A new day with Kyahgirl, also known as Mother Hen


So, here is Kyah. She was a Belgian Tervuren. She died of cancer about 3 years ago, right around when I was starting to use the Internet and needed to think up a username. I’ve been Kyahgirl ever since.

I’ve spent most of my time on the Fragrance Board at Make up alley (link at right). You have to sign up (free) to do posting there but its a great place to hang out if you’re interested in/obsessed with all thing related to scents. The people there are incredibly funny, knowledgeable, generous, and kind. I’ve made many good friends through participating there.

As time went on, my tendency to be a peacemaker and to take people under my wing for a bit of comfort, started to emerge. Three different people spontaneously started calling me Mother Hen. Its a bit unnerving because I really don’t think of myself this way but, hey, if the feathers fit, you have to wear them.

I was blogging previously as the Canadian Gourdess. Apologies to those whose links I broke when changing blogs. Some people have asked me about the ‘gourdess’ title. I became the Gourdess, also through the fragrance board, by helping to organize the first big Halloween gift exchange, in 2004. I created a character called “The Great Pumpkin” (TGP) and had a presence on the board. Myself and a couple of others were theoretically TGP’s helpers and, because a pumpkin is a gourd, they started calling us Gourdesses. I spent most of my time in TGP’s identity so, when the festivities were over, kyahgirl ‘came out’ and from then on, everyone thought kyahgirl and TGP were synonymous. This year, two other ladies from the group organized the gift exchange and one of them, KatEEm wore TGP’s identity for most of the exchange. She was fabulous in the role, sending poems and riddles to people, teasing, haunting, and generally creating lots of good cheer. There were many participants who thought it was me all along, but I want to make sure KatEEm gets the credit. She and Raspberryswirlgirl did a fantastic job carrying out the whole event.

So, it is time for me to let the Gourdess go. I think TGP’s personality (still a member on MUA) is like a big halloween costume that can be picked up year after year by whomever is in the role.

The Mother Hen role is probably more in line with who I really am. I AM a mother as well as a wife, daughter, sister, and friend to many.
Hoping to hear much clucking and peeping on my blog as time goes on.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A new day with Kyahgirl, also known as Mother Hen

  1. Kyahgirl says:

    Urban Chick said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 12:42 pm · Edit

    aha, thanks for explaining the mystery!

    motherhens rock (i have one myself IYKIM)…

    happy blogging, o’ sniffy chum!

    ♥
    UC

    Kyahgirl said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 1:06 pm · Edit

    Thanks UC ♥

    whinger said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 2:16 pm · Edit

    Oh, I was WORRIED. So glad you’ve found another home.

    Amber said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 2:25 pm · Edit

    Cluckity cluck and peep.

    And there’s plenty more where THAT came from…

    Kyahgirl said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 2:25 pm · Edit

    Thank you whinger, I thought I’d be away for awhile but some people convinced me its not healthy!

    Kyahgirl said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 2:30 pm · Edit

    Nice to see you amber! Generally yes, we’re all full of clucks and peeps
    🙂

    nowsmellthis said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 3:26 pm · Edit

    L, always happy to see you no matter what name you’re using! It is always funny and/or weird to see the disconnect between how you see yourself and how others see you, especially online. I am often taken up short by it. Being a peacemaker is a good thing no matter how you look at it

    Anonymous said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 5:16 pm · Edit

    oh goody !! your’e back Love and hugs Mgt

    boisdejasmin said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 5:47 pm · Edit

    I am so glad that you have a new blog! I was worried about what happened. And thank you for explaining the origins of the name. I always thought that it was very intriguing.

    Meegan said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 8:28 pm · Edit

    Thanks for letting me know! I tried to sign onto your blog this morning and there was no connection — I assumed it was just temporary. Anyway, glad to see the new venue!

    Meegan said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 8:34 pm · Edit

    P.S. Kyah the dog was beautiful.

    keeter said,
    November 30, 2005 @ 8:48 pm · Edit

    Chicky, chicky, peep, peep, peep!

    surly girl said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 2:45 am · Edit

    hello you *waves cheerily*, and welcome back…

    ♥

    Trina said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 4:23 am · Edit

    Aha! You moved, but I found you! You’ll never escape me…

    Mwah!

    L-girl said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 6:06 am · Edit

    Hooray for a new blog-look featuring the beautiful Kyah! I love to see her picture – her intelligent face, her playful eyes. Have fun blogging, Mother Hen, and long live Kyah in your heart.

    Kellycat said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 7:25 am · Edit

    Welcome back. I was quite distraught.

    It’s very annoying when a blog suddenly disappears and you think “Oi, I was reading that!”

    I have now tampered with the frightening html thingy and linked you.

    Kyahgirl said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 8:51 am · Edit

    ♥ to all of you.
    Thanks so much!

    cluck, cluck, cluck!

    p.s. I must thank my own motherhen for encouraging me to get back here pronto.
    She is wise beyond words.
    ♥

    Ariella said,
    December 1, 2005 @ 9:28 am · Edit

    Yay
    We can still get our Casper and Kyahgirl fix, woo hoo!

    Anonymous said,
    December 4, 2005 @ 11:46 am · Edit

    You *are* a true MUA treasure, L! So keep clucking away, LOL! Kathey–>

  2. It’s nice that you have a “get to know me” post – I enjoyed reading it. Thank you for the visits at indeterminacy, comment and link – just now starting up after a month I wanted to see if people still linked to me, and there were new links! It was like Christmas. I’ve added a link back to you and will try to stop by as time permits. It’s hard to follow so many blogs.

  3. weirsdo says:

    I also enjoyed getting to know you, and I have much catching up to do I can see.
    One question still haunts: Why the passion for Kuhlau?

  4. Kyahgirl says:

    Indie-thanks. I too find it hard to follow so many blogs but I’m driven to it as I keep meeting so many amazing and talented people. You’re one of them!

    Weirdso-thanks for visiting, I’m glad to meet you too.
    Kuhlau-I first learned to play the piano in the classical style. I played some of his pieces and they are gorgeous. I could never find a CD with his piano pieces on it, as he is a bit obscure, but I have some of his music played on flute. Lovely!

  5. e8d75ce6edd8de305d90 eb580bd1

Leave a Reply

