Mother Hen and her Mother Hen


When I told my Mom that I had deleted my previous blog she was not amused. No, in fact, she was a bit concerned about me (cluck, cluck, cluck!)

She told me something that really hit me hard. She said she’s enjoyed reading my blog because it allowed her to see the real me, to enjoy her littlest chick, ‘just being me’. In all the busy activity of daily life, its very hard to find time to talk. We live a couple of thousand kilometers apart so visiting in person is infrequent. I guess I do let it all hang out here and that feels ok. By letting people see the real me, I’ve made some lovely new friends.

Since my dear Mom is 88 years old, and one of the most amazing women in my life, I’ll do everything I can to keep strengthening that relationship.

I am truly blessed.

This picture of Mom and me was taken about a year and a half ago.
*note to self, get an update!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother Hen and her Mother Hen

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Anonymous said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 6:56 pm · Edit

    Hello Ms. Cutie Pie!

    A blog… what a great idea to connect with people and let them know in a “mass mail-out sorta way” what you are up to and what you are about — right now. Life always changes, doesn’t dear Laura.
    You mentioned your yearning for downhill skiing; I too, have been feeling the need for speed. Cross-country is great for a calorie burn, but the thrill is lacking. Perhaps, when the time is right, we should plan a ski-o-rama? Maybe the Bee Barry would like to come? By the way, Laura, (Barbara here) I am back in Vancouver. Nancy is with me (long, long story). Perhaps, some day, we could meet (at the slope of your choice) for some speed and some fun. I would really, really enjoy that!
    Until then, enjoy … once again, what a great blog!

    Meegan said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 7:18 pm · Edit

    What a wonderful photo! Your mom sounds like a special woman.

    The Village Idiot said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 7:47 pm · Edit

    Awwww, that’s a nice thought!
    I’ve gotta go call my mom.

    Yay!
    the idiot

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 8:11 pm · Edit

    Dearest Barbara-I’m so glad you came to visit! I can’t believe you’re back in Vancouver. I’ll have to mail you to get your number and we can catch up.
    (Barbara and I have been friends since were about 10, going to Cook Avenue School together)

    Meegan and Idiot (why do I feel so mean when I call you that?) Thanks!

    ParisLondres said,
    December 2, 2005 @ 7:14 am · Edit

    Hello darling Laura!

    I am so glad you are back to blogland. Great new layout and love the name.

    The photo and the post is wonderful and touching.
    Your mother looks like a very warm and lovely person and so do you.

    Hugs!

    Kellycat said,
    December 2, 2005 @ 8:20 am · Edit

    Can I just say that I’m quite in awe of your mum being 88 and using the internet!

    I wouldn’t let my mum read my blog, but that’s because my blog is where I go to be the real me, as opposed to the socially acceptable me that I have to present to the real world.

    Lovely photo by the way.

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 2, 2005 @ 8:25 am · Edit

    N-thanks for coming ♥

    kellycat-I’m really lucky, I think my Mom knows the real me and I know she always appreciates knowing my friends, who ever they are, so we can all be ourselves here. I doubt there is anything* my Mom hasn’t heard, read about, experienced or seen in all her days.

    *(Ok, I know she doesn’t care for my blaspheming but I try to keep it down around her

    Jamie Dawn said,
    December 2, 2005 @ 2:42 pm · Edit

    Beautiful picture of you and your mom. You have a pretty smile, and she looks like a sweetheart.
    I can tell you adore her just from the few words here.
    I wish you many more years of enjoying each other!
    Call her more often!
    (She paid me ten bucks to write that.)

    Spinsterella said,
    December 2, 2005 @ 3:14 pm · Edit

    I think if my mother ever saw the “real me” she’d ahve a heart attack.

    You’re a lucky woman.

    Anonymous said,
    December 3, 2005 @ 10:58 am · Edit

    She is the best Mom in the whole world!I am glad to share her with you Mgt

    Ariella said,
    December 3, 2005 @ 1:00 pm · Edit

    Yay, the not a gourdess lives!
    What wonderfully sweet mother hens you both are!

    Urban Chick said,
    December 3, 2005 @ 2:12 pm · Edit

    how wonderful to see a picture of your mum! (and you, although i already knew what you looked like)

    she sounds like a wonderful woman and i’m grateful that she helped cajole you back into blogging

    ♥
    UC

    Anonymous said,
    December 4, 2005 @ 11:40 am · Edit

    Aww, your mom sounds lovely and you’re so lucky to have her (and vice versa)!
    Kathey

    whinger said,
    December 5, 2005 @ 11:28 am · Edit

    What a sweet post and a sweet lady.

    You are lucky to have her, and I hope my mom is still up on technology come 88!

Leave a Reply

