Adventures in Parenting: Expletives

So, The kids were having a bath and Nicole opens the conversation with:

Mom, is there an ‘f’ swear?
Me: (cautiously) uh, yes. why?
Nicole: well, we were talking about it a school today.
Me: (eyebrows up) really? that’s interesting. who were you talking about that with?
Nicole: well, we asked Mr. Baker and he said there is one but he wouldn’t tell us what it was. He just said its a bad word.
Me: Hmmm. Yes. uh….
Nicole: so what it is?
Me: uh, hmmm, well, you’ve probably already heard it…….(hedging, wishing to to hit by lightning…)
Nicole: what is it Mom? I might have heard some other kids say it.
Me: well, um, its ‘fuck’. Its a word you’re going to hear but you shouldn’t use it.
Nicole: what does it mean?
Me: (gulp) well, it can mean sex
Nicole: what’s sex?
Me: You know, we talked about that…
Nicole: Kaelene says her Mom says its kissing and cuddling.
Me: No, that’s kissing and cuddling. Sex is when a man puts his penis in a woman’s vagina and other things that involve the private parts.
Nicole: oh…(wheels turning) Yeah, we read that in the Body Science book.
Me: sex can also be used to refer to gender, you know, boy or girl, man or woman.
Nicole: oh, why is fuck a swear?
Me: well, its considered a rude word. You know how we taught you not to talk with your mouth full? well, its also bad manners to use such a rude word.
Me: You know, words themselves aren’t bad…its how they are used. Don’t forget it ok? Just because you know some words you shouldn’t use them.
Nicole: I heard you say the f word…
Me: (squirming) Yeah, I know, sometimes people say it when they are really mad. If you hear me saying it again you can send me for a time out. I’m trying to stop saying it OK?
Nicole: Ok, is there a swear that starts with A?

Me. uh, yeah. uh, lets get jammies on and have stories ok?

runs away…..

This entry was posted in Adventures in Parenting, Family, Humour, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Adventures in Parenting: Expletives

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Kelly said,
    December 26, 2005 @ 5:00 pm · Edit

    I admire how open and honest you are with your daughter. I think it’s an excellent characteristic. My mom was the same way with me growing up, 25 years later, I STILL have an OPEN and HONEST relationship with her. I remember growing up and other girls in my grade not know what this or that was, and then not being able to ask their own mothers b/c they didn’t feel “comfortable” or “right” asking their OWN mom’s. This story just brought back TONS of memories of my childhood and talking with my own mother on so many occasions.

    mig bardsley said,
    December 26, 2005 @ 6:45 pm · Edit

    Aged five, I asked my mum about baby making. She was ever so good and well prepared and carefully explained all sorts of detail to me. I’m told I went very red in the face and said “well it sounds a funny business to me”.
    when it came to my turn to explain, the children semed to know more than me already about how it’s done, how to prevent it and who to do it with. So I said it’s a funny old business, don’t worry too much about it. They seem to have got the hang of it!
    Happy new year to you too kyagirl. Thanks for your nice visit

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 26, 2005 @ 11:06 pm · Edit

    kelly, thanks for visiting

    mig-that’s funny-I remember my mom telling me how I kind of alarmed her when she asked if there was anything I needed to know about ‘the birds and the bees’ and I blithely replied ” nope-I know it all” Yikes!

    logo said,
    December 26, 2005 @ 11:09 pm · Edit

    Yes, we just had a conversation about Some choice words and the whys and wherefores of their use.
    I attempted to clarify for Thing One (aged 9) why son of a b**** is a bad word, etc. etc.
    iii yiii yiii

    Urban Chick said,
    December 26, 2005 @ 11:20 pm · Edit

    i look forward to hearing about your next ‘time out’…

    🙂

    colombina said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 7:50 am · Edit

    This is something I have to look forward to I guess…in a couple of years the questions will inevitably start…
    As kelly said above your honesty with your daughter is so admirable.

    Fred said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 8:12 am · Edit

    Priceless. I’m laughing out loud as I remember some of those conversations with my kids. Now, all they have to do is watch MTV for life’s explanations.

    Fred said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 8:12 am · Edit

    Priceless. I’m laughing out loud as I remember some of those conversations with my kids. Now, all they have to do is watch MTV for life’s explanations.

    Fred said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 8:12 am · Edit

    Priceless. I’m laughing out loud as I remember some of those conversations with my kids. Now, all they have to do is watch MTV for life’s explanations.

    Amber said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 8:24 am · Edit

    Wow — you handled that so well!! I would have stuttered a lot more. And therefore not explained it as calmly at all.

    So glad you had a nice Christmas!!

    Amber said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 8:24 am · Edit

    Wow — you handled that so well!! I would have stuttered a lot more. And therefore not explained it as calmly at all.

    So glad you had a nice Christmas!!

    Amber said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 8:24 am · Edit

    Wow — you handled that so well!! I would have stuttered a lot more. And therefore not explained it as calmly at all.

    So glad you had a nice Christmas!!

    whinger said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 10:34 am · Edit

    Well done.

    I am also looking forward to time out tales.

    whinger said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 10:34 am · Edit

    Well done.

    I am also looking forward to time out tales.

    whinger said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 10:34 am · Edit

    Well done.

    I am also looking forward to time out tales.

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 4:05 pm · Edit

    Thanks all-I’ll be sure to have many more tales as the kids go through their stages! I’m sure I’ll be going for a few time outs too. I have a hard time erradicating naughty words from my vocabulary!

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 4:05 pm · Edit

    Thanks all-I’ll be sure to have many more tales as the kids go through their stages! I’m sure I’ll be going for a few time outs too. I have a hard time erradicating naughty words from my vocabulary!

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 4:05 pm · Edit

    Thanks all-I’ll be sure to have many more tales as the kids go through their stages! I’m sure I’ll be going for a few time outs too. I have a hard time erradicating naughty words from my vocabulary!

    mgt said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 6:36 pm · Edit

    Don’t worry about it,you did a fine job and the rest of the world will be giving the Kids lots more questions to ask and explanations to give will come as you need them. love

    mgt said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 6:36 pm · Edit

    Don’t worry about it,you did a fine job and the rest of the world will be giving the Kids lots more questions to ask and explanations to give will come as you need them. love

    mgt said,
    December 27, 2005 @ 6:36 pm · Edit

    Don’t worry about it,you did a fine job and the rest of the world will be giving the Kids lots more questions to ask and explanations to give will come as you need them. love

    frangelita said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 5:08 am · Edit

    I remember asking my mum about it and very thoughtfully she told me in some detail. This may have been at around the same time as I was finding it hilarious that tampons became enormous white fluffy things when you got them wet. She was much less sympathetic and understanding about that.

    frangelita said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 5:08 am · Edit

    I remember asking my mum about it and very thoughtfully she told me in some detail. This may have been at around the same time as I was finding it hilarious that tampons became enormous white fluffy things when you got them wet. She was much less sympathetic and understanding about that.

    frangelita said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 5:08 am · Edit

    I remember asking my mum about it and very thoughtfully she told me in some detail. This may have been at around the same time as I was finding it hilarious that tampons became enormous white fluffy things when you got them wet. She was much less sympathetic and understanding about that.

    Spinsterella said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 6:49 am · Edit

    “it’s a funny old business, don’t worry too much about it”

    Possibly the best advice I’ve ever heard – brilliant!

    Spinsterella said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 6:49 am · Edit

    “it’s a funny old business, don’t worry too much about it”

    Possibly the best advice I’ve ever heard – brilliant!

    Spinsterella said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 6:49 am · Edit

    “it’s a funny old business, don’t worry too much about it”

    Possibly the best advice I’ve ever heard – brilliant!

    mireille said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 3:26 pm · Edit

    Yes, with UC and Whinger, I look forward to TimeOut Tales by Kyahgirl. LOL! xoxo

    mireille said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 3:26 pm · Edit

    Yes, with UC and Whinger, I look forward to TimeOut Tales by Kyahgirl. LOL! xoxo

    mireille said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 3:26 pm · Edit

    Yes, with UC and Whinger, I look forward to TimeOut Tales by Kyahgirl. LOL! xoxo

    Ms.L said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 6:08 pm · Edit

    Haaaa!! Too funny!

    Ms.L said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 6:08 pm · Edit

    Haaaa!! Too funny!

    Ms.L said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 6:08 pm · Edit

    Haaaa!! Too funny!

    risa said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 11:08 pm · Edit

    *cackle* brilliance! i also appreciate your honesty, particularly your honesty in reporting this exchange!

    risa said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 11:08 pm · Edit

    *cackle* brilliance! i also appreciate your honesty, particularly your honesty in reporting this exchange!

    risa said,
    December 28, 2005 @ 11:08 pm · Edit

    *cackle* brilliance! i also appreciate your honesty, particularly your honesty in reporting this exchange!

    Mrs.Aginoth said,
    December 29, 2005 @ 8:53 am · Edit

    Very well handled. I got caught out the other day by mstr A when he blithly asked how I was making sure I didn’t have any more babies! I’ve discussed the process for making them before, but had not even prepared any thoughts on contraception yet!

Leave a Reply

