Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter….Another series I’m addicted to.


Well Joan, you did it again. I hope you’re reading this because I might have to get you to send me the rest of the series. I NEVER thought I’d read another book with vampires ever since I read Salem’s Lot years ago. That book scared the crap out of me. To this day, when I hear a branch tapping on the window, I have a fleeting thought that it that little kid vampire from Salem’s Lot and you have to let him in. (They can’t come in unless you invite them you know!)

So this series is by Laurell K. Hamilton. I’ve never read anything by her before.

So Joan sent me home with a couple of these books, #4 and #5 in the series. She said, ‘try them out, let me know what you think’.

I said ‘ok’ but thought, ‘doubtful, really doubtful’.

But, you know, you don’t share books with someone for 30 years without having a few clues about what they might like, right? So, I read the Lunatic Cafe and was pretty impressed. A great mystery, a kick ass heroine, a few preternatural beings, a bit of sexual tension, all in all, a great story. (In these stories, vampires and werewolves and other preternatural beings are regular members of society. )
So I read the next one, Bloody Bones and was even more sucked in. Now I’m in a bit of a bind. I’ve gotten “The Killing Dance” from the library but they don’t have the next two books. What the hell am I supposed to do now Joan, Huh? Huh? These books are action packed, if a bit gory. In the Killing Dance, Anita finally succumbed to the irresistible lure of vampire sex, (not as gross as it sounds!) and at the same time managed to wipe out some wicked vampires, werewolves, and the twisted pack leader of the werelepoards.

I’m currently trying to get the first three books in the series because I feel like I missed a bit of interesting history. I think I’ll have to join the Edmonton library too! Then again, if Mary can find me a seat sale, maybe I can pop over to Victoria with an empty suitcase and borrow from Joan’s library again.

Have you noticed I’m going through a bit of a book phase?

Update: I won the first three books on ebay last night for a mere $11. That’s a great deal. Margaret! Stop, don’t send me any of Joan’s books. The postage will kill you. I’ve found the rest of this series in the Edmonton library (the early ones are too old I guess.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Anita Blake: Vampire Hunter….Another series I’m addicted to.

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Anonymous said,
    December 2, 2005 @ 9:49 pm · Edit

    I’ll pack up the ones I have from Joan’s library and send them to youplus the ones of JD Robb.I am much too busy sewing daiapers and wedding dresss to read much these days. I do try and get the occasional chapter in of the present boook on the go.I’am waitung for my friend to finish the last Harry Potter book. Love Mgt

    Aginoth said,
    December 3, 2005 @ 6:52 am · Edit

    Books…can never have too many books, I usually have 3 or 4 on the go at once

    Fred said,
    December 3, 2005 @ 10:17 am · Edit

    Since I’ve been slacking off with my reading, I appreciate the fact that you’re reading more. That way, I can just stop by and get the summary.

    Keep up the good work!

    Ariella said,
    December 3, 2005 @ 1:02 pm · Edit

    Vampire sex, is that anything like monkey sex, but without the tails?

    Ova Girl said,
    December 3, 2005 @ 2:01 pm · Edit

    I got freaked out by Salem’s Lot while in high school and got into trouble for refusing to go and get the clothes off the line after dark. All that knocking and you having to let them in…delightfully creepy.

    Meegan said,
    December 4, 2005 @ 6:16 pm · Edit

    As long as reading doesn’t cut into your blogging time, go for it!
    : )

    Amber said,
    December 4, 2005 @ 9:08 pm · Edit

    There is nothing better than a great book. And then there is nothing worse than discovering a great series and the excruciating wait for the next book…

    But the way, the toothless wonder in the above picture is the cutest little thing EVER!! What a doll!

    surly girl said,
    December 5, 2005 @ 3:51 am · Edit

    i was going to say that! bless him. small person had a wobbly tooth but i think that was more from falling on her face in the playground than an impending visit from the tooth fairy!

    and while i’m catching up, that pic of you and your mum is lovely too.

Leave a Reply

