So…. Let’s talk about the weather some more!

Judging from the last post, people have quite an interest in the weather.
🙂 I was intrigued to hear comments from the ‘warm weather dwellers’ that they weren’t aware of cold weather/warm weather washer fluid.

So, I thought I’d tell you a few more things about the cold and see if any of you have things to add about the heat, the wet, the windy, whatever is the specialty of your area of the world….here goes:

  • when its this cold, -20 to -25, the snow makes a sharp scrunchy noise when you walk on it, like when you squish those little foam pellets that are used for packing material.
  • The air becomes quite crystalline so noise travels farther
  • speaking of the air, you can tell how cold it is by the ‘texture’ of the light. When its below -20 or so the light goes sharply through the air. When its warmer the light is more diffuse.
  • At about -25 to -30 your nose hair freeze when you breath in through your nose.
  • At about -35 your vehicle starts to seriously complain and if you leave it sitting outside all day while you’re at work, the tires develop a flat spot on the bottom. When you start up and get moving they will thunk for a little ways until they return to round.
  • All cars around here have a block heater installed and when its less than -10 and you’re going to leave your vehicle for any length of time you plug it in with an extension cord. Most employers provide external outlets for people to plug in to.
  • the coldest I’ve endured around here is -40 for a few days. That was awful.
  • they close the schools at about -30.
  • there are so many malls here per capita that you never have to worry about freezing while you’re shopping
  • Its not that cold here. In Antartica the winter temps are around -65. In the summer it ‘warms up’ to about -35

So, any hot weather tales to tell? How about you Brits and your soggy weather? Curious minds like to know -)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to So…. Let’s talk about the weather some more!

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Kellycat said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 3:06 am · Edit

    The schools here close when it gets to -2.

    I don’t think I’ve ever been in really cold weather, probably because I’ve always avoided it, but the hottest I’ve been in is about 45C. Once in February in Melbourne when the power workers went on strike so there wasn’t enough electricity for air con. The other was in Santorini, when I could almost hear my friend’s skin blistering.

    We just don’t get extremes in my part of the UK. You’re looking at about -5C to 32C I reckon.

    I will have to email you what my friend sent me yesterday from Vancouver…

    surly girl said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 3:42 am · Edit

    it’s not that soggy here, honest. i know us brits love to moan about the weather but generally i rather like it here. hot summers (except when it rains), crispy autumns (except when it rains), lush spring (when it rains. a lot.) and frosty winters (except the mild ones, when it rains).

    ah.

    Christina H. said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 7:59 am · Edit

    Does Canada offer reduced rates for utilities? Or, do all those trees supply heat?!!

    Anonymous said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 10:05 am · Edit

    The wet wild west coast sound just like the UK,surly girl could come vist and feel right at home. I miss the smells and crunch and the sparkly air of cold winters but not the rest of that of those things Mgt

    whinger said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 10:14 am · Edit

    I *hate* the sound that snow makes when it gets all crunchy and you walk across it in ski boots. The squeak! It’s terrible – much like the noise sterilized cotton makes when you take it out of a new bottle of aspirin.

    *Shivers*, but not from cold.

    I grew up in CO, but how quickly I forgot the feeling of frozen nostril hairs. I complained yesterday when I had to wear my wool coat to work because I felt a slight chill.

    Mrs.Aginoth said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 1:46 pm · Edit

    Wet and a little cold is MUCH worse than very cold & dry.

    Brits are crap at weather – despite our propensity to talk about it! Anything even vaguely unusual confuses us – when it snowed last week – a couple of inches – we had hundreds of cars abandonned on the main roads, schools closed, Stay at home warnings on the news etc. We have snow every year! As soon as the sun pokes it’s head out in the summer we fill our hospitals with svere burns & dehydration cases. More than an hour of rain at once usually means flooding & all public transport cancelled.

    on the whole we have very mild weather. Very changeable – from wet & windy, to wet & sunny, to wet & foggy – often all within one hour. But wet doesn’t necessarily mean raining.

    I so missed the rain the year I spent abroad. How sad is that?

    Tabby Rabbit said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 5:01 pm · Edit

    Brrrr…bit nippy then? Britain grinds to a halt as soon as we get two inches of snow. Amazes me thay anywhere still functions when it gets to -20.

    I really like our weather here – yes it can rain (though I’m from Wales where it rains constantly: by comparison, London – a mere 4 hours away by car – is like the Gobi). Saying that it’s raining now and my roof is leaking. Bah.

    Fred said,
    December 7, 2005 @ 5:38 pm · Edit

    It was a bit colder today; only 19 C. Here in the Tampa Bay area, it sometimes gets as low as 0 to -3, but that’s only once or twice each winter.

    I actually had to wear a sweater this morning!

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 8, 2005 @ 9:14 am · Edit

    Oh, isn’t it interesting how many variations there are on wet and cold. Yesterday I was in a course with a guy from Yorkshire and he said the weather here at -10 feels like north east England at about +3. The wet combined with the wind off the North Sea makes it seem so much colder. I guess I have to agree. When I lived at the west coast I was always freezing.

    christina h, no, I don’t think we get a break on our utilities. I’m not sure really. I still think the hot dwellers pay more becasue they have to run their air conditioners. I could be wrong.

    Anonymous said,
    December 8, 2005 @ 10:48 am · Edit

    polartec fleece combats the wet cold of the coast wonderfully.microfleece make great under T-shirts.Dressed in layers one is prepared for the hourly weather changes.You can dress and undress as required.It should work in the frozen north too where you live But you don’t get to undress untill April when the summer arrives.HaHa Mgt

    ps. or the season of “personal summer moments” which comes to all of the female gender.I am busy striping of my fleece as a “summer moment” pass by. Mgt

    GreatSheElephant said,
    December 8, 2005 @ 2:39 pm · Edit

    tagging you for your ten favourite foods please

    Aginoth said,
    December 8, 2005 @ 2:50 pm · Edit

    Our soggy weather is well… Cold and soggy at the moment, would really like some nice crisp cold winter weather, but we usually don’t get that until January

    Meegan said,
    December 8, 2005 @ 2:54 pm · Edit

    Brrrr. It gets cold here, too, but I only know farenheit and am too lazy to figure out the conversion. Suffice to say, I often freeze my behind off.

    Thomas said,
    December 8, 2005 @ 3:46 pm · Edit

    I know what you mean. It was 40 in Houston today. Not 40 below. Just 40.

    The Village Idiot said,
    December 8, 2005 @ 5:09 pm · Edit

    We’re supposed to get snow tonight. that always excites me, even despite the prospect of shovelling.
    I grew up in Maine, I know there are warmer places, yet here I am in New England again. Why?

    Sheesh,
    the idiot

Leave a Reply

