Oh yeah, winter has finally arrived!


A couple of weeks ago I was so amazed to be passed on the way to work by a guy on a motorcycle. It was 17 C, which is unheard of in November around here. That’s 63 F for those who don’t do celsius weather.

So, this is the view of my backyard today. It -20 C.
And, the worst thing is, no matter how long winter takes to get here, I always seem to get caught with my summer windshield wiper fluid instead of winter. You know the pink stuff that is good for bug guts. I need to go put the blue stuff in that good for ice and snow! This morning, there was a mess of salt and slush on my windshield and when I tried to clean it I only ended up with a thin layer of ice to show for it. ARGH.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh yeah, winter has finally arrived!

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    whinger said,
    December 5, 2005 @ 11:30 am · Edit

    There is a different type of windshield wiper fluid????

    I am astonished and a little frightened that it gets that cold.

    And to think I was chilly enough this morning when it was 57 Fahrenheit.

    Urban Chick said,
    December 5, 2005 @ 12:37 pm · Edit

    wow! you have a huge garden!

    lurve the snow…

    Spinsterella said,
    December 5, 2005 @ 11:49 pm · Edit

    We had a brief flurry of snow here in the UK about a week ago.

    The Entire Country came to a standstill for days on end….

    Useless.

    My brain cannot even begin to comprehend minus 20.

    Ariella said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 1:06 am · Edit

    Gracious, you lot don’t play around once you get your winter started.
    we are back up to nearly 10 degrees C in the day time after our little snow flurry.

    surly girl said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 2:17 am · Edit

    i. want. snow.

    can i come and play? pleeeeease?

    Fred said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 7:15 am · Edit

    I had no idea you needed different wipers. The joys of living in Florida…

    The picture does look nice, though. I’m just glad I’m not in it.

    Kellycat said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 8:47 am · Edit

    I just want some weather.

    My mother has a Polish colleague who hasn’t lived in the UK for very long. -20C she can cope with, but she can’t get her head around temperatures as hot as 30C. Strange what you become acclimatised to.

    Anonymous said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 10:05 am · Edit

    I am with Spinsterella ,out here on the wild ,wet, west coast that much snow would shut us down for days.Rain we can handle ,it runs away,but snow is much prettier I must agree with that. Mgt

    Christina H. said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 12:44 pm · Edit

    I’d hate to have to mow that backyard of yours!!

    Meegan said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 5:48 pm · Edit

    Yes, winter is really truly here. I’m not happy about it, but there’s not a damn thing I can do about it!

    GodlessMom said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 7:35 pm · Edit

    I really miss snow. I’ve lived in warm climates for almost a decade now and I REALLY miss that clean crisp air that comes with a new snow storm. It looks beautiful!

    Amber said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 7:39 pm · Edit

    It was 8 degrees here today and snowing. It’s supposed to be colder tomorrow. I hate this weather. I’m used to sunny days in the mid-40s — THAT’S winter in CO. Not this baloney.

    Anyway, I also thought I’d say at this juncture that I LOVE the picture of you and your mom. You’re so pretty!!

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 6, 2005 @ 9:57 pm · Edit

    whinger- yes! see next post

    UC-we live on a small acreage, 2.2 acres

    spinsterella- yes, I know what that’s like. When I lived in Victoria, the city ground to a halt whenever it snowed!

    ariella-we don’t get much snow typically but winter is still long and cold

    surly-I would love for you to come and play!

    fred-I want to hear more about Florida weather!

    kellycat-I have a hard time with hot weather too

    Mgt (the management-hee) yes, you can handle the rain though, I know I can’t!

    christina-we have a big tractor so it only takes a couple of hours. I never attempt it with a push mower but I do like cutting grass ( a requirement if you live on an acreage )

    Godlessmom-it IS beautiful, I just wish it didn’t last so long

    Meegan and Amber, I relate. I always get a bit down when winter is here for good because I know it will be April before I’m warm again. Amber, thanks for the compliment-you made my day!

Leave a Reply

