My Dark Secret

Have you ever heard of book OCD? Me neither. But, uh, I think I might have it.

It all started yesterday, when I read a post at Whinging It – she talked about her favorite books. The Gabaldon reference made me remember I had The Fiery Cross sitting around, waiting to be read. So I went to find it. It was right there, on the basement shelf with another 15 or so books that I had bought but not read yet. Right in front of the book shelf was a cardboard box with another 20 or so books I had bought from the Mystery Guild, and beside that, another box of paperbacks that were waiting to be read. So, I thought to myself, I really should get my pile of ‘books in waiting’ all together. So, I pulled a few more out from under my bed, and then there are about 10 left to read from the 30 or so I brought back from Joan’s place in September. So, I organized them here in the bottom of my closet. There are a lot of mysteries, (Cornwall, Grimes, Paratsky, Patterson) some historical romance, some kids books (decided to re-read A Wrinkle in Time and the rest of L’Engle’s books), and a pretty big pile of self help and non-fiction. All in all, 86 ‘books in waiting’. Not including the 5 ‘in progress’ on my bedside table and the paperback in my purse. Oh, and I forgot about the 23 J.D. Robb’s on the way from Ebay.

Um, Help!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Dark Secret

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Kellycat said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 3:14 am · Edit

    My Dad’s just as bad. He can’t resist 3 for 2 offers, but only tends to read when he’s on holiday.

    Whereas I get through books so quickly that I never have any in waiting. I need to allow at least 10 for a fortnight’s holiday, so I’m scouting for suitable candidates at the moment for the Caribbean.

    JUST DON’T BUY ANY MORE UNTIL YOU’VE GOT THROUGH AT LEAST HALF OF THEM!

    Fred said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 9:02 am · Edit

    I’m one step away from OCD. It’s such a curse.

    GreatSheElephant said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 9:45 am · Edit

    I have about 120 in waiting. And I went through a phase of buying books about maths and crypto that I’ve never been able to face reading.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 10:03 am · Edit

    kellycat-two great historical romance reads to take to the Caribbean are by Marsha Canham. One is called The Iron Rose and the other is Across a Moonlit Sea. They are both based in the time of the privateers, when the Spanish were at war with the British and trying to take command of the seas in the Caribbean. Canham’s ability to create the scene and history is excellent. The female protagonists are both tough, kick ass sea captains and there are no drawing rooms, salons, in sight. May I also recommend starting the JD Robb ‘in death’ series? Its great. Have fun buddy.

    Fred- nice to see another book-o-phile! we all must stick together.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 10:05 am · Edit

    oh hi GSE-didn’t see you there I can see why you might have trouble getting started on the math books. maybe intersperse them with something more riveting?

    logophile said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 3:04 pm · Edit

    Ahhh yes,
    I am jealous, one of the early bargains for peace in my marriage was that I would only buy books reference books, or books like that. My enormous appetite for fiction, etc. was to met primarily at the library. My list of books to be requested from the library, my request list, and my list of checked out books is usually bordering on the ridiculous.
    My husband continues to eye with suspicion bags from book stores knowing a lack of vigilance will result in the book collection forcing the people out of living space.

    funny thing said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 3:40 pm · Edit

    GSE – burn the maths book. It’s unhealthy.

    Yeah, bit of a bookworm too, me. Imp and I went charity-shop browsing yesterday in order to buy ONE book for me as I’ve run out.

    I bought 8.

    Yay!

    mig bardsley said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 6:43 pm · Edit

    I have three books in waiting at the moment, and I’m half way through The System of the World. I used to gobble books at the rate of one a night, now all I read is blogs.
    I can’t even remember where I’ve put the books I haven’t read.

    Mom &Mgt said,
    January 8, 2006 @ 10:46 pm · Edit

    books We love them ,but not all over the house just in the library please.

    I have three on my bedside table and noo time to resd as dressmaking I am doing the wedding is on the 21st and dress is not done. But Mom is helping with the handstiching . Love you all

    Spinsterella said,
    January 9, 2006 @ 3:12 am · Edit

    I constantly have between 20 and 30 books waiting to be read due to my hardcore charity-bookshop addiction.

    No maths though. That’s just weird.

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 9, 2006 @ 8:44 am · Edit

    I love the charity bookshop idea too. Also, our libraries have a yearly clear out and those are the best deals ever! I got several hardcover mysteries by authors I like for $1 each!!

    Amber said,
    January 9, 2006 @ 8:58 am · Edit

    That’s exactly how my house is. I have books by my bedside, shelves full of them, piles on my coffee table. You name it. Books books books. But I’ve always been like that. It could be worse — there are many worse vices than reading and collecting books.

    Whinger said,
    January 9, 2006 @ 12:53 pm · Edit

    Oh my.

    I have the opposite problem. I’m constantly finishing a book with nothing new to occupy me.

    I then re-read an old favorite.

    I re-read a lot of books. A lot.

    frangelita said,
    January 9, 2006 @ 1:43 pm · Edit

    I currently have three books on the go (unusually, two are non-fiction) and a fairly diminished pile of two waiting. I love libraries though.

    Canadian Dude said,
    January 9, 2006 @ 7:26 pm · Edit

    This post has been removed by the author.

    Canadian Dude said,
    January 9, 2006 @ 7:27 pm · Edit

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. It’s always nice know there are other Canuck bloggers out there.

    I gave up buying and not reading books years ago. But I do have a nice collection of mint hardcovers that look great in my bookcase.

    VanessaJaye (you can find her link on my blog) is another Canauck bookaholic. She’s also an aspiring writer. I suggested that she sell her books on ebay.

    Reviewer “Devil” Extraordinaire said,
    January 10, 2006 @ 3:40 pm · Edit

    To quote Francis Bacon Sr.

    “Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested”

    So never fret over a pile of books. Not having a book to read is a bigger conundrum.

    Oh..and “100 Years of Solitude” is definitely one to be chewed and digested. But be patient with it.

    katiedid said,
    January 10, 2006 @ 6:12 pm · Edit

    Oh god, I suddenly feel a whole lot better about my “to read later” stack of books. Wow. 86. You could almost make that a project for the year, really. Kind of a kamikaze reading challenge: how many of them can you get through in one caledar year?

    Kyahgirl said,
    January 11, 2006 @ 8:08 am · Edit

    devil-I pulled 100 years of Solitude out of my closet last night!

    katie-I’ll take you up on that challenge. I’ll let you know how I make out.

    MHN for short said,
    January 18, 2006 @ 4:09 pm · Edit

    And I thought that I was a good reader. I must say, you’ve got me beat by a bit…

    Lucyshnoosy said,
    January 27, 2006 @ 7:46 am · Edit

    Kyahbabe: Unfortunately, Firey Cross is Diana Gabaldon’s slowest, hardest-to-get-through novel. I recently wrote a review on Amazon.com, and gave it two out of five stars. I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts! (PS: I could relate; I’m always surrounded by piles of library books.)

Leave a Reply

