Lucky me…I think.

So, I just about ran myself over this afternoon. How the hell does one do that, you say?
Well, I was coming home with the children in the back of the Explorer. I opened our gate, drove through, and stopped to get out and go close the gate. As I was turning to grab the gate on the driver’s side, I noticed the Explorer rolling back. My door was open, I instantly turned and reached in with my right foot to stomp on the brake and I immediately flipped on my back due the the fact that the driveway is solid ice (thanks so much to the warming and freezing cycles we’ve been having). Anyway, the kids started shrieking and I realized I couldn’t get purchase on anything to get my foot any closer to the pedal. I got my toe on it and by then Nicole had gotten out of her carseat and I got her to press on the brake. I could finally stand up and get it into Park again (just as the gate was just about to make a big impression on my back. All in all it had rolled back about 6 or 7 feet but it felt like forever that I was being dragged while trying to get my foot on the brake.

On the bright side, my very expensive Icelandic Design sweater wasn’t ruined in the drag down the drive, although my jeans are looking a bit thinner around the butt.

I’m very sore. My hips hurt and my butt is paining me. I know I’ll survive though, feels about like the way it was on my second pregnancy and my pelvis had started to move apart about 3 months early. I’ve included a picture of the gate for help in the visualizing process.

Oh yeah, when I phoned Ron at work to tell him about it he was concerned and sympathetic of course but he also mentioned that Ford’s are notorious for slipping out of Park. We have a GM truck to so I guess I can say I have noticed a difference in the transmissions but I never realized how dangerous it was until today. I’ll definitely be more careful.

We have bought an electric opener for the gate but in order to install it we have to dig up the entire length of the driveway and put cables down. A big job which we haven’t gotten around to yet.

In case anyone should think we’re reclusive hermit types, we’re not. We decided to fence the yard and put up a gate after an unfortunate incident where an irresponsible, careless, drunken relative drove into our yard when the children and dog were playing. Upon being asked to ‘never do that again or I’ll shoot you myself’ the person laughed and said they could whatever they wanted. So, the kids and dog are safe from random bad drivers. Ron built that gate himself, handyman that he is. Bought the steel, bought a welder and went too it. His original intent was to save money because a gate like that would cost about $3000 to buy. He jokingly told me that, by the time he’d finished, he’d paid about $500 in materials, $600 for the equipment, and $25,000 for his time!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Lucky me…I think.

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Meegan said,
    December 11, 2005 @ 8:09 pm · Edit

    Oh my gosh! I’m glad you’re okay. That’s scary.

    surly girl said,
    December 12, 2005 @ 2:06 am · Edit

    that is scary.

    Kellycat said,
    December 12, 2005 @ 2:37 am · Edit

    Blimey O’Riley missus!

    Thank god you’ve just got bruising. (Although this could be the start of a career in rodeo?)

    GreatSheElephant said,
    December 12, 2005 @ 4:59 am · Edit

    as they say, scary. Glad you’re OK though

    whinger said,
    December 12, 2005 @ 12:28 pm · Edit

    Your driveway is dangerous!

    I really and truly know someone who died this way, so am especially pleased that you did not. Die.

    How’s that for a greet card?

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 12, 2005 @ 12:56 pm · Edit

    whinger, I think you should join amber’s greeting card company

    thanks for the concern dear friends.
    I stayed home today because it hurts to move around but I think I’ll be ok. I’m so very, very lucky!

    mireille said,
    December 12, 2005 @ 1:03 pm · Edit

    oh dear Lord. Don’t do that again. xo

Leave a Reply

