Favorite foods

I was tagged by The Great She Elephant and asked to list my 10 favorite foods. Unfortunately, I am one of those people who studies a menu forever then constantly opens it up again and changes her mind about 20 times before the server comes to take the order. Same thing here, I have to go off and ponder this question then come back and answer it. Pathetic.

December 9th update:

So, I’ve been thinking about this and am kind of embarassed to admit that I can’t easily list 10 favorite foods. Somehow its become a laborious exercise to do this.

1. Biryani and Raita: I have two very dear friends who are East Indian. They had to move to the States to follow their careers but for several years we lived in the same neighborhood and shared many, many meals together. I loved all the food they made, very typical of the Madras, South Eastern style of Indian cooking. The think I like about the biranyi and raita combo because the variety of flavours is the tactile dimension from having hot and cold together.

2. Is coffee a food? I have coffee every day, not copious quantities of any old coffee, just a few cups of really good coffee, with cream of course. I used to drink more of this but have cut it back. My favorite is Tim Horton’s coffee with cream.

3. Chocolate. I have to put chocolate on the list. I once spent three weeks in Europe on a business trip, by myself, in an area of Germany where English wasn’t as prevelant as the big cities. My project to stop from going nuts was to try every possible kind of chocolate and beer that I could get my hands on. I didn’t actually find my favorite of both until I went to the Netherlands for the last week. I discovered Belgian chocolate and Belgian Beer. They are both still my favorites.

4. Salad. Not just any old salad but a variety of greens with an interesting combo of textures and flavors. I particularly like nuts and seeds in my salad and maybe a bit of apple or other fruit.

5. Cherries. There is nothing like biting into a really fresh, newly ripened cherry. We used to grow Bing cherries where I grew up but then some kind of pestilence went through the area and the trees couldn’t thrive. But, we’d go to the Okanagan every summer and buy lots of fresh fruit. I love cherries!

6. Grapes. Some really ripe, firm grapes taste like cherries to me. See 5.

7. Roast chicken. There is nothing like a moist, flavorful thigh huh?

8. Fresh, home grown tomatoes, ripened on the vine. The front of our house is south facing and protected from the wind. Every year we plant 5 or 6 tomato plants. They usually don’t have time to ripen completely before it starts to get too cold in September but some of them do ripen on the vine. I love to pick tomatoes, warm from the sun and eat them right away. They are also awesome in a sandwich.

9. Chocolate Pecan pie from the Creperie. There is a restaurant in Edmonton that makes the best pie. The chocolate/pecan is to die for. It doesn’t have a thick layer of that jelly layer that so many pecan pies have. Mostly just choclate and pecans in a pie crust with whipped cream on t0p.

10. Which brings me to nuts. I think almonds are my favorite.

OK, and lifting a good idea from Kellycat, here are my 10 least favorite foods:

1. organ meat, please don’t EVER try to get me to eat organ meat (and that includes you Mother, slipping deer heart into our soup-I was on to you!)

2. okra and any other slimy food like raw oysters

3. sardines, pickled herring and other little fishies in cans and jars.

4. pretzels

5. canned peas

6. cilantro, I hate cilantro. Its been all the rage to sprinkle cilantro on every thing here in restaurants. I will send it back. Don’t ever do it. This is something I can’t pick off and continue to eat it. Yuck.

7. horseradish.

8. blue cheese dressing

9. sugary cereal

10. unrecognizable foods served at chinese dim sum-usually feet or snouts or something else you shouldn’t eat.

ok, now I’m done -)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Favorite foods

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Kellycat said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 8:56 am · Edit

    Oooh, hot roast chicken.

    In a sandwich so that the heat of the chicken makes the butter melt a bit.

    Oooh.

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 9:02 am · Edit

    mmmm, yum. That is soooo goooddd!!!

    surly girl said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 9:07 am · Edit

    i LOVE horseradish. if it’s so hot it makes your nose go all stingy, so much the better.

    whinger said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 9:25 am · Edit

    Cilantro: I HATE cilantro. Did you know, that to 1 in 10 people, cilantro tastes like soap?

    Does it taste like soap to you?

    Meegan said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 1:42 pm · Edit

    Mmmm…you’re making my mouth water.

    But why does everyone seem to hate pretzels? They’re delicious! What is wrong with people???!!!

    Mrs.Aginoth said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 1:45 pm · Edit

    I could probably list my favourite foods easily enough – although cutting it down to 10 ikght be difficult:-) But my least favourite? That would be hard.

    Marmite is definitely no. 1 tho – even above almons, which I’m allergic to.

    pixi said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 4:26 pm · Edit

    I agree with you on almost everything! Except blue cheese and horseradish – love ‘em both. Canned peas, though. Yuck! Disgusto!

    Anonymous said,
    December 9, 2005 @ 6:28 pm · Edit

    I remember those cherries at the top of the tree reddish-black sunkissed and warm luscious juice dripping down your chin,as you bite into one.The reward for climbing faster and higher than any of the pesky boys,brothers,cousins and neighourhood brats.Mgt

    GreatSheElephant said,
    December 10, 2005 @ 3:35 am · Edit

    it’s amazing how many of people’s least favourites I adore. I LOVE cilantro. Proper pretzels are a joy even if they failed in their mission to avert global catastrophe by taking out dubya. Slimy things – yum.

    Fred said,
    December 10, 2005 @ 9:15 am · Edit

    You don’t like pretzels? How could that be? I love them!! I’m with you on the sardines, though. Yuck.

    Joan said,
    December 11, 2005 @ 1:22 am · Edit

    I am so glad to find other people in the world who detest cilantro.As you say it sneaks in everywhere.And when they chop it up into little itty bitty pieces so that it sneaks in and ruins an otherwise fine meal….argh!!! I would have to add tarragon as another insidious spice which is capable of wrecking a meal for me. I never caught the organ meats but that mom tried, unsuccessfully I might add, to slip instant mashed potatoes by me,yuck.good to have you blogging again hon Joan

    funny thing said,
    December 11, 2005 @ 2:47 pm · Edit

    Hello!

    Thx 4 comment.

    Blimey, I’ve never been here before. it’s nice here, innit?

Leave a Reply

