Help wanted: Wrapping Elf – Inquire within

I can’t finish wrapping gifts with the little ones around. Last night I was determined to get it all done. Ron was at work, the kids went to bed around 8. Unfortunately, they both had one of those rare, restless evenings, tossing and turning. Finally, Grant succumbed and went to sleep with his Siberian Husky dog in a stranglehold (remember the one you gave him Mom?)

Then, it all seemed quiet and was ready to go and little, sweet voice comes around the corner; ‘Mommy-I can’t sleep, can you please hold my hand?’ I simply can’t resist that. What is a Mom for if she can’t help you find some peace and sleep? So, I laid down with her, holding her hand, smiling fondly at her sweet little face. And that was it-I woke up in the middle of the night-wrapping still undone.

So, now I’m in the market for an elf. Takers?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Help wanted: Wrapping Elf – Inquire within

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    colombina said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 8:37 am · Edit

    Sure! I love wrapping. Do you pay for relocation to North Pole?

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 8:41 am · Edit

    LOL-Yay! A volunteer. I can’t wait. Are you willing to take payment in perfume? Dumb question, I know

    colombina said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 8:59 am · Edit

    Well, d’oh! Did you think I’d work for money?

    Ms.L said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 9:30 am · Edit

    Awww,that’s so sweet:)
    I wish I could come help but I’m afraid I could use an elf myself!

    Urban Chick said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 9:55 am · Edit

    i’ll send my elf over once he’s done here

    he’s very cheap and works 12 hour shifts without a break (after being horribly oppressed by the evil shoemaker)

    BUT he will insist on you paying his airfare from london

    still interested?

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 10:11 am · Edit

    colombina-it sounds like a match made in heaven!

    Ms. L- welcome

    U.C. – if he’s been horribly oppressed and workng for the evil shoemaker, perhaps you can stuff him in a box and I can just pay parcel rate?
    perhaps the evil shoemaker will have to come too?

    mireille said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 10:56 am · Edit

    it was the “please hold my hand” that got me. honestly. what must it feel like to be that powerful and needed? xoxo

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 11:15 am · Edit

    Aww M. Its very special, that’s for sure. It goes both ways though. She has such power over me too I’ve always been a person who takes a long time to go to sleep-too many hamsters running around up there LOL. When I lay down beside Nicole, there is such an amazing peace and rightness to it-I often fall asleep like I did last night-like someone turned off the switch!

    Kellycat said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 12:12 pm · Edit

    You’ll have a long wait for an elf, I warn you.

    I’m still waiting for the fairies to come back and finish cleaning my bathroom, but since they organised themselves into a union, you just can’t get anything out of them…

    Mgt said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 12:16 pm · Edit

    Such Fun!I would come help if I was done,I still have bags to make,but some of my family won’t be back from your neck of the woods until the 28th soI have time yet.
    The best part would be holding Nicole’s hand while she slept.

    Mrs.Aginoth said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 2:18 pm · Edit

    When you find the elf employment agency address, can you pass it on to me?

    I’m still working on the wrapping, despite saying I’m going to get it done for days:-)

    I have the same problem tho – “mummy cuddle me” is the one that does it for me!

    S.I.D. said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 2:53 pm · Edit

    Why can’t men wrap like women?

    My pressies always look crap once I have finished with them.Bah Humbug!

    Logophile said,
    December 22, 2005 @ 11:59 pm · Edit

    gift bags!!
    who wraps gifts anymore?
    they sell gift bags at 2 for a $1.
    Why wrap anything?

    Tabby Rabbit said,
    December 23, 2005 @ 6:40 am · Edit

    Aww, it must be really lovely yet scary to be a parent.

    You can always leave things in the bag they were bought in – some members of my family are known for this* (ps even better if you leave the price on too)!!

    * Okay, hands up – I’ve done it too. We always mean to wrap things up but somehow time evaporates around my family

    Amber said,
    December 23, 2005 @ 8:03 am · Edit

    If I were in your neck of the woods, I would totally come and wrap your presents. And they would turn out beautifully because of my fabled case of OCD. I’m an excellent present wrapper.

    Merry Christmas!! Enjoy your time with the little ones and the unbridled joy they feel on Christmas Day!

Leave a Reply

