of this affliction in my mom’s side of the family and it is known to be hereditary. Mostly I notice that, for a really smart and inquisitive kid, Nicole is having a hell of a time learning to read. We mentioned this concern to her teacher at our meeting in November and she was relieved to not have to bring it up, because she noticed the same thing.

This book is a pretty interesting resource and I’m glad our library had it but the best news is that the school district has a new ‘Early Literacy Intervention’ program and have asked if we will let Nicole participate in it. Absolutely!! They will be spending extra time with her every day on reading. We are working on it at home too. I honestly think there are only two important things she needs to learn in school; to read and comprehend and to get along with people. Everything on the road to success is built upon these two things.

I think we’re already making some progress and I hope it continues. It breaks my heart to see her frustration and reluctance when its time to practice spelling and reading.

Have any of my readers ever dealt with dyslexia? I know a few of you are teachers and several are bookworms-any thoughts to share? Thanks -)

This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s not all brain candy of course….

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    logo said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 12:09 am · Edit

    I had a great deal of trouble learning to read and dealing with the written word in general till I was nearly 12. It was not exactly dyslexia but one of the myriad related processing type of disorders. Alot of information and involved parenting teamed with educators is the best way to overcome the challenges. Lots of games to keep the exercises interesting and fun, you know, the usual.
    Good luck, and take courage, she may well grow up to be a logophile/book lover anyway!

    Kellycat said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 1:13 am · Edit

    My best friend as a child was not very academically gifted and really struggled to read and write. They didn’t diagnose her until she was in her late teens, and only because her younger brother had been diagnosed. As she put it, “I always just assumed I was thick.” She’s now a primary school teacher!

    Kitty Brown said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 2:38 am · Edit

    The beautiful Susan Hampshire (Monarch of the Glen) and Tom Cruise are two of the many famous dyslexics. Are you sure first, that she might need spectacles?

    Trina said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 7:12 am · Edit

    Hey sweetie – I’m so sorry your DD is struggling with something that should be a joy. My father is dyslexic, and was labeled “learning impaired” (this was the 50’s) as a child. He worked through it and went on to be a British Literature major in college. He’s a Justice of the Peace now, which means *tons* of legal reading, and his primary source of entertainment is reading – he and my mom don’t even have a tv!

    I’m just telling you this to let you know (and of course, feel free to share with your DD, DH and anyone else – it’s not a secret) that not only can it be worked through, but also that she may come to love reading someday, or at least not find it to be a struggle. (((L and DD)))

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 9:43 am · Edit

    logo, kellycat, kitty and trina-thanks for the encouragment!

    Whinger said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 10:46 am · Edit

    I have no experience with Dyslexia (my specialty was ADD), but I DO know that with any learning disability, success mostly depends on parental involvement and the child’s attitude.

    So I have every confidence that she will triumph — she has everything she needs to do so.

    Congratulations again on being a fantastic mom.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 12:29 pm · Edit

    whinger- thanks! You’re very encouraging

    Urban Chick said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 1:01 pm · Edit

    i don’t have any direct personal experience of dyslexia but on a positive note, it seems that things are much better now than they were two or three decades ago in terms of identifying it and developing strategies to help

    my friend’s partner has it but it was never diagnosed at school, so he suffered the stigma of being a ‘poor reader’ and feels very embittered about his education as a result

    i’m sure too that N will triumph with such great parents behind her!

    ♥
    UC

    Meow said,
    January 13, 2006 @ 4:56 pm · Edit

    Hi kyahgirl, thanks for dropping by my place.
    Good luck with your quest re dyslexia. You are lucky in that these days there are many things that can be done to help, compared to when we were kids. I’m sure a solution can be found … sometimes it is a simple as coloured glasses !!! True, don’t laugh !
    Anyway, hope all goes well.
    Take care,
    Meow

    Mrs.Aginoth said,
    January 14, 2006 @ 7:22 am · Edit

    As everyone else has said, Dyslexia is less of a problem for kids now, as it is usually easily diagnosed & often “curable”, or at least manageble. The secret is to catch it as early as poss so she never feels that she is behind/stupid, and to be encouraging & generally a good parent. Which you are.

    They say nearly all genius’ were dyslexic – although sadly that doesn’t mean all dyslexics are genius;-)

    My brother wasn’t diagnosed with dyspraxia (different, but related) till he was 17. We all just assumed he was slow, when in fact he’d made it right through school unable to write any notes! He was by far the most succesful of all of us, both academically, financially & career-wise, so it needn’t be a handicap.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 14, 2006 @ 9:06 am · Edit

    UC – ♥

    Meow – I’m glad you came by.

    Mrs. A – thanks for sharing your experience.

    You’ve all been very helpful. The last thing I want is for her to feel stupid. She’s really bright!

    Fred said,
    January 14, 2006 @ 2:11 pm · Edit

    In my fourth year of teaching now, it’s never been brought to my attention nor have I noticed a problem with a student.

    This post really makes me think, though. Have I missed anything? Should I be better trained?

    I think I need to read up on this – thanks for the idea.

    GreatSheElephant said,
    January 15, 2006 @ 8:41 am · Edit

    I heard about the coloured glasses idea too.

    I also read somewhere that when it comes to a child learning a foreign language at school, dyslexics often do a lot better with Chinese or Japanese than a European language as it engages a different part of the brain.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 15, 2006 @ 11:40 am · Edit

    Fred, I’m sure you’re a very diligent teacher!

    GSE – thanks, You know what is interesting, the kids are in French Immersion so she is learning another language at the same time. In grade 4 they will start Spanish.

    mig bardsley said,
    January 15, 2006 @ 4:42 pm · Edit

    I haven’t any experience of dyslexia but it does seem that teaching and understanding are a lot better these days. People who come from a supportive and literate background have a good chance of learning to cope at hte very least.
    Also, although reading is very important there are other languages than the written one. There are art and music and maths which are all ways of communicating. And all of these can be paving stones on the roads to success.

    Justine said,
    January 15, 2006 @ 8:21 pm · Edit

    The only experience I’ve had with dyslexia is as an exam scribe. All I know is that dyslexia has nothing whatsoever to do with a person’s smarts. There’s no way I could ever do higher maths – but my dyslexic dictaters did!

    The mind is such an amazing thing.

    Best of luck finding the best ways for your daughter to do reading and writing.

    Silver J said,
    January 15, 2006 @ 8:58 pm · Edit

    Good luck.

    Piggy and Tazzy said,
    January 16, 2006 @ 5:45 am · Edit

    Hello! Why have I never been over here before? I like it!

    Anyway (fave word), haveing never had to struggle with dslyiaxe (just kidding) myself, it’s one of those things thats very difficult to understand.

    Doesn’t stop my sympathising though. I can remember very well a couple of schoolfriends who had a nightmare experience with it. It was ncie to learn that as time progressed , they managed to overcome it very well.

    I’ve heard that there are a LOT of great therapy courses out there to be had. Some of the foundations/charities have sponsored programmes enabling children to learn to cope with it for free.

    We wish your daughter much luck and hope it’s nowhere near as bad as you may fear.

    Piggy and Tazzy said,
    January 16, 2006 @ 5:47 am · Edit

    I can’t believe I made so many typo’s in that comment.

    *dull thud as head hit’s desk*

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 16, 2006 @ 8:04 am · Edit

    Mig-you’re right! I have a girlfriend who went through school thinking she was a bit retarded just because she had dyslexia. Yet, her creativity it brilliant-she is amazing in so many ways-and smart too.

    justine and silver j – thanks for visiting

    P&T- don’t worry about the typos…I do that myself..post comments full of typos, missing words…its normal around here!

    Sherbert said,
    January 16, 2006 @ 9:59 am · Edit

    My nephew was diagnosed as being dyslexic having been told by his teachers that he was just thick. Once he’d been diagnosed and, by chance, moved schools, he improved enormously. He has a very high IQ and could take a bicycle completely apart and put it back together at age 5. He now works as an engineer.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 16, 2006 @ 10:32 am · Edit

    sherbert-welcome Wow, that’s interesting about your nephew.

    risa said,
    January 16, 2006 @ 2:28 pm · Edit

    hey sweetie! i know you’ll probably get a lot of good advice, but wanted to let you know that one of my dear friends is a teacher specializing in learning disabilities of various kinds. she’s the one who let me know that i have dyscalcula so if you ever have a question that people aren’t answering, let me know i’d wish you and Nicole good luck but you’re generating your own!

Leave a Reply

